PDA

View Full Version : Closed Amiga CD32 RF-Shield top plate



Brock101
2nd October 2018, 15:17
Hi.
Recently acquired Amiga cd32. the rf shield has been replaced with a cardboard and foil setup.
The Amiga CD32 works. just spins backwards etc.
But i would be a lot happier with a proper rf shield.

Hope someone can help.
Thank you

MK3424
5th October 2018, 15:03
The RF shield isn't actually necessary.. it's there for FCC regulations... but it has a side effect that it will reduce airflow to cool the components.

I ditched the RF shield of my A1200 and it works fine without it.

Brock101
6th October 2018, 00:21
The RF shield isn't actually necessary.. it's there for FCC regulations... but it has a side effect that it will reduce airflow to cool the components.

I ditched the RF shield of my A1200 and it works fine without it.

Yes an A1200 will work fine, but there is evidence a CD32 will not.

Brock101
3rd December 2018, 03:16
BUMP

Retroheaven87
3rd December 2018, 09:28
A top shield is needed on a CD32, when removed it can cause issues like the CD spindle motor going the opposite way, odd but true!
The RF shield isn't actually necessary.. it's there for FCC regulations... but it has a side effect that it will reduce airflow to cool the components.

I ditched the RF shield of my A1200 and it works fine without it.

- - - Updated - - -

HI!

I have one 7 plus postage, you choice royal mail, UPS, myhermes...

Brock101
4th December 2018, 15:09
Hi.

Yes i am interested.
Thank you very much.
I thought i was never going to get one :)
Use whatever postage is easier for you.
Can you send me your payment details and we can take it from there. sadly i can not pay until Friday the 7th of November "Payday".

PS.
I am wondering if you have the set of top and bottom, as i have not actually dismantled it yet, i do not know what condition of the bottom RF shield is in.
I bought it knowing about the cardboard/foil thing. the seller was honest.

Not a problem if you only have a top RF shield, as that is actually what i originally asked for.
i will still purchase the top if that is all you have.

obviously i expect a revised price if you have the set.

Once again thank you so much.

Brock101
12th May 2019, 19:52
The thread can be closed.
I have sourced the item.
Thank You.

davideo
13th May 2019, 00:05
The thread can be closed.
I have sourced the item.
Thank You.

From AmiBay or elsewhere?

Brock101
14th May 2019, 03:52
Elsewhere.
i tried several times, to request thread closure.
but it all ways came up with an error. this time it did not.