PDA

View Full Version : My A4000 project...



mjnurney
28th October 2010, 17:55
Hello all,

Some pics of my A4000 to date...(its always changing) spec , then a bit of history...

specs as of today..

68040 @ 25mhz (33 mhz now)
16 mb fast ram (new 60ns)
2 mb chip ram
standard amiga floppy drive (from an external unit)
DVD rom + zorro ide card
Goldengate 386 card (thanks dony) + cirrus isa 1mb vga card
Deneb USB card (Amigakit)
4 gb CF card
OS 3.1 & 3.1 roms (thanks nathan)
OS 3.9 roms also

Dec 2010
- Voodoo Pci and prometheus Pci fitted now and GG386 & VGA sold
- Scan doubler fitted, HP 22 inch monitor now used with a VGA switcher (AGA / VGA) CRT gone..




History...

Bought from Aminet a month or two ago with battery leakage, worked okay for an evening then the mouse died...and quick message to Hikey on here and i secured a recon motherboard in exchange for mine. It arrived 3 days later (!!!) so all was good again...(first class service by the way) the floppy didnt work too well, so changed it for an external one , clean it completely and it works well.

Loud original PSU fan removed and changed for a quiet one. The commodore one must of been supplied by boeing. The twin hard drives were also removed and a single 4.0gb CF card added.

4x cd player removed as it was pushing right up to the PSU and squeezing the molex connectors on the hard drives.A shorter length DVD player fitted then.

Deneb usb added as i miss the ease of use of the pcmcia cf card for swapping files! and the deneb is the closest thing on the A4000

The goldengate 386 arrived yesterday, not really had time to play as it needs a vga card really, im using rgb to scart at the moment and the screen just shows the black dos txt when i start a game ... added a CF hard drive (ide to cf) and loaded up windows lol ,but ive ordered an angled CF /ide adaptor from the other bay so i dont have more ribbons all over the place!..

Oh playing with windows 3.1 .......still sucks after all these years

erm...

thats about for the moment but lots of plans for the future...68060, ppc, RTG and so on as funds allow.

oh and maybe the original type amiga monitor...

EDit...

Gaming room now being set up..
stage one is on the go and this is the result so far, lots more to do. my desk needs a key board shelf, wire put away and general tidying up. Also need the Amiga and PC using the same lcd screen..

thanks all:thumbsup:

Buzzfuzz
28th October 2010, 21:08
Bought from Aminet a month or two ago with battery leakage, worked okay for an evening then the mouse died...and quick message to Hikey on here and i secured a recon motherboard in exchange for mine. It arrived 3 days later (!!!) so all was good again...(first class service by the way) the floppy didnt work too well, so changed it for an external one , clean it completely and it works well.


http://www.amibay.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=7098&d=1288281119

So is this the board you are using ?
Looks very clean in that case, but again as always, I would remove the battery right away and if you still want to use it, solder wires to the board and place the battery somewhere where it can't do damage to the board or anything else.

mjnurney
28th October 2010, 21:39
yeah thats the board, the battery is brand new (replaced) so it should have a few years in it yet. at some point i will change it for a coin type battery tho..

fitzsteve
28th October 2010, 21:41
@mjnurney

Project is coming along nice, keep up the good work :thumbsup:

Steve.

jvdbossc
28th October 2010, 21:45
I also enjoyed hikeys service. Good reference for people with old boards.

mjnurney
28th October 2010, 21:52
thanks guys...

plenty more to do ha ha...

PS, my goldengate has decided to provide me vga / ega via the amiga RGB!!

rkauer
28th October 2010, 23:58
You bought it from Aminet???????????:blink:

Phipscube
29th October 2010, 00:01
Great work so far mjnurney, I'd love a nice looking A4000 like yours one day :)

mjnurney
29th October 2010, 18:34
erm Amibay!!!!

lol i cant spell :lol:

---------- Post added at 17:34 ---------- Previous post was at 17:32 ----------

oh a cybervision 3d would look nice in there me thinks....

Buzzfuzz
29th October 2010, 19:54
oh a cybervision 3d would look nice in there me thinks....

Cyberstorm 060/200 or 233 with Cybervision and 2 10K HDD's, so sweet ;):D

mjnurney
29th October 2010, 21:35
yeah that would be good....expensive tho :unsure:

mjnurney
31st December 2010, 18:04
CRT gone, LCD now used with scandoubler!! yay