salaxi54

Incoming ASROC!
AmiBayer
Blogger
Country
GREECE
Region
Athens
As some of you might have noticed, i did some work on my A4000 mobo, changing the CIAs into socketed. https://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=14941
Now, before i even went for the task, i knew there were some problems, actually one being a mouse problem, and the other a floppy-reading problem.
So, i thought that the CIA/s was/were at fault. And while at it, instead of just replacing them, i went for the sockets.
These problems were not caused by me, i got the mobo with said condition.
After the hack was finished, i thought it was something i did wrong with the sockets, but it appears not to be the case.
First off, the floppy is working well now.
Secondly, the mouse buttons do work, both left and right. But i have no pointer movement.
I have no experience over A4000's, this is my first one!
However, after a lot of reading, i'm even more confused than when i started.. :)
Optical observation has shown the following details:
There's two SMD resistors just behind the RGB port, namely R176 and R177. The surrounding pcb area appears to be a bit dark, seemingly overheated?
Then there's two ic's, namely U975 and U976 that have some of the green goo on their contacts. They're actually real close to the battery, and i've read that they have to do with the mouse too.
Also, it is my understanding that there's some "key lock" jumper which has to do with disabling both the keyboard and the mouse functions.
My machine has no key switch on the fascia, so i guess that has nothing to do with it? No jumper on the KEY contacts.
I also read that there's some fuses located at the rear, close to the audio connectors, that have to do with mouse port voltages etc.
If you read carefully my other thread with the pics, i mention a second mobo, one i bought as busted. That one got socketed too, as it was considered a "guinea pig" before working with the first one.