PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning and checking my A600



am1gadude
22nd February 2009, 13:14
Next thing I'm going to sell just giving it a clean up and check over

She is in good condition as she has been in storage most of her life, she was part of a load of Amiga kit I bought off ITV (I was told she used to be on Bad Influence). I bought the lot for the A1200, Games and bits and pieces

I've just given her a wipe over with baby wipes and a tea towel

Stripped the keyboard and cleaned the keys individually
127032

Motherboard, no sheilding and the cradle is missing (I've got it somewhere)
127033
127034

Bottom half of the case before cleaning
127035

After cleaning
127036

Right side clip is intact
127037

Only 1 of 4 clips on the back edge is intact :(
127038

Left side clip is OK though
127039

It's alive! just need to sort the floppy, harddrive & caddie. Next to my new toy :) (Acer Aspire One 160GB/512MB/1.6Ghz)
127040
127041

Is it a reasonable example of the model condition wise?

Hessu
22nd February 2009, 13:39
Nice job :)

Harrison
23rd February 2009, 13:05
Nice cleaning job. Is reasonable condition now. :)

What revision is the motherboard? And what KS rom does it have?

Zetr0
23rd February 2009, 13:10
@Harrison

from the pics I would say that it was 2.0 ;)

@am1gadude

you can put the case plastics in the dishwasher next time to save you all that effort, most intesive washes are around 65c and this doesn't distort the case that I have found, (even on an A1200)

good restoration though, I just LOVE hardware pr0n :)

Harrison
23rd February 2009, 13:14
I thought on the motherboard image that I could see "REV X.5", where X is a number I can't make out.

r0jaws
23rd February 2009, 20:05
Testing Testing 123

am1gadude
23rd February 2009, 20:06
127042

KS is 37.300 as shown on the boot screen (but you can about read it on the above pic)

I wish I had a dish washer :(

PS. Been trying to post this for about 1 hour but it wouldn't submit or preview :(.... hmmm still won't post with the image....ahh... too wide... a hint would of been nice phpBB

am1gadude
23rd February 2009, 20:08
Testing Testing 123

hmm... not the board .. had a prob with image code pasted from photo bucket

r0jaws
23rd February 2009, 20:14
Your image is too big, it can be only 800 pixels wide, try resizing.

Yours is 829x490

r0jaws
23rd February 2009, 20:48
PS. Been trying to post this for about 1 hour but it wouldn't submit or preview :(.... hmmm still won't post with the image....ahh... too wide... a hint would of been nice phpBB

When you try and submit or preview an image and it's too big, a small (easily missed I grant you) error message appears at the top telling you what the problem is.
Fell foul of this myself in the past.

am1gadude
23rd February 2009, 20:49
Your image is too big, it can be only 800 pixels wide, try resizing.

Yours is 829x490


Yup spotted :) you want, I should fix it's bytes so it gives an error message?

I'm quite good with php and a big hammer. :)

... wow must be a real small error message...