PDA

View Full Version : SQL Errors and Database Corruption



Zetr0
1st December 2007, 14:45
Hello there Amibayers,

Just a technical update.

A lot of us have been experiencing SQL timeout errors, stating things like "cannot connect to database"

I would like to say that this has been resolved by the hosting service (www.streamline.net (http://www.streamline.net)) and was due to a routing problem to the SQL database servers. (or so the site tells me)

However the hosting service felt it necessary to update their security protocols last Thursday 29th December. As a result this placed a hold on all passwords used in their system. including FTP access until said passwords were reset.

Unfortunately, when they were doing this I was updating the database, and it became corrupt. from this i had to drop all existing data from the database (which there was a lot more than Amibay :( ).

I have rolled the system back to the initial backup but we have lost a few registered members so please I urge those to re-register to AmiBay.

Merlin
1st December 2007, 22:36
Zetr0 mate,

You did a sterling job of rebuilding the site in so short a time, I take my hat off to you, this was an epic achievement.

Cheers

Merlin

Zetr0
2nd December 2007, 01:09
I have the support of a damn good Crew my my friend :D

DaZZaBoY
3rd December 2007, 09:56
Yeah, nice job Z! Everything seems pretty tight now and good to see a few ads springing up. Long live Amibay! :D

Kin Hell
5th December 2007, 09:49
Hi guys. It's "DOG" slow for me today 09.47am. No errors though apart from this on a white page:

User Notice:

Server Update:
The web-server is currently updating please try again later

Tis like ur accessing using a 56K modem?

Love the New Logo btw! :D

meega
5th December 2007, 09:58
It's sometimes slow for me too, waiting maybe a minute or more, but today and right now it's ok here. I don't know how the server works out who to queue. :)

DaZZaBoY
5th December 2007, 10:46
Muist admit, it's a bit sluggish for me too. There aren't any page failures tho and everything else runs sweet as a nut.

meega
5th December 2007, 11:04
I can cope with waiting a moment for the page to load, it helps prevent floods. :wink:

Zetr0
5th December 2007, 13:29
its been a little doggedly slow during the day yet bloody fast in the late evening...

hmmmm

I have sent a query to streamline. they sill might e doing maintenance.

Kin Hell
5th December 2007, 13:53
its been a little doggedly slow during the day yet bloody fast in the late evening...

hmmmm

I have sent a query to streamline. they sill might e doing maintenance.

Tsk tsk Keith....u aint using ur Spell checker are u! :P

It's a little quicker now, but earlier this morning, I could make coffee's in between pages loading up. & thats from a Cold fill on the kettle!

Merlin
5th December 2007, 20:43
Do you guys think it could be a Streamline site redirect problem during the day, or is it that we aren't getting enough bandwidth at times, as if they are traffic shaping?

If they up the bandwidth at evenings it explains why the site speeds up.

Just a thought.....

Zetr0
5th December 2007, 21:14
naaa

I personally believe its down to their maintenance schedule got brought forward due to a security risk update, so the urls take a while to resolve. I have messaged them and a have a ticket so if its anything else we shall see..

@Charlie

i was born free.... theres enough checks in this world... i figure this one.... could be put out in the world.... to show that in a syntactical deformity there is purity and beauty only when beset by inaccuracy. :D

thats my story chummy, and imma stikcing to it. ;)

Kin Hell
5th December 2007, 23:47
@ Keith

Nothing wrong with "Eu Natural" :D

But listen guys, this maintainance is kinda taking this pi$$. Personally, I'd be looking at a different Host for a solution, cos this is crap tbh!
Especially when ur on 16Mb ADSL. ......... :roll:

*edit....& then this post ........."Posted" faster than **** off a shiny shovel. :?:

Zetr0
6th December 2007, 00:01
yepo

I have a message back..

they are doing maintenance on their primary DNS rooting server. I have been given the IP's that link to the actually physical databases servers but I am holding off at present hard coding them.

I have been assured that this problem will be sorted with soon.

but if this does give much more crapola then indeed, there will be some hard code setting going on :)

Zetr0
7th December 2007, 18:56
Okay, I have completed the change over from the DNS root to the the actual databases..

it seems some what nippy now without errors... give your caches a clean and have a try :)

meega
7th December 2007, 18:59
No need to empty the cache :D zippy :D

Kin Hell
8th December 2007, 07:43
Well..it was slick as u like & then trying to answer here...... I'm seeing the 56K Modem Scenario again! :(

yorkie4
10th December 2007, 19:49
the poor zetrmeister is really putting some hours in on this

i'm sure if we just be a little more patient he will have the problems that are mostly from the server sorted out as soon as he can :)

Merlin
11th December 2007, 12:30
@ Z

I think some hard coding is in order mate, we are back in "watching paint dry" mode at Tuesday lunchtime.

Merlin

Zetr0
11th December 2007, 13:26
yeah... its running like a pig at the moment...

I have sent (yet another ticket off) so we shall see...

may need another hosting plan worse case scenario

meega
11th December 2007, 14:23
Pigs can run way faster than this.

Kin Hell
11th December 2007, 14:40
At least it's consistantly slow now! :lol:

Just gunno slip down the Post Office for Daz...I spect it'll have reloaded by then! :roll:

Zetr0
13th December 2007, 13:27
@Kin Hell

my friend, nothing is as slow as the post office in Kings Lynn, Norfolk... people think they have sweet / chocy isle in the middle of the que fence for people to buy.... its not.... there rations so people can make it to the end of the que!!!

hmmm well the sql server is being a little behaved today.... perhaps it knows imma about to beat it with a large stick.... hmmmm

Kin Hell
13th December 2007, 14:59
@Kin Hell

my friend, nothing is as slow as the post office in Kings Lynn, Norfolk... people think they have sweet / chocy isle in the middle of the que fence for people to buy.... its not.... there rations so people can make it to the end of the que!!!

LOL!!.......So you have never heard of B.T. then!? :roll:

Zetr0
13th December 2007, 15:46
I do know that If i have call their "customer support" to stock up on the food in the house before I do.... :D

Kin Hell
13th December 2007, 16:20
PMSL!!

Merlin
13th December 2007, 16:23
Try ringing NTL's customer service line, it always makes me want to lose the will to live, I was once waiting in a queue for 45 minutes before I gave up.

LOL

Merlin