PDA

View Full Version : Closed The age old request of 'that' C= key



WhoShotMrWhite
16th November 2011, 14:27
Much apologies to everyone that's fed up of this one BUT I would be most grateful (and of course financially reimburse anyone who could) supply me with one of these babies :tumbleweed:

WhoShotMrWhite
17th November 2011, 11:57
Dang! are these really that rare? :( a healthy and/or cool game as reward, tempt anyone?

gazcbm
17th November 2011, 13:31
What commodore key?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk

chiark
17th November 2011, 13:50
You don't just need the key, you need the keyboard too - unless you have an NMB keyboard already...

There's not a lot of them about compared to the others, and they're from the first iteration of 500s - probably only manufactured for a few months.

TF2000
17th November 2011, 19:34
I've been searching for ages. I eventually found the right keyboard but sadly, it's missing the all important C= key!!!

WhoShotMrWhite
17th November 2011, 19:57
You don't just need the key, you need the keyboard too - unless you have an NMB keyboard already...

There's not a lot of them about compared to the others, and they're from the first iteration of 500s - probably only manufactured for a few months.

NMB keyboard? :unsure:

chiark
17th November 2011, 20:44
yep. NMB. Part of hitek corporation, apparently.

The keyboard is different in that it doesn't use a membrane, it has keyswitches soldered to a PCB. Under each switch is a small diameter, long spring and a solid plunger. Contact is made by the keyswitch moving out of the way of the electrical connectors, allowing them to touch.

The other membrane (mitsumi?) keyboards have a scissoring action underneath them and a plunger that completes the circuit itself. They are kept 'up' by a plastic 'thing' in the 500 keyboard, or a wide but short spring in desktop keyboards. The circuit board is a printed membrane rather than individually soldered keyswitches.

Consequently, the keycaps are completely and utterly different, and an NMB keycap will not fit on a mitsumi membrane keyboard

WhoShotMrWhite
17th November 2011, 20:57
So, what kind of Miggy can it be used with?

chiark
17th November 2011, 21:21
What do you mean, just the key? Only with one with an NMB keyboard.

An NMB keyboard can be used with any Amiga. The 500 version has +5v, ground, KBCLK, KBDAT and reset... You could put that in a 2000 keyboard housing - the reset line won't be used.

WhoShotMrWhite
17th November 2011, 22:25
So, you have one right?

rkauer
18th November 2011, 05:42
All A2000 keyboards (and the A3000 ones, too) have a proper circuit board instead the pesky & cheap membranes the A600/1200/4000 and later A500(+) have.

In any case, the big box Amigas all have a silicone "spring" instead the cheap metal spring the wedge Amigas use.

Oh, and the C= key is from NMB, no doubt of that. Same keyboard manufacturer of the A1000 (or was it Cherry?).

Storm
18th November 2011, 06:10
All A2000 keyboards (and the A3000 ones, too) have a proper circuit board instead the pesky & cheap membranes the A600/1200/4000 and later A500(+) have.

In any case, the big box Amigas all have a silicone "spring" instead the cheap metal spring the wedge Amigas use.

Oh, and the C= key is from NMB, no doubt of that. Same keyboard manufacturer of the A1000 (or was it Cherry?).

Yep, my A500 Plus has a membrane keyboard but luckily my A4000 has a circuit board! :thumbsup:

Ciao ...

quarkx
18th November 2011, 06:36
I have an A2000 keyboard with a C= Key, yep it's dirtier than sin, a bit yellowed too. Came with my Bomac tower.

chiark
18th November 2011, 07:38
I have one, but it's not for sale. :)

Good call Rogerio, I got the spring vs plastic thing the wrong way around for internal vs external.

quarkx
18th November 2011, 13:45
well, mine is for sale, but it would be insane to ship it to the UK. Besides, mine is a US layout. I am willing to always trade it (ONLY) for a US layout CDTV keyboard, otherwise it would be big $$$.:p

chiark
18th November 2011, 15:01
There was not a british keymap for these, so british early amigas have the US keymap.

I still set all of my keyboards to US as a result of this... :D

rkauer
19th November 2011, 02:37
I have one, but the membrane(?) is broken. It's on one of my A500.

chiark
19th November 2011, 10:19
There's no membrane on the NMB keyboards... Perhaps you mean the PCB?

rkauer
19th November 2011, 20:04
Time will tell: I have to dismantle the A500 prior to inform more.