PDA

View Full Version : Wanted Amiga 3000T Drive Mounting Rails



drwho
16th February 2012, 17:58
Hello Folks,

I'm looking for the drive mounting rails for my A3000T for the 5 1/4" drive bays. Hoping someone out there has a set or two they would like to sell.

Thanks,
Mike

eFUNZINe
16th February 2012, 20:17
I've got a couple of A4000T 5 1/4 mounting rails. Are they the same as A4000T type? I think so, not sure though.

drwho
16th February 2012, 22:51
I'm not sure, I would have to see them.

Could you post a few pictures?

Rakeim132
17th February 2012, 12:54
Is that it ?

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Enlight-5-25-Drive-Mounting-Rails-Clip-Type-NEW-/230333259113?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item35a0ee9d69

eFUNZINe
17th February 2012, 16:45
Yes, this is it.

salaxi54
18th February 2012, 10:33
May i offer a bit of advice here?
The "regular" 5,25" and 3.5" drive rails used in common pc towers, are actually not suitable for the A3000T.
Dunno why, but it must be some custom kinda thing. I have made various tests and patents to secure both size drives, and those just didn't fit.
On the other hand, i dunno if the A4000T rails will fit or not. You'd have to ask someone who owns one to borrow their rails and try 'em.
I could use a regular 5.25" rail on the one side, and had to build a wooden one for the other. They just won't fit, making this a real tight scenario.
Here's my rig with only one side metal rail:
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm242/salax54/DRIVERAILS1.jpg

And here's the 3.5" "patent":
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm242/salax54/DRIVERAILS2.jpg

Not the pretiest site...

J.T.Kirk
18th February 2012, 10:35
Actually I used some mounting driving rails from an old peecee of mine in my A4000T original tower (actually, before goes to...), and they fitted perfectly. So it means that the A3000T is different in comparison with A4000T?

salaxi54
18th February 2012, 10:35
So it means that the A3000T is different in comparison with A4000T?

Yup!

drwho
18th February 2012, 13:51
Is that it ?

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Enlight-5-25-Drive-Mounting-Rails-Clip-Type-NEW-/230333259113?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item35a0ee9d69

I don't think so. The one set that I do have is plastic, but, I am not quite sure if they are originals either.

I've been trying to find a picture of the retail box contents for the 3000T (good luck with that).

I'm beginning to despair ... :(

---------- Post added at 08:51 ---------- Previous post was at 08:43 ----------

It's actually a fairly bizarre mounting system.

The ones that are in my 3000T are plastic, but, they seem like they have been "nibbled" at to make them work in some places and the fit is not terribly good.

I am almost 100% sure that these rails are going to be impossible to get. This was a scarce machine, never mind finding all of the little bits that went with it.

However, there is hope. I am looking at my Dremel tool, and looking at the readily available rails from the other bay that Rakeim132 posted the link to. It may be possible that I could fabricate the rails and make a set that fits.

I'll look into it and post whatever I find here.

Thanks for all the help guys! :thumbsup:

Rakeim132
18th February 2012, 22:12
Good luck DrWho...

Agree with Phantom : on my A4000T standard PC rails are fitting well.

salaxi54
19th February 2012, 18:03
@drwho: We're not the only "desperate" people when it comes to this subject! You might want to take a look at what others did too:
http://www.a1k.org/forum/showthread.php?t=16886&page=3
Check post #54 to see what Andreas has done for the 3.5" ones :thumbsup:

drwho
20th February 2012, 04:34
@drwho: We're not the only "desperate" people when it comes to this subject! You might want to take a look at what others did too:
http://www.a1k.org/forum/showthread.php?t=16886&page=3
Check post #54 to see what Andreas has done for the 3.5" ones :thumbsup:

Good link! I've considered something like this. Also, I was in the garage the other day staring at an old air conditioner. It has these plastic rails on the sides that look like the right thickness and width. I may break out my dremel and see if I can cut some custom 5 1/4" rails from that.

I'll post back with my results.

CrashMidnick
20th February 2012, 14:21
There is a really easiest way to fix properly drives in A3000T, unless you want original parts. I did fix my SCSI CDROM drive 2 weeks ago. Will take a picture tonight at home to show you if you want.

In fact it consists on taking 8 or 4 washers and 4 screws (depending on the size of the hole of the fisrt washer). 4 washers have to be curved (you can take flat ones and curve them yourself).

CrashMidnick
20th February 2012, 21:18
Pictures attached...

You can hit with a hammer it will not move ;)

TjLaZer
8th March 2013, 22:06
I use these in my A3000T and they work great. They slide in the rails and the face plate keeps it in place.

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/03/09/nahe6utu.jpg

bdb
9th March 2013, 00:59
Go to the other Bay and search for "Enlight Drive Rails" and see if these are what you need. They include the exact originals used on the A4000T !

TjLaZer
9th March 2013, 05:06
Those do not work as they are too fat.

bdb
9th March 2013, 06:52
Would you be ever so kind as to post the dimensions of the rail that does fit and a picture of the rail. It is hard to help when all I have are A4000T rails as a guide. I did this search looking for the A4000Ts and found a variety in the past.