PDA

View Full Version : Samsung SyncMaster 920nw - high pitched noise, brief picture

Tajmaster
18th February 2012, 13:24
Hi all

I have a Samsung SyncMaster 920nw 19" widescreen LCD monitor. When I switch it on it makes a high pitched noise (sort of similar to electricity arcing I think) and the picture comes on for about 1 second then goes off.

Any ideas? :blink:

Thanks,
Taj

Tajmaster
18th February 2012, 13:26
BTW, this is a pic of the back of it with the model numbers etc, in case that helps :)

J.T.Kirk
18th February 2012, 13:29
Sounds a power problem to me mate. Better call Samsung on this one (if it's still under warranty or not).

D.B
18th February 2012, 13:30
Fubar springs to mind. :mrgreen:

Soz, I couldnt resist. :p ;)

Tajmaster
18th February 2012, 13:31
Its a second hand monitor Phantom :( not a big problem if its goosed, Id just liked to have had a spare :)

J.T.Kirk
18th February 2012, 13:32
I see. The first thing that came to my mind is about bad-capacitors... :unsure:

D.B
18th February 2012, 13:33
Phantom is in the right ball park for me. Probably the units PSU that's gone pig. it might be worth while doing a parts check.
You do have the model number & serial to hand. Worth a shot if nothing, surely? :thumbsup:

Tajmaster
18th February 2012, 13:41
hmmmm, perhaps the PSU has bad caps then eh? The model and serial are in the pic in my second post :)

Simon_G
18th February 2012, 15:06
Had something similar a year ago with a Samsung monitor, turns out that the older ones seem to be prone to capacitor related issues inside the actual monitor, would bet this is the cause.

Tajmaster
18th February 2012, 16:59
I guess Ill open it up sometime and see if theyve leaked :thumbsup:

bebek
21st February 2012, 19:46
Hi all

I have a Samsung SyncMaster 920nw 19" widescreen LCD monitor. When I switch it on it makes a high pitched noise (sort of similar to electricity arcing I think) and the picture comes on for about 1 second then goes off.

Any ideas? :blink: