PDA

View Full Version : A1200 PCMCIA socket



robinsonb5
25th March 2012, 12:45
Does anyone know where I can get hold of a replacement PCMCIA socket that would fit an A1200 (Rev 1B) board?

There are several types available from RS, etc. - such as:
http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/memory-card/0374806/
and
http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/memory-card/0132744/
- but is any of them the right type for the A1200?

Bad_Ad84
25th March 2012, 12:59
As per my PM, second one looks like it should fit.

But with + VAT and + delivery... probably cheaper to source a damaged board from here and reuse the socket (and any other parts/chips!)

robinsonb5
25th March 2012, 13:12
probably cheaper to source a damaged board from here and reuse the socket (and any other parts/chips!)

Good thinking.


(Incidentally, does anyone know whether the A600's PCMCIA slot is an identical part?
)

JLPedro
25th March 2012, 13:19
Yes, the a600 pcmcia part is the same as the A1200 one :).

Zetr0
25th March 2012, 14:02
@robinson5

You need to source this component (http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/memory-card/0374806/) as it is low-profile and only part-assembly.

(correct connector female component)
http://img-europe.electrocomponents.com/largeimages/R374806-91.jpg


The component in this link (http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/memory-card/0132744/) will stand too proud, as a consequence you may have to file the PCMCIA port a bit.

(this is incorrect connector)
http://img-europe.electrocomponents.com/largeimages/R0132744-10.jpg

mjnurney
25th March 2012, 14:12
I have an a1200 second hand one If you want it?

Bad_Ad84
25th March 2012, 15:39
@robinson5

You need to source this component (http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/memory-card/0374806/) as it is low-profile and only part-assembly.

(correct connector female component)
http://img-europe.electrocomponents.com/largeimages/R374806-91.jpg


The component in this link (http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/memory-card/0132744/) will stand too proud, as a consequence you may have to file the PCMCIA port a bit.

(this is incorrect connector)
http://img-europe.electrocomponents.com/largeimages/R0132744-10.jpg

Out of interest - which dimension is it going to be too big? The sizes are almost identical in the specifications

johnim
25th March 2012, 18:44
hi i just had a play with my hotair/solder station and took 1 of a very dead 600 if you want it

just the pins on the left have a bit of solder on but i dont want to kill it doing it

robinsonb5
25th March 2012, 19:14
hi i just had a play with my hotair/solder station and took 1 of a very dead 600 if you want it

Nice work! One of these days I'll think about getting one of those hot air stations myself - looks like a lot of fun!

And wow - not just one but two offers within hours of the thread starting - gotta love the Amibay community!


Anyway, many thanks for the offer, but thanks to mjnurney I think I'm sorted now :)


I'm sure someone will be glad of it sooner or later, though.

johnim
25th March 2012, 19:20
no worries i may replace 1 of mine one day

jvdbossc
28th March 2012, 21:08
hi i just had a play with my hotair/solder station and took 1 of a very dead 600 if you want it

Nice work! One of these days I'll think about getting one of those hot air stations myself - looks like a lot of fun!

And wow - not just one but two offers within hours of the thread starting - gotta love the Amibay community!


Anyway, many thanks for the offer, but thanks to mjnurney I think I'm sorted now :)


I'm sure someone will be glad of it sooner or later, though.

I interchanged one recently from an A600 - it is not easy to do it took alot of patience to recycle a part and get it fitting again.

Bad_Ad84
28th March 2012, 22:04
Depends on the tools.

It's very quick and easy with the right tools for the job. However, unless you do that type of work a lot- most can't justify the price for the right tools.

ChupaX
26th March 2013, 21:06
I need to replace my PCMCIA port, one of the pins broke off.
How hard is it to replace it? All i have is a soldering iron and solder sucker bulb.
And where can i get one? Thanks,Eric

jvdbossc
26th March 2013, 21:17
I did not find any replacement part..

I did it only once, I used hot air to remove it gently. It takes some time and patience and it's best to take time and not to use to much heath.

If it was only one pin, I would take my chanches and try to pull and replace the pin.. After some soldering and hotglue might be your luck.
At first I would check if the pin is used at all or important for your own usage.

To be honest with a normal iron, I have no idea how to do it. I have no luck with the tools you got.

Fitting back a recycled part is fun I can tell you :double

I found soldering it back when it is aligned and fitted and after some cleaning and flux etc very nice to do. aligning it back no :) .

I bought a broken mobo to do it..