PDA

View Full Version : Closed 64 pin simms (GVP ?)

fraggle
15th April 2008, 20:01
Hi,
I have in my possession a number of 64 pin simms. These were salvaged from a server used in the print industry some years ago. (It was a 386, to give you some idea)

I don't know whether these simms will work with GVP hardware, as I've heard conflicting stories, and anyway, I have nothing to test them on. I don't even know what size they are.

If someone, preferably UK based, has a piece of GVP hardware that takes this type of simm, and would be willing to test one of them for me, then I'm sure that we could come to some arrangement. :) (i.e. They get to keep the one they test. Free, Gratis, and for nothing.)

NOTE: I am an Electrical Technician, and I am 99% certain that these will work in GVP hardware. Many people have said that GVP made their own simms, but (at the time that GVP were producing stuff that uses these) there were only about 4 companies in the world that produced memory chips/sticks. The investment in plant would have been too much for a company the size of GVP. Hence, I strongly believe that the 64 pin simms that GVP sold were simply rebranded proprietary simms.
I also suspect that GVP did a pretty good job of brainwashing people into thinking that they could only use "their" simms. (Wouldn't you ?, if you were selling something on at a huge markup ?)

Cheers, fraggle.

Skote
7th May 2008, 18:39
I just bought some of these from the US because I couldn't find any. What size are they? I am after 16MB ones. Will you do sale or return if they don't work?

Zetr0
7th May 2008, 19:48
if you both post some hires pictures, not only would i have some tasty hardware pr0n, be we could also compare chips and layout.

oh... did i mention the hardware pr0n ? :D

fraggle
8th May 2008, 11:03
@ Skote: If you're in the UK, let me know, then I can post one to you for testing. I have no idea what size they are, BTW.

@Zetr0: I'll post some photos soon. Kinda busy right now.

fraggle