PDA

View Full Version : Found Apollo630 CPU replacement



MC680X0
8th May 2012, 11:56
This is reserved for hikey. He's gonna replace the old CPU with
a new 68030rc50c CPU. :thumbsup:
I'll bring the parcel this afternoon to the post-office.

mfilos
8th May 2012, 12:11
Good luck MC680X0.
Per-Gunnar made this for me back then (told him to solder a socket for me to change the CPU) plus the oscillator.
System worked on 50MHz but not so stable so I changed back the oscillator to 40MHz where it was working awesomely well

MC680X0
8th May 2012, 12:25
@ mfilos

Thanks! He's also gonna solder a socket to the board. The old CPU was running at 40Mhz, but because it is running too hot and the speed printing on the CPU is rubbed out, it's very likely that it is heavily overclocked.
So, you're saying that you're card wasn't stable after the upgrade to a 50Mhz CPU + oscillator? What kind of CPU did you use? I'm gonna try it with a new MC68030RC50c CPU. It's the latest version, so maybe it will run cooler and stable.

mfilos
8th May 2012, 15:01
Yep I had the latest MC68030RC50C revision as well mate.
Even with supplying extra power juice to the usual spot and I also having soldered Ceramic and Electrolytic capacitor as suggested...
- With 50MHz oscillator it sometime worked while other times it didn't even boot.
- With the 40Mhz oscillator I never had a single issue.

Maybe you'll have better luck than me :)
Sadly it's definitely per case with the Apollo's 630.

Keep us posted \o/

Xanxi
8th May 2012, 15:05
On the other hand, Cosmos has upgraded the Apollo630@40 MHz that i sold here 6 months ago and it is working fine at 50 MHz for my buyer as far as i know.

Bad_Ad84
8th May 2012, 15:06
Its going to be the same deal as PC processors. They all have their own slightly unique properties and overclockability.

MC680X0
9th May 2012, 07:57
@ mfilos

What kind of expansions did you use simultaneous with your A600/50Mhz?

mfilos
9th May 2012, 19:49
An Indivision ECS mounted on an A603. System was powered from a PicoPSU 80W with Ian's ATX adapter.

MC680X0
10th May 2012, 09:24
I asked because I saw in your signature that your A600 is equiped with
a Subway, Mas-player, Audio mixer and the A603 + IndivisionECS.
I thought that could be overkill, especially when using a standard C= 3A power-supply. ;)
(with a heavy A500 4.5A power-supply it should work though)

I'm planning to use my Apollo630 together only with a A604 & IndiVisionECS. No need for other fancy stuff! :p

hikey
10th May 2012, 14:50
Card received today :)

MC680X0
11th May 2012, 09:55
Great! :) That was very quick! Please keep me informed on your progress.

MC680X0
26th May 2012, 08:04
Card received back today! Thanks Hikey :thumbsup:, he did a wonderful job! First tests are good. SysInfo reports that it's faster then my Blizzard1230IV now!! :p
I'll do some more testing today. Will report later with pics.

MC680X0
26th May 2012, 11:51
Well, here are the test results: After a few hours, I noticed that the CPU was running very hot. I couldn't get my finger to touch the CPU any longer than a few seconds (the room where i did the testing was 35 degrees celsius, but that aside). So I placed a heatsync ontop of the CPU. It's running very stable now.
And what i didn't expected, was that this Apollo630/50Mhz runs actually faster then my Blizzard1230-4/50Mhz! :D
Apollo630 : 10.31 Mips
Blizzard1230 : 9.90 Mips

It outperforms an ACA630 too. It's perfect for playing Gloom/Doom/Boom! :-P

Thanks again Hikey, for your great job! :thumbsup:
I left you positive feedback.

hikey
29th May 2012, 16:23
Feedback left, I believe this can now be closed :thumbsup: