PDA

View Full Version : Norton UAC?



arnljot
5th September 2009, 20:02
I've quickly learned to have Windows UAC.

It just doesn't learn my preferences.

Having googled the issue I see that there are three (four if you count disabling it) solutions to the UAC nightmare.

1) Use programs that are in start up to run as administred scheduled tasks with highest privileges.
2) Use the utility "Elevate Me" which can imho give a false security if configured wrong
and, most interestingly:
3) Use Norton UAC

What's the jurys verdict on this? Is it good, or is it the usual Norton h-e-l-l?

It seems from the info site to be a small nice little tool.
http://www.nortonlabs.com/inthelab/uac.php

imnogeek
5th September 2009, 20:08
Never ever ever ever put norton on your PC knowingly ;)

have a look here for all you need to know on tweeking vista including UAC

http://www.howtogeek.com/tag/windows-vista/

Gary

Kin Hell
5th September 2009, 20:35
I'll second ing's notion. I'd sooner hack a bollock off with a teaspoon, than install that crap. 8)

Kin

Merlin
5th September 2009, 23:06
I'll second ing's notion. I'd sooner hack a bollock off with a teaspoon, than install that crap. 8)

Kin

Thanks Charlie, for that fascinating, informative insight into the world of Norton and User Access Control........ :shock: :laugh:

Kin Hell
5th September 2009, 23:17
My pleasure Dave. You already know it would hurt a lot less than it would to install Norton. :jester:

Kin

arnljot
5th September 2009, 23:54
I've learned my lesson too with Norton bloatware. But this seems to be more lightweight app.

But the workarounds provided by Gary is very good, so I'll go with that. Also they do not open holes in the UAC.

Re the use of teaspoons.
...
:wooha:
...

No comment...

woodycool
7th September 2009, 21:57
What ever you do .... never EVER EVER install Norton unless you want your PC to be about as powerful as a broken down but oversized George Foreman grill.

Norton = Windows killer!

As for UAC .... turn it off already.

arnljot
7th September 2009, 23:16
I have made shortcuts for the programs that UAC complains about that I use regularly.

Also, I have installed Commodo and I am super happy with it. It's just as good as Avast (allhtough Avast updates better the first time after install). But Commodo comes with a good firewall.

I just enquired about the Norton tool as it was a clear and simple tool. But as you guys read from my first post, I'm familiar with the bogware that goes by the brand Norton. I just hoped that this tool didn't have that stain...

Mods, please close this thread, I and the community have our reply: LISTEN TO imnogeek (http://www.amibay.com/viewtopic.php?p=30607#p30607)

Thanks everyone, and you too wc! ;)

imnogeek
8th September 2009, 00:38
Thread Closed as requested. :oops: