Amigas and HD floppies

AndyLandy

Acceleration!
Country
UK
Region
Southampton
What's the difference between a PC and an Amiga floppy drive? I was always led to believe that the actual drives were the same, and it's the controller that limits PCs to constant angular velocity formats. Of course, you'd need an Amiga with a controller that knows about HD disks, but many of the big-box ones already do. So, the question is thus: "Can I bung in a PC HD floppy drive and expect it to work?" and "If not, why not?"

:thanks:

Re: Amigas and HD floppies

From my experience (and by no means i'm an expert on the matter) most PC High density drives can be modified to work as a 880k DD amiga drive, as long you can make some modifications to the wiring (ready signal for example). As for an PC HD floppy to work as a Amiga HD Floppy thats another story as amiga HD floppy spins at half the speed of an PC HD floppy, so it can only be done with the help of extra hardware. I normaly look for Samsung 321b HD floppy drives and convert them to 880k Amiga DD Floppy, as they are still sold new and are very easy to hack, giving 1/1 compatibility to amiga standard DD drives.

Some links on the subject:

http://www.freewebs.com/computolio/amiga_floppy_compatibility.html
http://www.rabayjr.com/amiga_floppy_drives.htm

Hope it helps.

Dreamcast270mhz said:
get a catweasel and be done with it, it allows ALL formats, HD and DD

except it's really unstable and the drivers are poo

And you can't boot from a catweasel drive....

JuvUK said:
Dreamcast270mhz said:
get a catweasel and be done with it, it allows ALL formats, HD and DD

except it's really unstable and the drivers are poo

Is that only in regard to the Amiga based Catweasel controllers?

I've been using a PC PCI CatWeasel MK4 recently and it has been really good, stable, and read and wrote everything I've tried.