PDA

View Full Version : Swapped or swap - Amiga 1200 & Blizzard 1230 mkIV & scsi kit.



Gouldin
5th July 2012, 15:42
Up for sale is my A1200 setup. Not been using it, so it's gotta go.

Amiga 1200 - Mobo Rev 1D1. case/keyboard is mint. Floppy works, all ports good, sound and video are clear. Has Kick 3.1 installed, will also include kick 3.0. 4GB CF fitted. New Case LED's fitted last week from amigakit.

Workbench 3.1 Floppy disk set.

Blizzard 1230 MkIV. 50mhz. FPU also fitted. 32MB ram. also have..

Blizzard SCSI Kit IV. which has latest scsi rom, 64MB ram. (Scsi cable isn't long enough to fit to back of case though.)

MAS Player Evolution - Plays MP3's. :p

Will come with a heavy duty A500 PSU, mouse, RGB Scart lead. Will include some floppies and blanks to get you started too :thumbsup:

Overall, really nice system, ideal for someone that want's to get a plug and play setup without shopping around trying to find the parts seperately.

Price is 300 inc postage to UK only. For shipping outside I'll need to add the cost of shipping minus the cost of UK shipping.

Payment via PayPal gift, or buyer pays fee's.

Will also consider swapping for: Viper 530 or a fully populated GVP530 along with a working A500+ mobo.

Gouldin
5th July 2012, 23:33
Pics uploaded :)

Gouldin
7th July 2012, 13:30
Price drop from 320 to 300 still inc free UK Shipping :thumbsup:

Tajmaster
7th July 2012, 16:26
Heres someone looking for one:


http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=31733


:thumbsup:

Gouldin
7th July 2012, 19:23
Just sent a post to his wanted thread. Well spotted :thumbsup:

Gouldin
7th July 2012, 21:28
Some more pics, showing the A1200, this time with a good camera.
And some pics of the blizzy.

Note also. The CF card is a SanDisk Ultra 33mb/s 4gb card. Not an el cheapo off ebay :thumbsup:

Moonhunter
10th July 2012, 23:19
What are the shipping costs to Sweden. :)

Gouldin
10th July 2012, 23:24
Shipping to sweden will cost 10 :)

Sent from my Lumia 800 using Board Express

Gouldin
12th July 2012, 09:09
Removed an item from sale.

Gouldin
13th July 2012, 13:36
Also consider a swap for Viper 530 or GVP530 along with an A500+ motherboard :thumbsup:

Can swap be added onto the title please? :)

Gouldin
13th July 2012, 15:36
:help: Can swap be added onto the title please? :bowdown:

WonkeyDonkey
13th July 2012, 15:42
I may have a swap available for this. PM sent.

Gouldin
13th July 2012, 16:29
PM replied with a couple of questions :thumbsup:

---------- Post added at 16:29 ---------- Previous post was at 16:04 ----------

Deal agreed with WonkeyDonkey. :thumbsup:

WonkeyDonkey
13th July 2012, 16:33
Just being clear on this; the A530 i am swapping with is not the one I am restoring here on the forums, its a second unit I have that is fully functional.

The secret ninja visits that were planned recently by Zetr0 and TheCorfiot may now be called off thankyou ! (http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=32102&page=2)

:thumbsup:

Zetr0
13th July 2012, 17:07
thats okay... I have Gouldin's address ;)

Gouldin
13th July 2012, 17:36
Lmao, gonna have to get a guard dog again. (last one was a bichon frese :P )

Sent from my Lumia 800 using Board Express

WonkeyDonkey
13th July 2012, 20:23
thats okay... I have Gouldin's address ;)

Haha!

Part of me wants to restore this one as well but it would be way too much time and effort for what would essentially be a spare unit.

Still, its in great shape overall, and lightning quick to boot up on an A500+.

Im sure Gouldin will be very happy with this :)

Gouldin
13th July 2012, 21:23
Should be a nice setup :)

Next to aim for an indy ecs. Scsi cd drive. And a few other goodies to really pimp the system :D

Sent from my Lumia 800 using Board Express

WonkeyDonkey
14th July 2012, 23:17
Well Ive just put this stuff together and thought I would confirm what we have agreed.

So I am sending a GVP A530 unit complete. This has a 33 Mhz CPU and 40 Mhz FPU, 2 x 4Mb GVP simms and a 52 Meg HDD fitted. It is fully assembled and has a default Workbench 3.1 installation on it. Also the power supply that came with it (Kettle lead will be required though). It is fully functional and I had this running last night for several hours without incident.

Also I am sending an A500+ motherboard. This is Rev 8A, has 2.04 rom fitted and has been left attached to the bottom half of the shielding cover. This is the motherboard only as requested. The battery has been replaced with a new one too.

Finally free of charge, 1.5 km of bubble wrap and 1 x banana box :lol:

Just awaiting address details by PM.

Gouldin
15th July 2012, 17:23
Courier has been booked for Monday via 24hr delivery so should be with you Tuesday :thumbsup:

WonkeyDonkey
17th July 2012, 10:13
Gouldins parcel has arrived this morning :)

A530 and motherboard was collected this end yesterday (16 Aug) so should be with ya shortly :)

Gouldin
17th July 2012, 10:17
Hope it turned up all ok, used the last of the bubble wrap I could find on it. Looked to be enough though :)

Have fun with it, quite a tidy system if I don't mind saying so myself :D

WonkeyDonkey
17th July 2012, 11:04
Ive just been having a look, a very nicely put together system indeed!

Everything is working and Captain Planet has just had his first outing.

He is now dead :p

---------- Post added at 11:04 ---------- Previous post was at 10:47 ----------

Ive been looking through my toy box this morning and found another processor for the A530.

The one Ive sent is MC68303RC33B.

The one I have found is MC68EC030RP40B.

So this one is 40 Mhz rather than 33 Mhz, but as I understand it, the 'EC' versions dont have the built-in MMU.

Performance-wise, Im not sure which would be the best one to use as Ive not done any kind of testing/benchmarking. Im quite happy to pop this one in the post for you though, as you did ask about a 40 Mhz part.

If anyone knows which of these would be the best performer overall, please feel free to chime in :)

Gouldin
17th July 2012, 11:41
I presume the 530 uses a crystal to set the speed rather than the CPU ID? If so, and the 33mhz is ticking along at 40, then it's probably quicker?

Lol, no idea tbh, I'm just rambling :D

WonkeyDonkey
17th July 2012, 12:04
Im not 100% sure to be honest, my level of knowledge doesnt extend that far lol

Actually I just thought, the A530 does have its own kinda MMU if I remember, so you may be better off with the part you have already. There is a jumper relating to MMU, i remember that for sure.

Edit :

From here : http://www.l8r.net/technical/t-a530turbo.shtml

Jumper J1 - Open : MMU enabled, Closed : MMU disabled, Default : Open

* The 68EC030 chip used with most A530 Turbo accelerators does not have a Memory Management Unit. Instead, GVP provides alternate memory mapping technology. If a 68030 with MMU is substituted for the 68EC030, this jumper provides a means of disabling that chips MMU. This feature may be of interest to software developers who require a machine without MMU.

So thinking about it, this 40 Mhz CPU using the in-built MMU might well be a better performer.

Its up to you anyhow, the CPU is here if you want it :)

Gouldin
17th July 2012, 12:09
lol, what I'll do is, when it turns up, I'll fire up sysinfo and see what it says about it :)

Gouldin
18th July 2012, 20:42
Received it today mate, just had a play about with it, these A530's are quick little buggers I gotta say :thumbsup:

The A500+ mobo looks imaculate, very impressed with it mate :thumbsup:

Feedback on they way mate.


Now to work out what other parts I need to pimp my rig :lol:

---------- Post added at 20:42 ---------- Previous post was at 20:36 ----------

Feedback left :thumbsup:

WonkeyDonkey
18th July 2012, 20:43
Glad to hear that! Its good to know the A530 will be well used too, fab pieces of hardware they are!

You will be running a similar system to me then eventually - A530 and 500+

:)

Also have a look here : http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=29435

Positive feedback being left :)

Trade is now complete if a mod would like to do the honours :)

Gouldin
18th July 2012, 20:52
Lol, that thread is what inspired me to persue a GVP 530 again after giving up years ago :thumbsup:

WonkeyDonkey
18th July 2012, 20:53
Lol, that thread is what inspired me to persue a GVP 530 again after giving up years ago :thumbsup:

Excellent! Well if you need any pointers or help, gimme a shout :)

chatopirulo
27th July 2012, 21:54
could you write me a PM and we can discuss, i want to buy it.

Gouldin
27th July 2012, 23:39
Sorry, this was swapped in a trade with WonkeyDonkey.

Thought the thread would have locked by now.

johnim
28th July 2012, 00:36
will close for you now