PDA

View Full Version : A4000 PIO 2 Upgrade



Storm
16th July 2012, 15:14
Hi there,

Is there anyone on Amibay that can perform this upgrade? My 2 gal chips are socketed as I got a set off Cosmos that never worked. At least I know my socket soldering worked as I put the old chips back in. A little speed boost would be nice in the IDE department.

Bad_Ad84
16th July 2012, 15:21
I have done this and can burn the GALS (and have them in stock).

Storm
17th July 2012, 02:24
Nice! Could I possibly trouble you to burn me a set of PIO2 gals, of course I'd pay for the materials, time and postage.

bebek
21st July 2012, 10:37
It does not work on every board, especially if you had PAL ic's originally. Cosmos GAL's are most likely ok ...

Storm
21st July 2012, 13:06
I told Cosmos exactly what chips I originally had in there and he said they were fine for the upgrade.

Storm
14th August 2012, 09:56
I got the new upgraded chips today in the mail from Bad_Ad84. Thanks for that, apprecite it :thumbsup:

Well the upgraded PIO2 mode chips work better than I was expecting:

DH0: from 2.9Mb/s to 4.8Mb/s
DH1: from 3.2Mb/s to 6.5Mb/s
DH2: from 3.2Mb/s to 6.7Mb/s

The A4000 really does feel a lot quicker now :D

Tomse
14th August 2012, 18:03
which CPU are you using ?

I've tried the upgrade and can't get the speed above 2.2mb/sec on a 040@25.

and I get loads of read-errors on the CD drive under os3.9 with a couple of updates. Even tried the scsi.device 43.46b from the A1200 and cosmos patch
(I think it's the 43.46b.. one of them new ones atleast)

rkauer
15th August 2012, 06:14
@Tomse: check Storm's signature. I bet some money he put the PIO2 chip into the A4000 with cyberstorm mk2 060/72. :nod:

MZ3540
15th August 2012, 07:01
I must ask, why did bad_ads chips work while cosmos' chips did not?

Btw, very good performance increase!

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk

Storm
15th August 2012, 07:22
@Tomse: check Storm's signature. I bet some money he put the PIO2 chip into the A4000 with cyberstorm mk2 060/72. :nod:

Exactly right, it's my A4000 as in my signature :thumbsup:
I am using the scsi.device from boing bag 4 and of course AmigaOS 3.9 on a 40GB Seagate IDE hard drive.

As for why Cosmos chips didn't work but Bad_Ad84's did, that I don't know! I'm just happy with the results. I did get my results from SysInfo 3.24 so I will try some other programs to see if the results are infact a true improvement.

I should note that I have replaced all the capacitors and have good case and hard drive cooling. I don't know if this makes any difference though.

Bad_Ad84
15th August 2012, 09:12
I got the new upgraded chips today in the mail from Bad_Ad84. Thanks for that, apprecite it :thumbsup:

Well the upgraded PIO2 mode chips work better than I was expecting:

DH0: from 2.9Mb/s to 4.8Mb/s
DH1: from 3.2Mb/s to 6.5Mb/s
DH2: from 3.2Mb/s to 6.7Mb/s

The A4000 really does feel a lot quicker now :D

Wow, that took longer to arrive than I expected!

I appreciate your patience - not one PM chasing me up and its been nearly a month!

protek
15th August 2012, 09:42
Is the PIO2 mod possible to do in A600 and A1200? I think those machines would benefit from the performance boost as there's limited space to accommodate SCSI solutions.

SpeedGeek
17th February 2013, 16:09
Here is link to the new IDEU901M on EAB:

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=861458&postcount=79

I've been so busy I just forgot about it! ;)

jack-3d
21st January 2015, 10:24
Has anybody tried on A4000T?