PDA

View Full Version : Closed Power board request for 12V and 5V

jvdw007
21st July 2012, 20:50
I aim to make my Raspberry Pi more portable.

To do so, I have a small LCD TV that requires a 12VDC 1A input and the Raspberry Pi requires a 5VDC usb input which I believe is around 700mA. I want to use a single switching plug as I currently have, which is a 3 prong wall plug that switches down from 240VAC to 12VDC 1.25A. I'd like to be able to use a single plug such as this to power both devices. Oh and a nice to have would be an on/off switch option so I don't have to unplug it or switch it off at the wall either.

Are there any electronic gurus here that would be able to do such a thing for me or recommend something? I know nothing about doing this myself as I have no background or much experience in this field.

Thanks,
Jaco

ShambleS1980
21st July 2012, 21:56
I copuld probably do the actual work to make a plug that out puted both to seperate wires from 1 single plug..
But unless you want something made of wood and 6 inch nails as a casing i would find some 1 els lol..
I am definatly not the best when it comes to making casings. :lol:

i just had a thought..

I think i may actualy have something like that already..

what kind of power connections would you need??

jvdw007
21st July 2012, 22:57
This is effectively what I have that currently plugs into the tiny lcd tv screen.

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-0Vi1Lnkc0Ig/T_1AHeuXLaI/AAAAAAAADhg/BWPkpKN3RL8/s800/IMG_2003.JPG

I'd like to continue using this plug but to plug it into a breadboard instead, or something that will then split the power which I can then wire up to a USB cable for the Pi and same size plug to the LCD TV. In fact, I have two of these switching plugs, and I'm willing to sacrifice one to use from the breadboard into the LCD TV for the connector.