PDA

View Full Version : Need tips for VJ and techno music production hardware



freden
8th August 2012, 17:50
Hello everyone! I hope I am writing in the right section of the forum. I am into VJ and techno music production and have recently decided to go further and use amiga for my work. I have tried to figure out the most suitable tools the last days and concluded that i would be really glad to get hand on A1200 with blizzard 1260 (who wouldnt?).. This can of course get pricey, so before I do anything else I want to check with you clever guys if you can help me to make a decision, and also the possibility to buy these items.

On the other hand could it be possible to use a1200 with blizzard 1230 for my work or would it work really slow, it depends i can imagine, but if any of you have experience with this and some good tips it would be highly appreciated

Thanks :)

johnim
8th August 2012, 18:43
hi there is a shareware prog here but i dont have any info on it

http://www.audiovisualizers.com/toolshak/vj_progs/MNU3.LHA

Current status from MnuČ:
- A real interface ! (Read further for operating instructions)
- Displays lo-res ANIM3/5/7/8 and AGA animations. (Cybergraphics ???)
- Loads and saves effect presets.
- Keys on colour 0.
- Uses samplerinput to distort images.
- works fine on a Amiga 1200[/URL]

Please note:
- Best display mode is lo-res, for now.
- Both animations have to be the same size. (working on it)
- Not all the effects of MnuČ are implemented.
- a2000 owners might prefer MnuČ, the current palette functions aren't
compatible


also have a look a video tracker

[URL]http://amr.abime.net/issue_616_coverdisks (http://amr.abime.net/issue_616_coverdisks)

rkauer
9th August 2012, 00:36
If you are into VJ'ing with the Amiga and want to play old demos and techno music, a RAM expansion in the Amiga of your choice is enough, internally.

I will advice you to also have an external genlock with slide level control, so you can mix the Amiga video output with another video source and even creating basic video effects.

Nothing is more vexing than playing an awesome demo and then people see the Workbench OS screen after the play.:oops:

I will vouch for a "heavy" accelerator if you want to play last years demos that requires a 060 or want to play MP3 files from the Amiga. And only then.

freden
9th August 2012, 01:01
Thank you guys for being so helpfull!

Rkauer; so what you are saying that A1200 is enough for what i am going to do? Is music production (connecting and syncing drum machines and synths) also taken into account?

rkauer
9th August 2012, 02:32
Then you need another little add-on: a parallel MIDI interface. But you surely need more memory than the stock machine.

As a hint, trapdoor RAM and 020 accelerators have little difference in prices and both can add up to 8Mb of RAM to the system (you'll not be able to use the PCMCIA port if more than 4Mb is installed in one of those).

030 (and better CPU chips) accelerators that can have 16Mb or more RAM will not block the PCMCIA port, if you want to use it.

freden
9th August 2012, 06:15
OK nice. Btw do you know if this will work as an external genlock
?

johnim
9th August 2012, 07:19
yes as long as it has an external psu as some 1200 have no 12v on the rgb port

rkauer
10th August 2012, 04:44
@John & freden: most external genlock units can take the power from the video port (I know because I was kinda into video production in the early 90's). All external genlocks will work on any Amiga.

But the ones designed to be used only in the A1000, but then this is just because of mechanical reasons.

The RGB port of the wedge Amigas have 12V (little current available, but genlocks and external scandoublers got power from it).

Wedge Amigas lacks the -5V pin as the big Amigas have, instead they have -12V on the very same pin.

johnim
10th August 2012, 07:33
hi rkauer

thanks for the info
i was thinking about this as i had some problems before

revision 2B
the +12V is missing from the RGB port - genlocks work only with external power supplies
http://amiga.resource.cx/mod/a1200.html

rkauer
10th August 2012, 22:43
Then you have a blown resistor in the pin #22 that provides circa 10V (the 12V is constrained by the resistor and it breaks very often).

Here goes the pinout:
http://old.pinouts.ru/Video/AmigaVideo_pinout.shtml