PDA

View Full Version : Closed 32 mb 50ns 72 pin sim



NovaCoder
9th August 2012, 11:58
After one for my Apollo 1260.....

:)

Bamiga2002
9th August 2012, 12:04
Have 32mb even been made @50ns?

Zetr0
9th August 2012, 12:09
@NovaCoder

My friend, to help you with your question, another option might be available. You can source a 60ns 32MB SIMM, and then see if you can find 50ns compatible IC's to replace the memory modules with.


@Thread
I wont use the 'R' word, but I can say they are very uncommon, if you are lucky you can even get 40ns (I have only ever seen one of these in a server catalogue many MANY moons ago).


Interestingly the access speed is only half the equation, the real speed of the RAM, is whats called a "full trip" back to the beginning of the refresh again - such that 80ns RAM is actually closer to 160ns, 70ns RAM is obviously 140ns. Continuing down this trend, 50ns RAM has a full cycle time of 100ns.


Thats DRAM though, with SRAM you can commonly get 20ns or even as low as 5ns!!!!!!

NovaCoder
9th August 2012, 12:59
Hiya guys,

I've currently got 60ns (which I'm very happy with), I just wondered if anyone had a 50ns SIM they could part with :p

paul1981
12th August 2012, 18:51
Hiya guys,

I've currently got 60ns (which I'm very happy with), I just wondered if anyone had a 50ns SIM they could part with :p

I think 50ns is only needed when running at 100MHz. There won't be a speed benefit if you're not upping the frequency. You giving 100MHz a try (assuming this is for your 060 card)?

Jon Hare is selling some 50ns tested (confirm this with him), 128MB simms. You could buy one of those and it would show up as 32MB if Apollo1260, and 128MB if Blizzard1260.

Bamiga2002
16th August 2012, 13:50
I have one 50ns 128 SIMM Nova if you're interested.

piacc64
16th August 2012, 15:18
i have 2 simm 32 mega 50 on test on my apollo 1260

NovaCoder
27th August 2012, 07:57
Thanks guys, I wondered if a 128MB SIM was the go.

I'm only running at 80Mhz at the moment so it probably won't make any difference but if I do give 100Mhz a go then I'll need 50ns.

NovaCoder
29th August 2012, 00:30
I have one 50ns 128 SIMM Nova if you're interested.

Ok thanks Bamiga2002, Payment sent!

piacc64
29th August 2012, 08:37
the apollo dont support ram over 32 mega

Bamiga2002
30th August 2012, 14:52
SIMM sent to NovaCoder.

EDIT: what? Apollo don't support over 32mb? Is the simm not usable now?

piacc64
30th August 2012, 15:01
http://www.bboah.com/index.php?action=artikel&cat=9&id=1923&artlang=en&highlight=apollo

max ram: 32mega for socket

Bamiga2002
30th August 2012, 15:38
http://www.bboah.com/index.php?action=artikel&cat=9&id=1923&artlang=en&highlight=apollo

max ram: 32mega for socket
Yes but does it even use the 32mb portion of the simm or just refuse to work?

piacc64
30th August 2012, 19:30
i go to verify

stachu100
31st August 2012, 08:19
SIMM sent to NovaCoder.

EDIT: what? Apollo don't support over 32mb? Is the simm not usable now?

As far as I remember Apollo 1260 will simply not start if bigger SIMM is inserted. Tried once with 64MB - just black screen.

flip
31st August 2012, 08:32
SIMM sent to NovaCoder.

EDIT: what? Apollo don't support over 32mb? Is the simm not usable now?

As far as I remember Apollo 1260 will simply not start if bigger SIMM is inserted. Tried once with 64MB - just black screen.


+1

My A1200 with an Apollo 1240 doesn't start with a 64MB or 128MB stick...

Bamiga2002
31st August 2012, 11:31
I really hope that NovaCoder gets the simm working. Anyway sending feedback :)

Bamiga2002
7th September 2012, 17:13
Have you received the simm and tested it already Nova?

NovaCoder
12th September 2012, 03:01
Have you received the simm and tested it already Nova?

Yep got the SIMM, thanks Bamiga2002.

rkauer
12th September 2012, 03:49
Was the SIMM useful on the Apollo at all? I know both 128 & 32Mb SIMM sticks uses the same arrangement of pins, only the 128Mb have one extra pin connected.

It might work, only the leftover will not recognized at all. Might be waste of a good 128Mb stick, but if it works for you...

NovaCoder
12th September 2012, 07:56
Was the SIMM useful on the Apollo at all? I know both 128 & 32Mb SIMM sticks uses the same arrangement of pins, only the 128Mb have one extra pin connected.

It might work, only the leftover will not recognized at all. Might be waste of a good 128Mb stick, but if it works for you...

I haven't managed to give it a try yet, I'll let people know how I get on...


This thread should be marked as 'FOUND', thanks :)

Update: Nope won't physically fit in the Apollo (too long), will probably keep hold of it for when I get a Blizzard 1260 :)

Cim
19th September 2012, 21:18
PM sent.

NovaCoder
20th September 2012, 13:54
Payment sent to Cim, thanks buddy :)

Cim
20th September 2012, 21:50
SIMM sent to NovaCoder. Tracking number in PM.
@NovaCoder: np mate, hope you menage to break some speed records with this one ;)