PDA

View Full Version : Amiga 500 DH0: not a boot disk -cannot boot from floppy



diskers
11th August 2012, 21:48
Hi everyone,
I need help I have a GVP A500 HD+ and after a drive reformat I'm stuck. I thin that the GVP utilitiie assigne a too high boot priority and now i cannot boot from FDD and i get a not a dos disk on DH0. :double Is there a way to do something any help is very welcome.

Thanks for your help.
diskers

johnim
11th August 2012, 21:55
hi try booting off floppy boot disk\hold both mouse buttons down when booting, check boot priority

what do you get

diskers
11th August 2012, 22:07
DH0: priority 10
DF0: 5
DH1 to DH3 priority -10 and all ADOS
Gosh i've got 1.3 and 3.1 kicstarts ouuufffff :)

johnim
11th August 2012, 22:13
Normal for DF0 = 5, DF1 = -10, DF2 = -20, DF3 = -30, HDD = 0

set your HDD to 6 or higher so it wont boot from floppy,

so you need to lower the dh0 to 0



so when of boot selection screen click on df0 to boot and change it

diskers
11th August 2012, 22:18
I think that i will set it lower because I got a HxC Floppy unit that I need to boot from sometimes to change image files. So 0 will be ok and what about the other partitions (can they be -10 or it's better to change?).

johnim
11th August 2012, 22:22
have the other partitions been formated

diskers
11th August 2012, 22:34
Not yet

johnim
11th August 2012, 22:37
change dho then and see if it changes with other partitions

whats on dh0 now

what did you have on dh0 before formating 1.3 or 3.1

diskers
11th August 2012, 22:38
I've made 0 and the others are not changing automatically (maybe I will set them to -128 as not bootable?)

johnim
11th August 2012, 22:40
can you boot from floppy now too

diskers
11th August 2012, 23:28
Yes. Can I set DH1 to DH3 as -128 ir leave them at -10?

---------- Post added 12th August 2012 at 00:28 ---------- Previous post was 11th August 2012 at 23:41 ----------

Ok. Thank you a lot for your help :thumbsup: