PDA

View Full Version : Found A4000D Kickstart 3.1 (40.68) ROMs (no EPROMs)



Dragonheart
11th September 2012, 19:16
Looking for the real deal to replace the "fake" ROMs which came with my A4000D.

tlosm
11th September 2012, 21:11
Looking for the real deal to replace the "fake" ROMs which came with my A4000D.

My friend is selling all the amiga 4000 D and more components
hi have original branded amiga roms 3.1 40.70 if you need i can ask to him to make a photos of the roms

he ask for this roms 45 euros
Ps: pm me if interested and i will geve to you his email and his skype accounts
for speak directly with him

Dragonheart
11th September 2012, 21:24
Hi tlosm,

I'm looking for the 40.68 ROMs :(

But thanks for the offer.

tlosm
11th September 2012, 22:35
Hi tlosm,

I'm looking for the 40.68 ROMs :(

But thanks for the offer.

Sorry I make a mistake in write ... He have 40.68, I dont know why I wrote 40,70...tomorrow afternoon I will post here the photos ok the room couple..
ciao and sorry fo my stupid mistake

Luigi

bitcpy
12th September 2012, 19:54
As far as I know, the 40.68 ROM were for the A1200 and dont work properly, if at all, in a 4000D.

The 40.70 ROM is what you want for the 4000D.

I have a 4000D and just double checked mine and they are 40.70.

Just wanted to spare you buying the wrong ones.


Looking for the real deal to replace the "fake" ROMs which came with my A4000D.

merlinkv
12th September 2012, 20:17
Both A1200 & A4000D uses the KS 3.1 40.68 but they have different libraries, devices, ... inside.

The 40.70 if only fo the A4000T, is like the 40.68 for the A4000D but with the mobo scsi.device and wihtout the Workbench.library inside (you need an special WB 3.1 disks for the A4KT).

AndyLandy
12th September 2012, 20:53
Both A1200 & A4000D uses the KS 3.1 40.68 but they have different libraries, devices, ... inside.

The 40.70 if only fo the A4000T, is like the 40.68 for the A4000D but with the mobo scsi.device and wihtout the Workbench.library inside (you need an special WB 3.1 disks for the A4KT).

Exactly that. There are 40.068 versions for A1200 and A4000D (and indeed the A3000), and a 40.070 version for the A4000T.

You can use a 40.070 in an A4000D, but you'll need the A4000T Workbench 3.1 disk set, with workbench.library on it.

You can probably use the A4000D version 40.068 in an A4000T as well, but the on-board SCSI won't work.

You can't use a 40.068 for an A1200 or an A3000 though, there's too much different for them to be of any real use.

tlosm
12th September 2012, 21:04
Looking for the real deal to replace the "fake" ROMs which came with my A4000D.

Original Amiga 40.68

http://i1249.photobucket.com/albums/hh511/tlosm/2e9921cb.jpg

AndyLandy
12th September 2012, 21:09
Looking for the real deal to replace the "fake" ROMs which came with my A4000D.

Original Amiga 40.68

http://i1249.photobucket.com/albums/hh511/tlosm/2e9921cb.jpg

Yup, those are the right things!

:thumbsup:

Dragonheart
12th September 2012, 21:32
They came with stickers?
I expected something like... (those are for an A1200 though)

http://www.amiga-resistance.info/display_photos/roms31.jpg

TjLaZer
12th September 2012, 21:47
There are lots of "official" ROMs out there some from C=, some from ESCOM, some from VillageTronic. Yes some of them are EPROMs.

tlosm
12th September 2012, 21:52
They came with stickers?
I expected something like... (those are for an A1200 though)

http://www.amiga-resistance.info/display_photos/roms31.jpg

what i put was the original version come with os 3.1 in box made by village tronic under licenze of amiga tecnology

AndyLandy
12th September 2012, 21:55
The only 'printed' Kickstart 3.1 ROMs you'll ever find in the wild are 40.068 for the A1200 and 40.070 for the A4000T. Everything else will be a sticky label of some variety or other. Irritating, since it sometimes makes it difficult to work out whether a set is genuine or not.

J.T.Kirk
12th September 2012, 21:59
You can add the original ROMS for the A4000D as well.

AndyLandy
12th September 2012, 22:00
You can add the original ROMS for the A4000D as well.

But they'd only be 3.0 ROMs, not 3.1s...

J.T.Kirk
12th September 2012, 22:02
You can add the original ROMS for the A4000D as well.

But they'd only be 3.0 ROMs, not 3.1s...

No. I've bought them from AmigaKit and they're printed not with sticker, and they are 3.1 ROMs. :)

AndyLandy
12th September 2012, 22:06
You can add the original ROMS for the A4000D as well.

But they'd only be 3.0 ROMs, not 3.1s...

No. I've bought them from AmigaKit and they're printed not with sticker, and they are 3.1 ROMs. :)

In which case, I stand corrected. :thumbsup:

Anyway, we're rather derailing some poor chap's request to purchase some ROMs, so we should really get out of his thread.

:)

J.T.Kirk
12th September 2012, 22:08
You're right :run:

Dragonheart
12th September 2012, 22:19
Don't worry guys, it's rather interesting to learn about that and it might be of use for further reference, as almighty Google already crawled and archived this :lol:

Dragonheart
13th September 2012, 15:23
I've got an offer for "printed" ones from milo, hopefully he'll post in this thread so we have an "official" deal.

@tlosm: I am terribly sorry that I can't take your offer, but I'm sure that you (or your friend) can sell them easily elsewhere.

This can be changed to FOUND

AndyLandy
13th September 2012, 15:29
Marked as Found. Do let us know once the item arrives and you've left feedback, so that the thread can be closed.

:thumbsup:

milo
13th September 2012, 19:25
I have received the payment for the Kickroms and tomorrow i bring it to Post.

Dragonheart
17th September 2012, 13:06
ROMs received, fitted 'em and they work perfectly. Left my feedback.

---------- Post added at 12:06 ---------- Previous post was at 10:11 ----------

I've received feedback as well, looks like milo didn't post here.
Should be OK to close this.