Installing HxC questions

TroelsDK

AmiBayer
Country
Denmark
Region
Holbæk
I've put the 's' on 'cause there will probably be more questions later :)

But first..

I bought a boot selector with the intention to use the HxC floppy emulator as DF1 and internal drive as DF0... Would be nice to have a 500 with both!

The instructions from the boot selector say it should be the external floppy in the expansion port to be used as other drive, but would it be possible to make it the HxC? Could I desolder the expansion port and convert it to floppy cable? Hope this makes sense :blink:

Yes and yes. Set the HxC as DF1:

Do you mean that I can change the 23 pin external disk drive port to an internal 34 pin disk drive for the HxC and then set that internal DH1 via the boot selector?

Yes. Check this on Aminet (skip the hack to make the "drive" Amiga, as it already is).

OK thanks for your help so far, but I'm not that technical (total amateur):unsure:

This is what I can read from that file you are linking to:

PHP:
          Amiga Drive Port (DB23) - PC Drive BUS 34 Pins Connector
                                    Pins

2   30
                                  11   34
                                  13   32
                                  14   28
                                  15   26
                                  17   22
                                  18   20
                                  19   18
                                  22   8

Odd wires (1~33 on Drive BUS) are connected to ground at 3,5 and 7 pins on
  Amiga drive port connector.

Amiga Drive Port (DB23) - PC Drive PS 4 Pins Connector
                                    Pins

3,5,7   2,3   (GND)
                                  12   1     (+5V)
                                  23   4     (+12V)