PDA

View Full Version : PearPC emulator & AmigaOS4



woodycool
17th December 2009, 13:38
Hi all,

I've discovered a PPC emulator called PearPC
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PearPC

Apparently it's possible to run PPC based OSes on it. It's mostly aimed at MacOS but there's mention of running PPC Linux versions.

My question is ..... do you reckon it'd run AmigaOS 4.x?

Discuss!!!

keropi
17th December 2009, 13:44
it has been discussed in other forums in the past, shortest answer ever: NOPE :p

Justin
17th December 2009, 17:04
shorter answer NO

Merlin
17th December 2009, 17:05
shorter answer NO
@ Keropi

JuvUK's answer is shorter than your shortest ever answer; does that count as a record??

:lol:

AndyLandy
17th December 2009, 17:07
shorter answer NO
@ Keropi

JuvUK's answer is shorter than your shortest ever answer; does that count as a record??

:lol:

Does that count as a record? Answer: N

Merlin
17th December 2009, 17:12
/Merlin challenges JuvUK to come up with a shorter answer than "N"....
:mrgreen:

J.T.Kirk
17th December 2009, 17:14
n <- uses less pixels... :D

AndyLandy
17th December 2009, 17:15
n <- uses less pixels... :D
n uses even fewer. ;)

J.T.Kirk
17th December 2009, 17:16
Oh yeah? What about this?

. <- It's not a full stop, it's a super-shrinked "N". :p

AndyLandy
17th December 2009, 17:18
Oh yeah? What about this?

. <- It's not a full stop, it's a super-shrinked "N". :p

Fine:

<- It's actually the phrase "No way, Josť" but it's so tiny it's invisible.

J.T.Kirk
17th December 2009, 17:25
Haha... ok then... :thumbsup:

Justin
17th December 2009, 17:35
my previous post was silent, so no answer at all! i win!!! :D

AndyLandy
17th December 2009, 17:36
my previous post was silent, so no answer at all! i win!!! :D

Except now you've posted, thus losing. Sorry Juv!

woodycool
17th December 2009, 17:39
Any particular reason it's a no?
(just fancied like opening a can of worms)

Justin
17th December 2009, 17:45
my previous post was silent, so no answer at all! i win!!! :D

Except now you've posted, thus losing. Sorry Juv!


except i wrote, "my previous post" so na na na na naaaaaaa :p

keropi
17th December 2009, 18:43
don't be fools! I win because I say so.
<------ here look , orange fonts!!!

YEWAHAHAHAH! I win again!!!

http://img.fannation.com/upload/user_image/image/134/312/full/fGuyPetarded_v2_72.jpg

J.T.Kirk
17th December 2009, 19:08
Hahaha, not so fast pasok-boy. :cool:

keropi
17th December 2009, 19:35
what's the point of having power if you can't misuse it? (c)PASOK

arnljot
17th December 2009, 19:50
Any particular reason it's a no?
(just fancied like opening a can of worms)

To my knowledge MorphOS runs on PearPC for developers of the OS. But MorphOS is "dongled" to the hardware it's sold to, so :thumbsdown:

I reckon that if AOS4 developers test and develop with PearPC, running it out in the wild is also prevended since the OS is also dongled to hardware...

woodycool
17th December 2009, 19:52
Any particular reason it's a no?
(just fancied like opening a can of worms)

To my knowledge MorphOS runs on PearPC for developers of the OS. But MorphOS is "dongled" to the hardware it's sold to, so :thumbsdown:

I reckon that if AOS4 developers test and develop with PearPC, running it out in the wild is also prevended since the OS is also dongled to hardware...
I see
Ah well, it was a good thought (while it lasted)

jvdbossc
17th December 2009, 21:10
Did some test, still believe it runs on mini mac, found some guides to make it work, but never came around in opening the mini mac:whistle: Uptill know all gathered information turned out ok.

You get the welcome screen garbeld, unreadable, but you can clearly move mouse, there is a fix, but still need to test it. I can feel it, looking at loading times, screen switches etc it is not a hoax.

You could even have the mac boot it default, there is a manual about open boot, and the morphos manual gives a way the commands too (multiboot morphos)

I am not in need to prove it to you guys, reactions are alway's childish on this kind of topic on other forums.

Pearpc is an old and incomplete product.. If it even can run mac os x in a proper way, how will it run Amiga os 4?

The thing is, when you get it working there will be probably some buts, wich might spoil the experience I know a couple for expample, it will run from the apple partition, no network, no full support..

Wondering it is worthwile all the bother

J.T.Kirk
17th December 2009, 23:09
what's the point of having power if you can't misuse it? (c)PASOK

:ROTFLOL2:

jvdbossc
18th December 2009, 00:52
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/El_Torito_%28CD-ROM_standard%29

this standart is not supported by mac, properly, it gives some problems to my previous posts

Harrison
23rd December 2009, 10:08
I've been using PearPC to emulate PPC Macs for some time, and it does run Mac OSX 10.4 perfectly. So I'm sure if someone had enough time on their hands they could get Amiga OS 4 to work. But I doubt it will ever happen.

Has it actually been confirmed that MorphOS will run on PearPC?

arnljot
23rd December 2009, 10:15
Has it actually been confirmed that MorphOS will run on PearPC?

I think it was piru who once showed a screenshot

Harrison
23rd December 2009, 11:55
Screenshots can be faked though. Would need some video evidence and a guide to getting it running for real proof. Would love to try that myself.

Justin
23rd December 2009, 11:58
video can be faked too!, show screen running what you want to see with the supposed machine in shot, while the actual machine running the program is under the desk

arnljot
26th December 2009, 12:19
As Piru is one of the MorphOS developers I don't think he has much reason to fake anything.

The last thing I'd expect him to give on MorphOS or Rouge on OS4 is a guide to run the OS' under vitualization. They want to sell it for use with hardware.

A user mentioned on either a.org or aw.net that OS4 runs under Quemu, but the source was the disreputed ACK guy.

EDIT:

Bloodline and Piru discussing MorphOS on Quemu @amiga.org (http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthread.php?t=40731&highlight=pearpc)
A meaningless qemu screenshot by Piru (http://bigfoot.morphos-team.net/test/qemu.png)
Piru telling people no qemu MorphOS in the wild (http://www.amiga.org/forums/showpost.php?p=441359&postcount=19)
While looking for more qemu stuff, I found this fun statement by Rouge (http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=11622&forum=8#155921)

RedDaemonFox
26th December 2009, 19:20
Lets just close this topic. The answer is no, so its no use arguing