PDA

View Full Version : Request Apollo 1230 Turbo (SCSI onboard)



ElectroBlaster
7th February 2013, 23:01
I need somebody to have a look at an Apollo 030 I have here please.

It sits on a black screen whilst in an 1D.1 a1200.
It will sometimes do nothing, Other times it will cause the 1200 to "Beep" once, something is trying to happen but fails with a black screen.

One of the simm sockets has a broken tab
The Rom socket is a bit rougth
The Rom chip looks a big mangled up, I pulled and tried to tidy it a bit.
The Mach chip socket is a bit rougth aswell and the mach chip looks like it was pulled with screwdrivers?
Battery appears to have gone bad but there is not much corrosion

I really do not know what I am doing so I need somebody with the skills to have a nose.

Thanx :)

roy_bates
7th February 2013, 23:06
got any nice pics?

ElectroBlaster
7th February 2013, 23:17
Not as yet but I will try and get some up close macro shots.

roy_bates
7th February 2013, 23:24
has the card ever worked? etc you got it like this?

when you say the rom a bit mangled,do you mean the bootrom on the card itself the eprom and does it still have the sticky label on it.

sorry for the questions:)

mjnurney
7th February 2013, 23:25
Give me a shout if you need me to take a look

Mike :-)

ElectroBlaster
7th February 2013, 23:58
has the card ever worked? etc you got it like this?

when you say the rom a bit mangled,do you mean the bootrom on the card itself the eprom and does it still have the sticky label on it.

sorry for the questions:)

No worries on the questions! The more the better:

I acquired it in this state. The rom, well it looks like it was treated rough! slightly bent legs etc, not inserted very well. Label is still present on the top. Socket is rougth to say the least, could do with having a new one if that is possible or not...

---------- Post added at 23:58 ---------- Previous post was at 23:58 ----------


Give me a shout if you need me to take a look

Mike :-)

Thanx :)

ElectroBlaster
28th February 2013, 00:32
Sorry guys I have tried not to forget things but I have :(

I have done some pictures and will get them uploaded asap!

roy_bates
28th February 2013, 08:51
no worrys,where still here and waiting:lol:


yes it is possible to replace the socket,its just pin strips as far as know.

ElectroBlaster
28th February 2013, 21:38
I need a decent place to upload these pictures... any recommendations?

I did find a good a while back but cannot remember the name :(

roy_bates
28th February 2013, 21:44
imageshack?

ElectroBlaster
28th February 2013, 21:49
Imageshack is ok but I have had issues with targetted advertising. I found one where you can upload many pictures at once but can I find it now! Typical lol.

roy_bates
28th February 2013, 21:52
why dont you upload them to your albums here on this very site.

and just copy and paste them into the thread.

ElectroBlaster
28th February 2013, 22:16
Thanks :) I did not realise I could have photo albums here :D

So here we go guys:

http://www.amibay.com/picture.php?albumid=287&pictureid=2491

http://www.amibay.com/picture.php?albumid=287&pictureid=2492

http://www.amibay.com/picture.php?albumid=287&pictureid=2493

http://www.amibay.com/picture.php?albumid=287&pictureid=2494

http://www.amibay.com/picture.php?albumid=287&pictureid=2495

http://www.amibay.com/picture.php?albumid=287&pictureid=2496

http://www.amibay.com/picture.php?albumid=287&pictureid=2497

http://www.amibay.com/picture.php?albumid=287&pictureid=2498

http://www.amibay.com/picture.php?albumid=287&pictureid=2499

http://www.amibay.com/picture.php?albumid=287&pictureid=2500

Hopefully these will shed a little light on this old Apollo! I am not too happy with how the pictures came out as I used my daughters camera. I have a Bridge SLR that I really should use for this stuff.

:)

roy_bates
28th February 2013, 22:20
ok,can you send it to me?

just send me a pm and i'll send you my address for postage,is that ok?

ElectroBlaster
28th February 2013, 22:26
Can do.

Got a few more piccys here:

http://www.amibay.com/picture.php?albumid=288&pictureid=2501

http://www.amibay.com/picture.php?albumid=288&pictureid=2502

http://www.amibay.com/picture.php?albumid=288&pictureid=2503

http://www.amibay.com/picture.php?albumid=288&pictureid=2504

http://www.amibay.com/picture.php?albumid=288&pictureid=2505

Do you think she is saveable? The battery is toast! I took the white cap cover off and it is covered in crud. There seems to be what appears to be flux damage? almost like flux was left on the underside near both ram sockets... I attempted to clean some off but decided "No this is a bad move" and left it!

I will send a pm :)

roy_bates
28th February 2013, 22:30
i think its worth a shot,just dont plug it in and turn it on.

i would need to have a very close look at some points of the card.

but i do think its worth it.