PDA

View Full Version : Amiga Repair Guru wanted....



noxenlux
27th December 2009, 21:36
I have an RCS Management: X-Calibur that needs some repair, if it can be repaired. There appear to be some missing pins on the cpu socket, however I do not know if that is the only issue. I got this from a nice older fellow w/ a bunch of other amiga stuff. Including the broken down a4kt that is on my list of things to repair.

I am including some pics of the X-calibur, also I dont have a lot of cash but I do have a retina V1.1 and an emplant card that I wouldnt mind parting with.


Shawn.

chain
27th December 2009, 22:36
those pins are easy, shame its across ocean as i can do it, even for beer

hope you will find some mastah fluxer locally :thumbsup:

RedDaemonFox
27th December 2009, 23:29
Hey, just encountered this post and I was wondering, if you find a fix for your Xcalibur and you happen to still have the retina, I'll buy it. You have a PM

arnljot
27th December 2009, 23:42
What kind of emplant card is (interest is piqued...)

rkauer
27th December 2009, 23:52
Those nine broken pins are easy to replace. Look for a local TV repair shop (but not that neighbour of yours!).

I bet the repair job will not cost much to you.

BTW: congratulations! An Excalibur is a very rare beast. You have my envy, sir!:bowdown:

arnljot
27th December 2009, 23:56
I've always wanted an emplant card with the 586 module. If this card is right, and the price is right (if it is for sale at all!), I'd be looking for the emplant 586 module

noxenlux
28th December 2009, 02:56
I've always wanted an emplant card with the 586 module. If this card is right, and the price is right (if it is for sale at all!), I'd be looking for the emplant 586 module

I will post pics of the emplant card. But as the box tells me it is. Rev 1.5


Those nine broken pins are easy to replace. Look for a local TV repair shop (but not that neighbour of yours!).


I bet the repair job will not cost much to you.

BTW: congratulations! An Excalibur is a very rare beast. You have my envy, sir!:bowdown:

thanks rkauer I will look into the tvshop... Not something I would have thought of myself.

MagerValp
28th December 2009, 08:51
Check with Jeri Ellsworth, she's in Portland and has the necessary skills, and might be able to recommend a place if she's not interested.

desiv
28th December 2009, 22:22
Check with Jeri Ellsworth, she's in Portland and has the necessary skills, and might be able to recommend a place if she's not interested.

Yes, we have "that neighbor", but we also have Jeri...

Pacific Northwest WINS!!!

;)

I'd offer to help, but it's out of my ability range, and the only guy I know who's good at that level of soldering can be a bit of a ... hmmm...

how to put it....

He's very good and he knows it, so I rarely deal with him, except we work in the same building. :-) I'm sure we all know people like that...

I'll ask around tho to see if I can find someone I would recommend. :D

desiv
(I work down in Salem..)

noxenlux
28th December 2009, 23:19
Thanks Desiv

arnljot
28th December 2009, 23:27
@noxenlux

Do you have RAM for the emplant card?

noxenlux
28th December 2009, 23:34
I do not, though I dont ever really plan on using it (the emplant). I got it as a part of a purchase that had quite a bit of stuff, and am finally getting around to sorting through most of it.

arnljot
29th December 2009, 00:35
PM'ing about the emplant

arnljot
29th December 2009, 16:47
Intrest in Emplant withdrawn, the e586 emulation feature of the Emplant is a software solution it seems.

Seems like I'll have to look for a Golden Gate then...

Kin Hell
29th December 2009, 16:58
I remember travelling from Gloucetershire to Kent to meet up with a Guy who ran an Emplant card in his A4KD. I was selling him a Midi-Keyboard. He used the card for Macintosh Emulation & had no intention of ever running 586 platform. Getting the Mac side of it running was a total biatch, but at least he had a Mac desktop when I left at midnight. He had the SCSI version which was a real headache under those early Mac Days.

Blittersoft in Milton Keynes, UK were the guys fronting this card at the time of it's launch & it was suppose to be a card that could Emulate any platform. Unfortunately with the demise of the Big C=, this card never got the support it perhaps deserved. Essentially, this card was suppose to be able to emulate any platform at a time when the Pee Cee couldn't even manage itself properly.

The real beauty of this card was it ran the Mac OS faster than the fastest real Mac's could in it's day. :nod:

Kin

Bootay
29th December 2009, 17:25
noxenlux:

I know of a fantastic repair person for Amiga if you are still interested. The only problem is he lives in New Zealand.

I sent him my A4000 motherboard though and I live in the US. The mouse port stopped working and one of the ram slots too due to battery leakage. He fixed it all up and replaced the battery and also upgraded me from 3.0 roms to 3.1 roms. It wasn't that expensive either. But anyhow I will PM you his information and you can email him and get pricing and see if it is worth it to you.

noxenlux
29th December 2009, 17:59
noxenlux:

I know of a fantastic repair person for Amiga if you are still interested. The only problem is he lives in New Zealand.

I sent him my A4000 motherboard though and I live in the US. The mouse port stopped working and one of the ram slots too due to battery leakage. He fixed it all up and replaced the battery and also upgraded me from 3.0 roms to 3.1 roms. It wasn't that expensive either. But anyhow I will PM you his information and you can email him and get pricing and see if it is worth it to you.

thank you.

SkydivinGirl
29th December 2009, 18:32
I had an Emplant in my A4KD in 1993. It actually ran much better than I expected and I was even able to play the Mac version Star Wars: Rebel Assault on my Amiga! I never really used it that much though.

Take care,

Heather

rkauer
29th December 2009, 20:27
I think Shape Shifter (the emulator) was faster than a real Mac, too.

At least I used it that way and the emulator was faster than an equivalent Mac (030 Quadra?). That on my long gone A1200 GVP 030 + 16Mb Fast. Ahh, those where the days...

Kin Hell
30th December 2009, 03:00
The guy in New Zealand is Anthony Hoffman & he is on AmiBay in our "ServiceBay/Hardware section" here: (http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=1077) <--- linky.

Kin

noxenlux
30th December 2009, 03:06
thanks kin, I was given his email, earlier and am eagerly awaiting a reply.

Kin Hell
30th December 2009, 03:38
He's really good m8 & fairly priced too. Dunno about the shipping costs, but then you will need a good sturdy & well packed box for the journey.

Wishing you really good luck with this. I think you deserve it. :thumbsup:

Kin

RedDaemonFox
30th December 2009, 04:01
He's really good m8 & fairly priced too. Dunno about the shipping costs, but then you will need a good sturdy & well packed box for the journey.

Wishing you really good luck with this. I think you deserve it. :thumbsup:

Kin

Plus an ESD bag

Bootay
30th December 2009, 17:37
Kin:

Yea I gave him Anthony Hoffman's email. He is really good. And he is really good about keeping you up to date via email. When he did the work on my A4000 he let me know every problem that he found and quoted me a price on each thing. He also helped me with figuring out how to ship it to him as I had never shipped anything overseas before. All in all a great experience.

Larry_Laffer
1st February 2018, 00:30
I’ll also vouch for Anthony Hoffman (NZ), he is excellent and his prices are very competitive. I am from Australia and had two Amiga 600 boards serviced recently, not only did he do an excellent job in repairing them, but kept me informed every step of the way via email.
There are not many people who service our beloved Amigas in the Southern Hemisphere so I’m glad Anthony is around!
All in all a very good experience, so much so, that I am now sending him my Amiga 1200 board for a full service.