PDA

View Full Version : Found El-Cheapo A1200 8MB Ram Expansion



TheCorfiot
12th January 2010, 19:17
Hi Everyone

If anyone has an old battered A1200 8MB RAM expansion they wouldn't mind parting with you would make TC a very happy bunny.

El-Cheapo Brand preferred :mrgreen:

Not concerned about FPU or whether the RTC is working or not, SIMM socketed versions can be without the SIMM as I have a few 8MB 72pin SIMMS lying about...

Thanks Guy's n Girls

TC :)

arnljot
12th January 2010, 23:23
PM sent

---------- Post added at 00:23 ---------- Previous post was at 00:13 ----------

BTW, it's a DKB1202 which is his for the price of postage if I test it to be working. Forgot to mention what card it is in PM

TheCorfiot
23rd January 2010, 15:14
Hey arnljot my friend

Any news on the DKB :)

Thanks
TC :thumbsup:

arnljot
24th January 2010, 00:47
I am planning to test it this sunday :-)

arnljot
24th January 2010, 15:02
Yes it works.

You need to PM me your address.

My plain A1200 with a clean OS3.1 install, SysInfo reports 1.05 A1200 speed without the card. I tested it with 8MB RAM, then SysInfo reports 1.37 A1200 speed.

I'm glad it can go to a good home.

TheCorfiot
24th January 2010, 16:52
Details PM'd

Many Thanks my friend, it is much appreciated.

Can I use a single 8MB 72pin SIMM with the card as I have plenty of those spare.

OR do I need to find 2x 4MB 72pin SIMM's as I don't currently have any of them.

Cheers arnljot, you are a real Gentleman.

TC :thumbsup:

arnljot
24th January 2010, 16:58
You'll need 2x4MB I think, at least that's what I tested it with.

I can include SIMMs, but then I need another day to test and sort out SIMMs.

TheCorfiot
24th January 2010, 17:06
Hi arnljot

Looking at the BBoAH, it does look like it has to be 2x 4MB SIMMS indeed :Doh:

If you do have the 2 SIMMS the card needs and could spare them I would be extremly greatfull. Take your time however as there is no rush. and you must let me give you something for them...

Best Regards

TC :)

arnljot
24th January 2010, 17:11
I have lots of SIMMs lying around 2MBs, 4MBs, 16MBs and 32MBs. I know I have promised a 2MB to someone here, but can't recall who :-( My brain has been whiped blank by stress and time.

But now when I'm on top again I could sort this out.

Re giving something for this, it's no stress. I have no clue as to what's this is worth, and no forum where to ask ;-P :lol:

Also I have only two Amiga1200s, and only two Blizzard 030mkIV so I think I'm good, both in terms of RAM and A1200 CPU power. So I can certainly count this DKB with RAM a spare ;-)

Zetr0
24th January 2010, 18:38
Hi arnljot

Looking at the BBoAH, it does look like it has to be 2x 4MB SIMMS indeed :Doh:

If you do have the 2 SIMMS the card needs and could spare them I would be extremly greatfull. Take your time however as there is no rush. and you must let me give you something for them...

Best Regards

TC :)

Dont worry m8,

the box I am sending you on Tuesday has plenty-o-4mb ram - or will do in about 5 minutes.

arnljot
24th January 2010, 20:07
Cor, let me know what you prefere. It'll save a day if I can get the box out the door tomo.

---------- Post added at 21:07 ---------- Previous post was at 20:45 ----------

EDIT:

Some links on the card:
Cammy reccomends it:
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=626999&postcount=3

rkauer and keropi asks for MagicMem a program that works with the card, papa november obliges:
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=467533&postcount=4

I think Sandman doesn't get it, he says he has 2 + 8 + 2, and is happy that it adds up to 10... shouldn't it be 12?:
http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthread.php?t=40438

keropi got help on eab:
http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthread.php?t=33692

arnljot
25th January 2010, 11:43
DKB1202 is sent!

TheCorfiot
25th January 2010, 17:56
Cheer's arnljot.

I've sent the postage costs by Paypal

Much appreciated my good friend and I look forward to receiving the card

Best Wishes
TC :)

TheCorfiot
28th January 2010, 18:22
@arnljot

Picked the card up today, Royal Fail attempted delivery yesterday :huh:

Boy that was quick considering the distance.

Anyway card looks like new and it was very well packed..

I thank you very much again my friend & await Zetr0's 4MB SIMMS so I can get it up & running...

Feedback left for you :thumbsup:

Best Wishes
TC :)

arnljot
28th January 2010, 19:00
Wow that was fast.

Hehe, unregistered letter seems to be the sweet spot for Royal Fail :-D

Positive feedback left for TC.

The thread has served it's purpose?

rkauer
28th January 2010, 19:18
If both of you guys left feedback to each other, yes.