PDA

View Full Version : Found Intel Socket 478 CPU



TheCorfiot
13th February 2010, 11:49
Hi all

My trusty MediaCentre is currently fitted with an old P4 2.66GHz CPU & it's beginning to show it's age. I would like to replace the chip if possible.

The mini XPC Mobo is based on the SpringDale chipset and can take 800Mhz FSB CPU's, ideally I would like a Socket 478 CPU with 64bit extentions in order to run x64 OS (If it exists :nuts:)


If anyone wishes to trade or simply wants, I have a 775 Intel P4 3.06GHz/1M/533/04A, untested however as I don't have a suitable Mobo...

Of Course pending a successful upgrade I will be releasing the old CPU back into the wild!!

TC :)

AndyLandy
13th February 2010, 11:56
I've got a couple of 2.8GHz P4s kicking around. I'll double-check the FSB rating on them. I doubt they have 64-bit extensions, though.

Justin
13th February 2010, 12:13
yo TC, i am also an avid fan of the media centre, through personal experience i would reccomend that if you are going to upgrade them maybe think about blu-ray, to play it smoothly you'll need a dual core, at least an 8 series gpu or equivalent, 2gig and PowerDVD ultra is the best playback software, a sony blu-ray drive will set you back 50 maybe less so it may be doing while you're at it, i have a Gigabyte GA-K8NSC-939 mobo just kicking around here which you can have for 0 if you want it (it will take a dual core athlon which will be more than enough for a media centre


cheers, JuvUK

TheCorfiot
13th February 2010, 14:08
Hi Juvvy

Thanks for the kind offer my friend. My Media Centre is based on the old XPC Shuttle Box so changing the Mobo is out of the question & tbh streaming media is all I'm after.
For BluRay I use my PS 3 :p

The 2.66 proc is overclocked to 2.8GHz anyway but I'm looking for a bit more oomph just by dropping in a new CPU, maybe the move to 800MHz FSB may help too and certainly 64bit capability for a x64 OS.
Truth be told I don't even know if 478 P4's had 64bit capability just waiting for a PC expert to put me right.:oops:

Cheer's again

TC :)

Justin
13th February 2010, 15:11
Hi Juvvy

Thanks for the kind offer my friend. My Media Centre is based on the old XPC Shuttle Box so changing the Mobo is out of the question & tbh streaming media is all I'm after.
For BluRay I use my PS 3 :p

The 2.66 proc is overclocked to 2.8GHz anyway but I'm looking for a bit more oomph just by dropping in a new CPU, maybe the move to 800MHz FSB may help too and certainly 64bit capability for a x64 OS.
Truth be told I don't even know if 478 P4's had 64bit capability just waiting for a PC expert to put me right.:oops:

Cheer's again

TC :)

no worries m8y, and yep a p4 will run 64bit nah bovvers :thumbsup:

AndyLandy
13th February 2010, 17:18
Hi Juvvy

Thanks for the kind offer my friend. My Media Centre is based on the old XPC Shuttle Box so changing the Mobo is out of the question & tbh streaming media is all I'm after.
For BluRay I use my PS 3 :p

The 2.66 proc is overclocked to 2.8GHz anyway but I'm looking for a bit more oomph just by dropping in a new CPU, maybe the move to 800MHz FSB may help too and certainly 64bit capability for a x64 OS.
Truth be told I don't even know if 478 P4's had 64bit capability just waiting for a PC expert to put me right.:oops:

Cheer's again

TC :)

no worries m8y, and yep a p4 will run 64bit nah bovvers :thumbsup:

Really? I've never heard of any 64-bit P4s. Even the first Intel Core CPUs were only 32-bit.

@TheCorfiot Sorry fella, my P4s are a 1.8GHz and a 2.4GHz, both with 400MHz bus, so totally useless to you. I could've sworn they were 2.8s. Alas. :-(

Justin
13th February 2010, 17:26
Intel has finally lauched its 64-bit Pentium 4 processors, competing face-to-face to AMD's Athlon 64. The following models were released: 630 (3 GHz), 640 (3.2 GHz), 650 (3.4 GHz), 660 (3.6 GHz) and 670 (3.8 GHz). The main features of these new processors are the following:

64-bit extensions (EM64T)
Socket 775
800 MHz external bus (200 MHz x 4)
Hyper-Threading Technology (http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/105#)
SpeedStep Technology
XD (eXecute Disable) Technology
L1 memory cache of 16 KB for data (http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/105#) and 150 KB for instructions
L2 memory cache of 2 MB

AndyLandy
13th February 2010, 17:46
Ahh, Socket 775. I was looking specifically for Socket 478 + EM64T. I don't think those exist. I'd be happy to be proven wrong though :-)

Merlin
13th February 2010, 17:53
I have a Socket 478 2.8Ghz 800FSB CPU here, that's being fitted to a Fujitsu Siemens PC that has RIMMs via a Socket 423 adapter; as far as I know they were only 32-bit.

Justin
13th February 2010, 18:15
yep sorry there are rumours of late prescott 478 p4's having i64 support but it looks like they were released to developers only, so nope no 64 bit support on the 478 p4s

rkauer
13th February 2010, 21:16
I have a 478pin P4-HT 3.02GHz here, and it is HT enabled. So it have (a few) 64bit instructions. But I can tell you the CPU is buggy when using 64bit extensions.:banghead:

Kin Hell
17th February 2010, 03:39
@ Baz

3.2Ghz was the fastest Skt 478 ever went with the Prescott. Another 400Mhz is not going to give you much more over what you have at 2.8 now. You're also limited to AGP for graphics & the best you can throw in there is an ATI 3850. At best, you should be able to do DVD's via this, but forget BluRay with that CPU. Juzzer is right suggesting a DUO here. :thumbsup:

Kin

Zetr0
17th February 2010, 03:47
@Kinnie

you can get an ATI 4650 8x AGP (1GB DDR2)

Sapphire Radeon 1GB DRR2 HD 4650 Graphic Card 8X AGP(Click here for eBay.co.uk BIN) 77.00 (free postage) (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Sapphire-Radeon-1GB-DRR2-HD-4650-Graphic-Card-8X-AGP_W0QQitemZ290403138888QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_Computing_Computer_Components_Graphics_Video_TV_Cards_TW?hash=item439d603d48)
http://i.ebayimg.com/13/!BcC5t9w!2k~$(KGrHqIH-DYEqtnGT!pgBKyzV4QUN!~~_12.JPG

A very plesent card, for a very pleasent price me thinks

Kin Hell
17th February 2010, 03:57
Thanks for the heads-up Zeets. It's been a while since I was dabbling with this old0r technology.

Anyways, I had a look around this morning & found this much faster ATI 4670 BARGIN (http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/1GB-HiS-HD-4670-IceQ-AGP-8x-128-Bit-1746MHz-GDDR3-GPU-750MHz-320-Cores-DL-DVI-I-D-Sub-HDMI) over @ Scan Computers in the UK. 'Tis only a Fiver more too. :cool:

You might just get away with a 3.0Ghz PIV & this card to do BluRay from your Media Centre. I definitely suggest 2GB of Ram if your Shuttle will take it & be sure to run an Optimised Swap File if you can.

Kin

Kin Hell
31st August 2010, 23:28
Can I ask why this thread is showing as a "New Unread Post" when nobody else posted since I posted last in February?? :shrug:

I cleared 1576 unread posts only yesterday for being off the site for 4 days whilst at work.

Summat aint right here or my cookie cache is borked! - What gives Devs?

Kin

*edit* Holy crap...If I click on a Wanted item of Unread Posts, it's listing 25 pages right back to November 2009. :blink:

TheCorfiot
31st August 2010, 23:39
Bugger

And there's me thinking someone had a CPU for me :Doh:

Think you got a cache / cookie problem matey...

TC ;)

Merlin
31st August 2010, 23:40
@ TC

Could your board support an 800Mhz FSB socket 478 P4? If so, I know that I have one around here.

TheCorfiot
31st August 2010, 23:42
@ TC

Could your board support an 800Mhz FSB socket 478 P4? If so, I know that I have one around here.

It can indeed matey, whats the Clock frequency :D

Thanks too Kinnie :thumbsup:

Kin Hell
31st August 2010, 23:44
Soz TC, but at least it re-Kin-dled an old thread for ya. :lol:

I have started a thread called Erm.... (http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=8945) in the Feedback section. ;)

Kin

Merlin
31st August 2010, 23:53
@ TC

Could your board support an 800Mhz FSB socket 478 P4? If so, I know that I have one around here.

It can indeed matey, whats the Clock frequency :D

Thanks too Kinnie :thumbsup:

I think it's a 3Ghz jobbie, but I need to find it in the graveyard first.... I'll dig it out tomorrow night.

TheCorfiot
1st September 2010, 00:02
That would be cool Merly :thumbsup:

Mine's currently a 2.6GHz at 533MHz Bus, so it should be a good boost.

No rush though mate, I've a feeling I will be on the beg for some 1541 bits too soon. :lol:

Cheers
TC :cool:

rkauer
1st September 2010, 05:13
If Merls can find another one I might be interested! <-Yes, that's vulturing! :p

Merlin
1st September 2010, 19:50
That would be cool Merly :thumbsup:

Mine's currently a 2.6GHz at 533MHz Bus, so it should be a good boost.

No rush though mate, I've a feeling I will be on the beg for some 1541 bits too soon. :lol:

Cheers
TC :cool:

Found it; it's a 2.8Ghz, 800FSB, 512k cache SL6WJ model. It should still be a healthy speed boost though.

Yours if you confirm you want it.

TheCorfiot
1st September 2010, 22:19
Yes Please mate :thumbsup:

I shall send you the 775 Intel P4 3.06GHz/1M/533/04A as a swap my friend

TC :)

AmiNeo
2nd September 2010, 00:17
Hi all

My trusty MediaCentre is currently fitted with an old P4 2.66GHz CPU & it's beginning to show it's age. I would like to replace the chip if possible.

The mini XPC Mobo is based on the SpringDale chipset and can take 800Mhz FSB CPU's, ideally I would like a Socket 478 CPU with 64bit extentions in order to run x64 OS (If it exists :nuts:)


If anyone wishes to trade or simply wants, I have a 775 Intel P4 3.06GHz/1M/533/04A, untested however as I don't have a suitable Mobo...

Of Course pending a successful upgrade I will be releasing the old CPU back into the wild!!

TC :)


Just a heads up, I haven't read the whole thread but to the best of my knowledge none of the 478 P4s were ever 64bit capable. Willamette and Northwood cores definately weren't.

I'm pretty sure that only the 775 prescott 'F' series had 64-bit extensions.

(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pentium_4#Willamette)

rkauer
2nd September 2010, 04:47
Nope, later Prescott series (3.04GHz onwards) have HT capabilities.

AmiNeo
2nd September 2010, 07:24
Hyper Threading is pretty much a virtual core not 64 bit architecture. How does this help?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Intel_Pentium_4_microprocessors

rkauer
2nd September 2010, 09:29
You are right. I confess that x86 is not my cuppa...

Remember: life begins at 68x...;)

Merlin
2nd September 2010, 10:57
There were some P4s that had HT and EMT extensions to the instruction set and I think rkauer is right that they were Prescott cores.

TBH, I think that bus speed increase will have more impact on TC's machine than anything else. I reckon he's going to see 20% or so improvement in speed at least.

TheCorfiot
12th September 2010, 12:15
Processor received & fitted, Many Thanks Merly :bowdown:

The DIMMS are already DDR400 so now it's running on the Full FSB available under the i865 chipset & hyper threading thrown into the bargain.

I'm surprised how much more responsive & slicker the system is...

Defnitely Worthwhile...

Feedback left

TC :cool: