PDA

View Full Version : Found SCSI hard disk drive >40GB for my A4000D



J.T.Kirk
24th February 2010, 16:29
I'm searching for a SCSI hard disk drive for my A4000D. It's better to be more than 40GB.

Kin Hell
24th February 2010, 16:32
I'm searching for a SCSI hard disk drive for my A4000D. It's better to be more than 40GB.

Why? You'd be hard pushed to fill it m8.

Also, you're better off with say 2 x 20GB hard drives or more. File operations are much quicker accross SCSI Drives than from one partition to another on the same drive. One Drive is reading whilst the other writes using Fast Ram as a buffer. :thumbsup:

Be sure you have a hefty PSU when using multiple Hard drives though. ;)

Kin

J.T.Kirk
24th February 2010, 16:36
That's exactly my problem Kinny. The PSU. Where I can find a more powerful one which I can put it inside my desktop?:unsure:

It's better to create a new thread I think.

Kin Hell
24th February 2010, 16:41
Did you check with Zetr0 as I said on another thread elsewhere?

I sent him an A4KD PSU housing with a 300W ATX PCB chucked in it. I don't know what Zetr0 was gunnno do with it as it needed finishing off. I retired from Big Box Amiga's with the sale of 3 x CS PPC cards last year.

A couple of 9GB SCSI drives in your A4KD would suffice tbh & unless you have SCSI III, leave the 10Krpm+ drives alone. Their power draw is far greater than 7200RPM devices & it all happens on the Spin up. ;)

Kin

AndyLandy
24th February 2010, 16:43
You looking for something for a CSPPC? I might have a spare 18GB disk that'll go with that. Will let you know.

J.T.Kirk
24th February 2010, 16:48
Yes, for my CSPPC. Well, thanks Andy for one more time.:thumbsup:

If you can find something more (in capacity)... u know... :D

@ Kinny

I don't know. Do I have to ask Zetr0 for such stuff? Does he make them on his own?

Kin Hell
24th February 2010, 17:02
Sometimes Phantom, I wonder if the lights are on but no one is at home! :p

Read Slowly & digest m8:

I sent an A4KD PSU housing to Zetr0 with a 300W ATX PCB thrown into it. It was an unfinished project of mine that required finishing. He had no plans with it afaik, so why don't you PM him about it and ask him if he wants to sell it?

Penny dopped now? :lol:

Kin

J.T.Kirk
24th February 2010, 17:04
Now you spoke loud and clear. :p

I'll pm him.

Kin Hell
24th February 2010, 17:04
:Doh: ....Meh!

Soooo funny! :lol:

Kin

J.T.Kirk
27th February 2010, 12:51
Andy, any news about the SCSI HD m8?:)

AndyLandy
27th February 2010, 13:06
I've definitely got some 9GB and 18GB disks around the place. There might be a spare 36GB, but I doubt it. I'll get back to you on Monday, since all this stuff is at work.

J.T.Kirk
27th February 2010, 13:07
Ok my friend, I appreciate your info. :)

parcival
1st March 2010, 19:37
I've got a spare 50G and a 70G drive lying about, they're 80pin internal drive. Also have an internal 80->50 and an internal 80->68/50. Both drives are formatted with a 4G partition and one that covers the rest of the drive and the SFS.

I think the 70gb drive is a 7200 rpm drive (or was it 10000rpm), noice is acceptable but it does run hot

The 50gb drive is slower, runs cooler but is slight higher than most modern 3.5" drives.

If you're interested i'll have a look for the brand names and type numbers.

Still have had time/the heart to dismember the a3000

J.T.Kirk
1st March 2010, 20:13
Hi Parcival and thanks for your reply.

If I'm not mistaken, CSPPC SCSI is 68pins (if I'm wrong please correct me).

As I wait for AndyLandy's answer, I'll keep in mind yours of course, and I'll update this thread. :)

rkauer
1st March 2010, 21:35
If you refuse Parcival's 0ff3r, I'll make a thread asking for one of those babies! :)

J.T.Kirk
1st March 2010, 21:58
Sure, no problem, but first I'm waiting AndyLandy's news.

parcival
2nd March 2010, 15:58
Hi Parcival and thanks for your reply.

If I'm not mistaken, CSPPC SCSI is 68pins (if I'm wrong please correct me).

As I wait for AndyLandy's answer, I'll keep in mind yours of course, and I'll update this thread. :)
Yes the csppc has a scsi wide bus thus uses 68 pin, i might even still have some 68pin cable. The 2 drive i've talked about have a sca bus ( http://www.transintl.com/technotes/scsi.htm ) which always uses some sort of bridge to connect to a a scsi bus. Their bus is wide (16b) but they can be used on scsi narrow (8b) as i've done on a a3000 with a patched scsi.device to get beyond the 4GB limit. SFS can detect if the device doesn't support 64b and in that case refuses access beyond the 4GB limit, saving the lower partition from being overwritten.

AndyLandy
2nd March 2010, 16:08
Update so far:

I've got quite a few SCSI disks, some of unknown size and condition. I'd like to test them before I send you anything (nobody wants a broken hard disk!)

There are a very few that are 68-pin UW-SCSI. Most of the disks I have are 80-pin hotswap SCA disks, but you should be able to get an adapter pretty cheap.

I'll let you know what I find, but if you're in a hurry, feel free to accept another offer.

Regards,

J.T.Kirk
2nd March 2010, 16:09
Ok Andy no problem. I can wait. :)

AndyLandy
4th March 2010, 17:45
I have available for you a:
Seagate Cheetah Ultra 320 SCSI Hard Disk, model ST336607LC.
36GB -- 10,000RPM -- Ultra 320 SCSI -- SCA 80pin connector.

You'll need an adapter to use it on a Cyberstorm SCSI interface. Something like this:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=170400752992 (eBay B-I-N for 2.98)

Any good to you?

J.T.Kirk
4th March 2010, 17:48
Nice SCSI disk. How much? :whistle:

EDIT: Do you have 68pin SCSI HD? Even if it's lower in capacity. No prob.

AndyLandy
4th March 2010, 18:34
All my SCSI hard disks are old ones from work, so there's no charge, just the cost of shipping. I have a couple of disks with 68pin connectors on them, but don't know the capacity or what condition they're in. I will try and investigate them tomorrow at work and let you know. I think I have a 68pin SCSI card in my office PC, I'll try them in that.

:thumbsup:

J.T.Kirk
4th March 2010, 18:38
Thanks m8. You didn't state a price for this Seagate though. :unsure:

AndyLandy
4th March 2010, 18:48
Thanks m8. You didn't state a price for this Seagate though. :unsure:

That's because there is no price for it, just the shipping cost. :-)

J.T.Kirk
4th March 2010, 18:50
Ohhh... thanx!!! I'll wait again for your juicy news. :thumbsup:

AndyLandy
5th March 2010, 14:03
If you want a 68-pin disk, your choices are:
Quantum Atlas 18GB, normal-height 3.5" disk:
http://www.pacificgeek.com/productimages/xl/WDH336064.jpg

Seagate Barracude 36GB, full-height (about 1.5x normal height):
http://www.hard4989.com/FCKeditor/userimages/ST136475LW_3.jpg
(Stock photos used)

J.T.Kirk
5th March 2010, 14:07
Hey Andy. :)

The Seagate is really want I want, but its height will be cause problems in the future inside my case.:(

So I'll go for the 18GB SCSI HD.

AndyLandy
5th March 2010, 14:11
What case are you going to put it in? I'm sure there's space at the back of a 4000D to install a full-height SCSI disk.

Perhaps someone else on here can confirm.

J.T.Kirk
5th March 2010, 14:12
Yes. Inside an A4000 desktop case. It will fit, not problem, but what happens if I'll fit another one. Will I have space for a second one?:unsure:

AndyLandy
5th March 2010, 17:51
How much storage do you need on an A4000 anyway? :-)

The 18GB disk is yours. I've still got your address from the last time, and I'll stick in those IDE ribbons too. It'll all go in the post on Monday (Sorry, I'm not able to get to the post office any time sooner) I trust you have a 68-pin SCSI cable already, since I can't help you on that front. If not, might want to order that soon. :-)

J.T.Kirk
5th March 2010, 18:11
I think 18GB for a start it's ok for my miggy. :)

Please tell me how much will be the postage costs and yes, I have a SCSI cable (big one, to connect 5 devices).:)

rkauer
5th March 2010, 18:41
Wrong: it is more than OK. I have a 9Gb and 18Gb Quantum drives hooked inside my A2000, they are simply fantastic drives!

Silent units and very reliable. Compared to a 9Gb Barracuda I use to hook in the same 2000 Quantum drives are a dream come true.

Barracudas are horrible noisy beasts.

J.T.Kirk
16th March 2010, 14:56
Feedback left. Please close this thread. :)