PDA

View Full Version : Closed A4000D PSU (more powerful than the standard 145W)



J.T.Kirk
24th February 2010, 16:39
Hi, I'm looking for an A4000D PSU, that's more powerful than mine, which is at 145W. Also, as I don't know, does an original more powerful PSU ever existed, so it can be fitted easily inside the desktop?

Kin Hell
24th February 2010, 17:04
Ask Zetr0 if he wants to sell the unfinished one I sent to him a while back. ;) :lol:

Kin

J.T.Kirk
24th February 2010, 17:05
Will I get the finished one?:p

Kin Hell
24th February 2010, 17:22
I don't think he'd send you an unfinished one m8 & I don't know how many he might have.

Kin

J.T.Kirk
24th February 2010, 17:24
Just joking m8.:D

Kin Hell
24th February 2010, 17:26
I wasn't. :p :lol:

Kin

J.T.Kirk
24th February 2010, 17:28
:blink:

meega
24th February 2010, 17:41
What are you doing that needs more watts?

J.T.Kirk
24th February 2010, 17:46
I recently bought a CSPPC with CVisionPPC. Also I plan to have some extra Zorro cards, that's why. Is the 145W sufficient for that purpose?

Kin Hell
24th February 2010, 19:16
Just try it Phantom. You wont hurt anything. Leave the ZORRO cards out & see what happens first. Then chuck your ZORRO cards in one at a time & run some CPU stressing software for adding each card. Personally, I think you're bleating about this for nothing. ;)

I've run A4KD's fully loaded with an overclocked PPC/060 card, Toaster & Flyer combo, Z3 Fast Lane X-Surf & KickFlash4 without issues. :thumbsup:

Kin

sunnykwan
24th February 2010, 19:51
Would this be helpful if more power is really needed:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=615

http://www.amigamaniac.com/atx_to_amiga.html

psodas
24th February 2010, 20:26
@Phantom

How about this?:)

http://cgi.ebay.com/Amiga-4000-Tower-brand-new--power-supply--_W0QQitemZ250582984665QQcmdZViewItemQQimsxZ20100220?IMSfp=TL100220163015r14837

J.T.Kirk
24th February 2010, 22:04
Thanx people for the links, but I'll go for the AmigaKit's adapter. Seems a far easy job.

@ Kin

I'll try that of course. We spoke about this in another thread.:)

jvdbossc
25th February 2010, 08:25
phantom, do you have a tower then? An normal atx psu does not fit in an a4000d, believe me I'v'e tried..

AndyLandy
25th February 2010, 10:10
@Phantom

How about this?:)

http://cgi.ebay.com/Amiga-4000-Tower-brand-new--power-supply--_W0QQitemZ250582984665QQcmdZViewItemQQimsxZ20100220?IMSfp=TL100220163015r14837

For the record, that PSU won't work on an A4000 desktop board, only the A4000T. Also, the A4000T just used standard PC-AT power supplies, so if you need one, don't pay "Amiga Tax" for one, they're still fairly cheap and plentiful!

J.T.Kirk
25th February 2010, 11:53
phantom, do you have a tower then? An normal atx psu does not fit in an a4000d, believe me I'v'e tried..

I'm afraid so. But just only one. They don't have all the same dimensions. :huh:

Kin Hell
25th February 2010, 11:56
The ATX & mATX are an Industry Standard m8. It's made this way for a reason. ;)

Kin

J.T.Kirk
25th February 2010, 12:02
Ah... damn Commodore... :****ed:

Kin Hell
25th February 2010, 12:04
Ah... damn Commodore... :****ed:

Actually, ...damn Bill... :D

Kin

J.T.Kirk
25th February 2010, 12:13
Bill who? :p

J.T.Kirk
1st March 2010, 21:14
I spoke with Matthew, he suggested to go for a MicroATX PSU. This one will fit easily inside the desktop case I presume.

rkauer
1st March 2010, 21:56
Notice that some mATX power supplies are not suitable for hacking inside the A4000 PSU case.

Some are intended for barebones pc cases (they are thin and long). Avoid those ones.

J.T.Kirk
1st March 2010, 21:57
Thanks for the tip rkauer. But first, I'll measure the original Amiga PSU.

keropi
1st March 2010, 22:22
normal mATX psu's fit just right in the A4000D case, you can even scew them in the top 2 screws , it leaves empty space under it.
here is an old pic of my old A4000...

http://i50.tinypic.com/2qbhgsy.jpg

J.T.Kirk
1st March 2010, 22:26
Empty space for HDs. Not bad.:)

rkauer
2nd March 2010, 00:16
Or even a space to hide Amiga money from wife! Too bad our friend Keropi is not married (yet).

BTW: with that huge fan in the PSU no need for another monstrous fan blowing air in the Cyber Vision! Just close the case. KK

keropi
2nd March 2010, 06:48
nah, that is just an old pic rkauer, some years ago testing tha amiga in a hot summer day :p you know hot :) and there is no cvppc, just a G-Rex4000 there... that amiga is now sold to a friend :D

Cosmos
2nd March 2010, 06:50
I have this adapter for sale : 8.50 euros with shipping

J.T.Kirk
6th March 2010, 14:23
Please lock this thread, as I will buy the adapter from AmigaKit and use a microATX PSU.

TheCorfiot
6th March 2010, 15:22
Thread closed as requested

TC :cool: