PDA

View Full Version : Closed Vortex Golden Gate 486SLC II



stachu100
24th March 2010, 07:48
In good condition, can be without box/drivers/manual/RAM.

http://www.amiga-hardware.com/showhardware.cgi?HARDID=349

Looking for 50MHz variant, but I will consider 25MHz variant too.
Thank you!

keropi
24th March 2010, 07:59
If you do find a 25mhz one, then I have one NOS cyrix 486slc/50mhz upgrade... I used one to upgrade my 486slc to 50mhz (worked like a charm, basically it is the same thing, the 25mhz cpu gets overidden by the clip-one upgrade) , used another to upgrade my IBM 386sx to 486slc and have one spare :)
Mind you, those will only upgrade the 486slc boards, those with a 386 cpu are not compatible (bad 386sx revision)

here are some pictures of the past... :)

http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p55/restqp/Image2.jpg

http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p55/restqp/Image3.jpg

http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p55/restqp/Image1.jpg

http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p55/restqp/25042007004.jpg

stachu100
24th March 2010, 08:02
ok Keropi, I will remember your proposal :)

arnljot
24th March 2010, 08:13
Since the unread posts view doesnīt show if itīs a wanted or for sale - I must admit my heart stopped when I saw that it had zero replies... :)

Good hunt stachu100! :)

Morten
24th March 2010, 10:29
Keropi...do you have an extra "386sx to 486slc" and is it for sale?:roll:

Anyway where did you get it from?...I guess it would fit an A2386sx too:)

AndyLandy
24th March 2010, 10:35
I used to have an Evergreen 586/133MHz upgrade CPU that fit in a 486 socket. I wonder if one of those would work on a GoldenGate CPU card? That'd be pretty tasty, a Pentium-equivalent Amiga bridgeboard. :-)

keropi
24th March 2010, 10:58
@Morten:

I got them ages ago from eBay... there was a seller that had ~10 of them, I grabbed 4 and the rest I have no idea ... must be 3+ years now... If the 386sx chip on the A2386sx is a good revision (meaning it has a disable-pin - the 486slc2 clips on top of the current 386sx, disables it and "steals" all the signals) then it will work, doubling it's frequency (if it is 16 then it gets 32 internally or 40 or 50mhz) and the host system does not understand any change at all :)

@AndyLandy:

sadly no, the 486slc cpus are just optimized 386sx ones, a 486 cpu and/or upgrade simply does not fit or works on the 386 socket...

AndyLandy
24th March 2010, 11:01
@AndyLandy:

sadly no, the 486slc cpus are just optimized 386sx ones, a 486 cpu and/or upgrade simply does not fit or works on the 386 socket...

I see, so they're effectively already 'overdrive' 486 CPUs designed for a 386 board? Ne'er mind. Would've been nice if it could've worked. :-)

Morten
26th March 2010, 14:34
Keropi...I think the "386sx to 486slc" might fit an A2386sx:)
Do you have one left for sale and at what price?

keropi
26th March 2010, 23:56
can you see the markings on the 386sx chip? IIRC it needs rev C or D ... PM me so we don't polute the thread more :)

Countraven
27th March 2010, 04:51
@Stachu100

I think that MFilos used to have this card for sale here in Amibay. Mfilos / other guys, please correct me if I am wrong.

keropi
27th March 2010, 10:22
mfilos had the 386 model

stachu100
27th March 2010, 10:42
mfilos had the 386 model

Is it possible to upgrade to 486?

keropi
27th March 2010, 10:55
no, unless you can de-solder the cpu and put there a 486slc one...

Morten
27th March 2010, 14:27
PM sent.

stachu100
9th July 2010, 07:54
Still looking for Vortex Golden Gate 486SLC II
I can consider Vortex Golden Gate 386 as well.

@Morten,
I never got any PM form you...

pascal_sweden
6th November 2010, 18:23
Do you still have a Cyrix upgrade kit left? how much?

Will this work on a Commodore 386SX board?

keropi
24th November 2010, 13:37
just to clarify since I am getting lots of pm's about the 486slc2 upgrades:
I don't have any left, sorry!

:lol:

Xanxi
24th November 2010, 13:57
Just to say i have some spare 486SLC-25 CPU from Texas Instruments available if someone want to upgrade a bridgeboard by soldering a nwe CPU.