PDA

View Full Version : Wanted Amiga1200 in a CDTV ?



kenshigros
13th January 2014, 10:52
Hi.
It is a question at first.Is it possible to fit an Amiga1200 in a CDTV case and then use the CDTV CD and keyboard and remote to be used with this Amiga1200 and later on to fit expansion on A1200 as well.
If it IS possible then I like to buy one .
Why to be so stubborn ?
Thanks and ready to be criticized though...

Alex

Bastich
13th January 2014, 14:02
I think the first problem is that the A1200 main board is longer than a CD32. Second why bother as a CD32 is very much an A1200 hardware wise to start with. It would probably be better to get a plain CD32 and get the expansions that go in the back to gain nearly the same functionality as a full A1200.

J.T.Kirk
13th January 2014, 14:03
I think the first problem is that the 1200 main board is longer than a CD32.

He's talking about CDTV, not CD32. :)

roy_bates
13th January 2014, 16:58
Hi.
It is a question at first.Is it possible to fit an Amiga1200 in a CDTV case and then use the CDTV CD and keyboard and remote to be used with this Amiga1200 and later on to fit expansion on A1200 as well.
If it IS possible then I like to buy one .
Why to be so stubborn ?
Thanks and ready to be criticized though...

Alex


its probably,maybe possible to fit the 1200 inside the case of a cdtv,but..
you wont be able to use the cd drive or the remote.
the keyboard could be modified to work with it.

but then again,why would you want to destroy such a lovely looking amiga.:D
yeah,i know there black.but i dont think i would do this to this machine.
cant you go and mess with a 600 or cd32:lol:

DutchinUSA
13th January 2014, 17:54
Oh C'mon .. I would be interested to hear how it works out :thumbsup:

Pretty sure I got an Amiga 1200 motherboard and a CDTV with broken CD drive myself, maybe fit a regular CD or DVD drive into that space of the CDTV? ;)

Bastich
13th January 2014, 18:45
Doh :picard sorry about the system mixup.
You can get some nice slimline media centre cases if a CDTV is a no go.

piacc64
13th January 2014, 21:24
need rework like gba1000

create a main with 1200 schematics and dimension of cdtv plus ir

Astral
14th January 2014, 06:08
It WOULD be possible in some form, configuration or another - depending on the end specs and compatibility you are after. Easy though? Probably not. Practical? Probably not. I understand hacks aren't always about easy or practicality though. :lol:

I think these days given it is "hard" to find a CDTV that you could quite "easily" make your own out of an Amiga 500 + A570 combo :thumbsup:

kenshigros
14th January 2014, 08:43
Hi Roy!.
Why wouldn't it be possible to use remote of CDTV and CDtray?
Even with modding?
I know it would be difficult but really need to know if a A1200 with or without an accelerator card would fit in a CDTV case ?
Knowing there are several CDTV versions outhere...
Lets not talk about money cost and no need to crash the original CDTV case..

I always like the IDEA of the CDTV but nowadays if you want to use it even with a rom hack is certainly not enough to me.
I understand some of you will get angry but the idea to use a REMOTE controlled CDTV/1200 would be great to me.
Again if you think it is possible then I'll be happy to buy together or seperatly the both machines with whatever will be needed to make it work.
I am thanksful to all of you helping in this community and long libe AMIBAY!
Thank you

A bientôt j'espère...

Alex

jack-3d
14th January 2014, 09:12
There is already such a board called Amiga Access. It is re-designed A1200 with 030+AGA, nice small board size like 5,25" device.

http://amiga.resource.cx/photos/photos/access1200r13.jpg

More info:

http://access.amigaworld.de/index.php?page=10
http://amiga.resource.cx/mod/access.html

And one guy I know has three of them ;o) Page in Czech: http://www.amiga-exa.cz/amiga-access-with-full-mc68030-2/

kenshigros
8th February 2014, 12:04
The infos are indeed very interesting....never knew about it.
Thanks

alex