PDA

View Full Version : Wanted AMSTRAD CPC 6128 Floppy connector + Power cable!



Neil79
14th May 2014, 14:36
Does anyone have an Amstrad cpc 6128 floppy connector + power cable available to connect to a HXC or floppy drive?

Thanks :thumbsup:

sir_beaker
14th May 2014, 18:08
Hey bud,

Not sure what PSU you're using but the chances are it may be powerful enough to power both the CPC AND the HxC without any problems. The power going to the CPC should be regulated at 5V so you could splice the wires from the a floppy power cable onto the correct wires of the cable, or maybe put in a request for someone to make a Y cable to split out the power?

If your CPC doesn't have an ABBA switch installed you'll need a cable with the correct switch to disable the internal drive so the HxC acts as drive A otherwise most of your games won't load. Something like this: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/AMSTRAD-SPECTRUM-3-CABLE-FOR-3-5-FLOPPY-DRIVE-OR-HxC-EMU-WITH-DRIVE-SIDE-SELECT-/111351220874?pt=UK_VintageComputing_RL&hash=item19ed0cca8a

chinnyhill10
14th May 2014, 18:24
Does anyone have an Amstrad cpc 6128 floppy connector + power cable available to connect to a HXC or floppy drive?

Thanks :thumbsup:

The guy who sells the HXC has been working with another chap who sells the cables. He'll sell you a power cable splitter and a floppy cable that has been modified to switch the HXC to the A drive.

Be warned, a standard cable (which he also sells) will only let you use the HXC as a B drive (so few games will load). You need one with a switch attached (very rare second hand so you'll need to buy one new).

You'll have to check out the other "bay" as I believe posting links to there on here is frowned upon.

Neil79
14th May 2014, 22:59
AMSTRAD/SPECTRUM +3 KIT:RIBBON CABLE AND POWER CABLE FOR 3,5" DRIVE OR HxC EMU

Found one on the bay, will order that in about two weeks time

Cheers guys

chinnyhill10
19th May 2014, 23:22
ENSURE you have the one with the switch. Being an idiot I bought the standard one and found it would only function as a B drive. You NEED the one with the inline switch that lets you select it as an A Drive.