PDA

View Full Version : Closed *PRICE DROP* Blizzard 030+FPU IV Accelerator



arkanoid
4th August 2008, 04:40
Hi everyone!

I have been selling much of my Amiga gear recently (ie: over at amiga.org here (http://www.amiga.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=46290&forum=21#forumpost537186)) using evilBay. But I've finally had it with eBay and with a little encouragement from Zetr0 (hi zetr0! :) ) I have decided to place some items here on AmiBay instead! :) I'll start with this accelerator but there will be more to come over the coming weeks.

So, here is my Blizzard 030. It has 16MB on board and also includes the pretty uncommon floating point co-processor (40MHz FPU, running at 50MHz via crystal). It's in good condition and _perfect_ working order! There are no signs of oxidation of tracks, battery leakage, etc.

I'm very careful when it comes to packaging my items, so it will be very securely packaged with antistatic wrapping!

Shipment will be Next Day Special Delivery for UK residents (insured up to 500 + tracked). Airsure (insured up to 500 + tracked) will be used for overseas buyers.

* Domestic (Special Delivery Next Day): 7
* EU Europe: 10 (Airsure)
* Worldwide inc. USA: 15 (Airsure)

I'm asking 105+p&p (you can use the XE (http://www.xe.com/) for currency conversion)

Feel free to ask any question in this thread, through PM or send me an EMAIL (http://www.amibay.co.uk/memberlist.php?mode=email&u=446)

I didn't want to accept PayPal payments (due to my silly principles/pride and anti-PayPal feelings) but I admit defeat and realize it my be easier for people. If you want to pay using PayPal then you will have to add 3.50 to your total, to cover PayPal charges.

Here are some photos I took of the card...

http://aca.untergrund.net/4sale/030/IMGP1211
http://aca.untergrund.net/4sale/030/IMGP1213

arkanoid
4th August 2008, 05:59
btw, I'm also interested in swapping this for a Blizzard 1220 (http://www.amiga-hardware.com/showhardware.cgi?HARDID=147) with the 4 meg ADD4 module and FPU + 40. mail me if you are interested in that swap also. :idea:

meega
4th August 2008, 10:40
The FPU is a 40MHz unit, isn't it? (Just for clarification.)

arkanoid
4th August 2008, 14:00
meega: just double checked, it's 50MHz ;-)

thanks!

meega
4th August 2008, 14:39
Check again, please.

Kin Hell
4th August 2008, 14:43
The FPU appears to be a 40Mhz part, but is obviously running @ the same speed as the CPU through the 50Mhz Crystal. :|

arkanoid
4th August 2008, 15:34
The FPU appears to be a 40Mhz part, but is obviously running @ the same speed as the CPU through the 50Mhz Crystal. :|

Yep, appears to be an MC68882RC40. The crystal is 50MHz, which suggests the crystal has been upgraded? (not by me) Common situation I guess. But if anyone knows if this is "modded" or a production feature it would be nice to know, so I can more accurately describe the board.

I never really took note before and the board has been running flawlessly in my setup for the past 3-years.

arkanoid
4th August 2008, 16:25
Just incase anyone is having a negative sense of this board now. I have just spoken to a guy on IRCNet (#amigascne) and he explained that the original owner probably bought the board without an FPU and later simply purchased and placed a 40MHz FPU on the board. Which is not something to be concerned about as the board will simply pickup to 50MHz speed and run as a 50MHz FPU. ;-)

thanks

Kin Hell
4th August 2008, 16:35
You are quite correct. However, the FPU has to be free of errors whilst running at that speed.
Whilst the Label on the FPU is marked 40A, the A could donate a good Mask to over-clock. I know the 060 50A CPU's were the best for over-clocking out there!
50Mhz PGA style FPU packages are very hard to find these days!

meega
4th August 2008, 16:40
There's nothing wrong with using a 40MHz fpu on a 50MHz Blizzard MkIV - people do it all the time. It's just that you should not state it to be a 50MHz part when it isn't...


Any descriptions and claims made for goods should be honest and accurately reflect the item(s), e.g. good working order, faulty, damaged, for spares, etc.
Honest mistake is rectified by listing it as an overclocked 40MHz part. The 50MHz cpu and crystal are original spec. for a MkIV. :)

arkanoid
4th August 2008, 17:00
meega: sure :-)

Just to be even clearer, I made no claims to the board's MHz in the original post, it was simply listed as having an FPU. It was only after meega's initial question that I had to check and try to figure exactly what the the boards various MHz markings meant, as far as the FPU speed was concerned. (the FPU's markings meant little to me until meega forced me to think about it)

But yes, it is nice and clear above in PINK now ;-) and it's good to have mods checking this stuff over, btw!

thanks!

Kin Hell
4th August 2008, 17:43
No probs m8. We just don`t want things in a state where it could come back & bite you in the Ass! :wink:

Good Luck with your sale. :)

gavilan
6th August 2008, 03:10
btw, I'm also interested in swapping this for a Blizzard 1220 (http://www.amiga-hardware.com/showhardware.cgi?HARDID=147) with the 4 meg ADD4 module and FPU + 40. mail me if you are interested in that swap also. :idea:

Hi there!! I might have this Blizzard 1220 working. Im not sure what the ADD4 module is, but if you are interested in the swap, and you still have the card, please let me know. Im very interested but im short of cash ATM

Kind Regards

Sebastian

arkanoid
12th August 2008, 00:43
ok, I've dropped the price from 120 to 105, before I bung it on eBay. ;-)

thanks

gavilan
12th August 2008, 01:29
Hi there!
Are you still interested in trading the card?

I have checked my 1220 card. No FPU but it has the 4 meg module you are talking about. It is in near mint condition. I can send some pics if you like to.

Please let me know, im very interested in your Blizzard card

Kind Regards

Sebastian

puppe
18th August 2008, 16:13
I would like to buy the card if the swap with gavilan doesn't go through.

dartagnan
3rd September 2008, 02:07
I offer 125 including shipping cost to italy.

Kin Hell
3rd September 2008, 07:09
@ arkanoid

This thread is getting a little messy. Please update this asap RE puppe & dartagnan

Thanks,

Kin

rockape
3rd September 2008, 10:56
Hi,

Ref:

"Posted: Tue 12 Aug, 2008 12:43 am" I've dropped the price from 120GBP to 105GBP, before I bung it on eBay."

If no sales are agreed I'm interested.

Kind Regards, Michael

aka rockape

Kin Hell
3rd September 2008, 12:24
This thread is a perfect example of the rules not being followed. This site is not an Auction site. Never has & never will be. Closed.

Kin Hell

[edit]
arkanoid please contact AmiBay staff if you want this thread unlocking.