PDA

View Full Version : Sold Prometheus PCI board with S3 ViRGE/DX and RTL8029 Ethernet cards



colmiga
23rd June 2010, 05:44
Hi,

I'm selling my Prometheus PCI board, suitable for Zorro III Amiga's such as the A3000(T)/A4000(T)

I bought it new about 3 months ago from AmigaKit but now no longer require it due to upgrading.

I'll include an S3 ViRGE/DX 4MB PCI video card and a RTL8029 10Mb Ethernet card with the Prometheus board along with PCI slot extenders I used to mount the cards in my A4000 Desktop. Although I managed to fit the cards into the desktop case the Prometheus is designed for a tower case.

The board is tested and working as well as the PCI cards. I have used the Ethernet card with the drivers but have not gotten around to testing the S3 ViRGE/DX driver, though the card is supported and should work.

The board comes in its original packaging along with manuals and accessories such as the card mounting brackets.

I'm after AU$100 for the board and cards plus shipping costs. I will ship worldwide. I accept PayPal as payment, buy pays fees.

I'm also open to near offers.

As promised, some photo's. I'll try to dig up a pic I took of the Prometheus installed in my A4000D case with the PCI adapters.

Astral
23rd June 2010, 08:08
Interested! Would like to see how it all mounts in a 4000D though...waiting for photos :)

AndyLandy
23rd June 2010, 11:49
Next-in-line, please! :-)

T_Hairy_Bootson
24th June 2010, 02:28
http://www.amiga.org/gallery/images/81/1_3721.jpg

This is how one user installed a gfx card using a right angled PCI adapter.

Lifted from this thread: http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=7235&page=2

rkauer
24th June 2010, 03:41
I can't help myself: third in line, good sir! My A3000 deserve one of those puppies.

colmiga
24th June 2010, 07:26
I had some thought about mounting the cards in the case and came up with this:

http://amibay.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=4451&stc=1&d=1277360452

http://amibay.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=4452&stc=1&d=1277360452


This is not how I had my cards mounted though as I was using a Voodoo3 3000 and had to take the heatsink into account. Here's a pic of how it was setup in my A4000:

http://amibay.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=4450&stc=1&d=1277360452


Note the Ethernet card hanging out. I was going to find a suitable flex adapter to mount this in the slot below the Prometheus but did not get around to it.

The card at the top is the Voodoo3 3000 attached to the flex PCI adapter. In this setup 3 Zorro slots are still available for expansion, though not for full length card (cards like the Deneb are fine though). This setup was pretty stable once the PCI adapters were all seated correctly.

Astral
25th June 2010, 07:46
Officially withdrawing interest. Not quite what I was thinking. Next! :D

aperezbios
3rd July 2010, 20:01
Interest declared. Consider it sold. PM Sent.

Tajmaster
3rd July 2010, 20:31
Interest declared. Consider it sold. PM Sent.


According to how the thread reads, AndyLandy is next in line mate :)

AndyLandy
3rd July 2010, 20:46
Oops, sorry, we needs an update here. I've paid Colmiga for this item already. :-)

AndyLandy
12th July 2010, 16:21
I'm still waiting for an update on this item. It hasn't arrived yet.

AndyLandy
4th August 2010, 10:52
Just to finish up, the item finally arrived about a week ago. It looks like Her Majesty's Revenue and Customs needed three weeks to work out how much VAT to charge, bless 'em. Obviously they're not very good at sums.

I don't mind paying import VAT, but the cheeky swine at Royal Fail insist on charging an additional 8 arbitrary fee on anything that's stopped at customs. How rude is that?!

Anyway, thanks again to colmiga. Just off to leave feedback now!

:thumbsup:

Kin Hell
4th August 2010, 11:03
@ AndyLandy

If Her Majestys Customs & Excise get their paws on it, they usually slap a 10% Customs charge on the goods, then add the VAT after they add the 8 re-delivery fee. - Yeah, very very cheeky. :dry:

Kin

Buzzfuzz
4th August 2010, 11:17
@ AndyLandy

If Her Majestys Customs & Excise get their paws on it, they usually slap a 10% Customs charge on the goods, then add the VAT after they add the 8 re-delivery fee. - Yeah, very very cheeky. :dry:

Kin

It's the same here in the Netherlands, they added just over 70 euro's on my A530 from the US :ninja:

rkauer
5th August 2010, 01:22
At least here the postal system does not charge over packages that get stuck in customs.

But our customs "normal" (NORMAL?) charge is around 70 up to 103%!

ChrisUnionNJ
11th July 2011, 03:12
Ok this deal is way done and all feedback left thread is closed thanks guys..:thumbsup:

Chris :coffee: