Not open for further replies.

boyo

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Country
UK
Region
Warwickshire
I'm a noob when it comes to this - just got an Amiga 1200 and a compact disk type hard drive with some whdload games on it. Looking to buy some memory or any other appropriate hardware so I can get the games to load from Workbench.

Option 1. Source a PCMCIA SRAM card. This'll give you up to 4MB FastRAM, but uses up your PCMCIA socket.
Option 2. Source a trapdoor RAM expansion. These come in 4MB or 8MB variants. If you use an 8MB, it wipes out the PCMCIA address space, so you can only put up to 4MB in if you want to use the PCMCIA
Option 3. Source an accelerator card for the trapdoor. These are more-expensive, but give you a lot more performance. Some of the lower-end ones have the same RAM limitations (4MB max for PCMCIA, 8MB max and no PCMCIA). The mid- to high-range cards will allow you to install 32MB+ of FastRAM with no conflicts on the PCMCIA port.

Ok, looks like in the first instance I need option 2 I think. Can anyone help?

I should soon be able to offer an expansion card which you might find meets your needs. It's a 28MHz 68020 + 8MB RAM upgrade card. I'm still waiting for delivery (bought it from eBay on Wednesday).

I won't need it, as I sourced a Blizzard 030 from here :)

I will probably be looking for somewhere around £60+P&P, but will obviously post more details when I've tested it to make sure it's working.

I should soon be able to offer an expansion card which you might find meets your needs. It's a 28MHz 68020 + 8MB RAM upgrade card. I'm still waiting for delivery (bought it from eBay on Wednesday).

I will probably be looking for somewhere around £60+P&P, but will obviously post more details when I've tested it to make sure it's working.

Sounds like a plan - let me know how you get on and some pics would be good. Has it arrived yet as well? Can I have a link to the auction?