Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: 3000T restoration

  1. #1
    nolunchman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    CA
    Posts
    8
    Feedback
    0

    Default 3000T restoration

    yes, battery damage. hope to get my old friend back up and running. wish me luck.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PANA8383.jpg 
Views:	57 
Size:	212.4 KB 
ID:	140288
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails PANA8434.jpg  

  2. #2
    stachu100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    Poland
    Region:
    mazowieckie
    Age
    45
    Posts
    3,085
    Feedback
    332 (100%)

    Default

    Good luck then!

  3. #3
    Sveta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Country
    Czech Republic
    Region:
    Ustecky kraj
    Posts
    4,707
    Feedback
    596 (100%)

    Default

    Hi,

    A3000T and frequent Ni-Cd accu/battery PCB damage

    Good luck with repair. A3000T is good and rare hardware.

    Regards, Sveta
    Last edited by Sveta; 10th October 2018 at 09:03.
    Czech Amiga Web, Commodore Amiga 4000T

  4. #4
    nolunchman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    CA
    Posts
    8
    Feedback
    0

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by stachu100 View Post
    Good luck then!


    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Sveta View Post
    Hi,

    A3000T and frequent Ni-Cd accu/battery PCB damage

    Good luck with repair. A3000T is good and rare hardware.

    Regards, Sveta
    i repaired the traces but still black screen. i have ordered cpu and fpu. what else to replace?

  5. #5
    stachu100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    Poland
    Region:
    mazowieckie
    Age
    45
    Posts
    3,085
    Feedback
    332 (100%)

    Default

    Hi,

    What kind of equipment and skills/knowledge you have?
    I'm asking this, because I have seen a lot of electronic stuff damaged by the users/owners with insufficient knowledge/experience when attempting to repair/upgrade.

  6. #6
    matt3k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    NY
    Posts
    863
    Feedback
    25 (100%)

    Default

    Good point to consider by Stan.

    Most black screens for the 3000 with accelerators is related to the accelerator. 3000,s usually give another tell like blinking power led or screen colors/flickering. Unless the damage to the mb is material in nature.

    Set the jumpers and try with the onboard 030 with the warp engine removed.
    Last edited by matt3k; 11th October 2018 at 15:09.

  7. #7
    Sveta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Country
    Czech Republic
    Region:
    Ustecky kraj
    Posts
    4,707
    Feedback
    596 (100%)

    Default

    Hi,

    Stachu has right and too you have correct jumpers settings before replace CPU 030 on board A3000T? Main for internal CPU or for external turbocard?

    Regards, Sveta
    Czech Amiga Web, Commodore Amiga 4000T

  8. #8
    nolunchman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    CA
    Posts
    8
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stachu100 View Post
    Hi,

    What kind of equipment and skills/knowledge you have?
    I'm asking this, because I have seen a lot of electronic stuff damaged by the users/owners with insufficient knowledge/experience when attempting to repair/upgrade.
    I have a decent reflow and soldering workstation. I have soldered enough PCBs and ICs in the past to work on single and 2 layer boards. I was able to remove the FPU, which had 2 corroded pads.





    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by matt3k View Post
    Good point to consider by Stan.

    Most black screens for the 3000 with accelerators is related to the accelerator. 3000,s usually give another tell like blinking power led or screen colors/flickering. Unless the damage to the mb is material in nature.

    Set the jumpers and try with the onboard 030 with the warp engine removed.
    I have tried with 030 only and setting J100 J103 J102 and J104 to internal no fpu but I still get immediate black screen with vertical stripes. I even tried using Diagrom chips but I don't get any serial output, so it must be something on the board. There is an IC near the battery that had some corrosion (Texas Instruments logic IC). I will try replacing that.

  9. #9
    matt3k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    NY
    Posts
    863
    Feedback
    25 (100%)

    Default

    If your getting vertical lines, it isn't the cpu. Accelerator failure is a solid black screen with only a dim power led. An 030 failure is yellow flashing screen, much if you boot without a daughterboard on a 3000 desktop.

    Your issue will require lots of columbo work for sure. Good schematics and lots of patience (just one more thing (tribute to columbo) will help...

    Good luck!

    The 3000T is the holy grail of Amiga's... Not many out there and in high demand. Enjoy it.

    Quote Originally Posted by nolunchman View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by stachu100 View Post
    Hi,

    What kind of equipment and skills/knowledge you have?
    I'm asking this, because I have seen a lot of electronic stuff damaged by the users/owners with insufficient knowledge/experience when attempting to repair/upgrade.
    I have a decent reflow and soldering workstation. I have soldered enough PCBs and ICs in the past to work on single and 2 layer boards. I was able to remove the FPU, which had 2 corroded pads.





    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by matt3k View Post
    Good point to consider by Stan.

    Most black screens for the 3000 with accelerators is related to the accelerator. 3000,s usually give another tell like blinking power led or screen colors/flickering. Unless the damage to the mb is material in nature.

    Set the jumpers and try with the onboard 030 with the warp engine removed.
    I have tried with 030 only and setting J100 J103 J102 and J104 to internal no fpu but I still get immediate black screen with vertical stripes. I even tried using Diagrom chips but I don't get any serial output, so it must be something on the board. There is an IC near the battery that had some corrosion (Texas Instruments logic IC). I will try replacing that.
    Last edited by matt3k; 11th October 2018 at 21:27.

  10. #10
    vibros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Country
    Italy
    Region:
    Emilia-Romagna
    Posts
    1,692
    Feedback
    102 (100%)

    Default

    Hello,

    corrosion from battery damage can be the clue, so lock for it: every pin that no more shines, is affected by corrosion and the tracks under it can be corroded, or the pin itself, that seems to be soldered, in fact give not more a reliable contact! This is important to know! After a leakage of acid from a rechargeable battery, the soldered pins that no more shines can have very poor contact, despite they look good soldered!
    Another thing, the A3000T-040 was sold without 68030 and 68882, with the same motherboard, so, not sure about that, but if you use it with a cpu card, you can detach both processors.

    Then the original PLCC sockets are very strong! Without any action on the inside IC, you can just look for the alignement of all the pins of the sockets!

    Regards
    Stefano
    Last edited by vibros; 12th October 2018 at 08:07.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Restoration Project
    By 1NOM155 in forum Photo Booth
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 27th December 2015, 16:45
  2. My A4000 Restoration
    By Clarkey in forum Photo Booth
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 23rd January 2015, 23:57
  3. A500+ restoration
    By dwayneh in forum AmiOracle
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 21st July 2011, 12:04
  4. Centipede restoration
    By rkauer in forum Photo Booth
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th February 2011, 18:53

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •