Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: 3000T restoration

  1. #11
    Amibayer! WonkeyDonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Country
    U.K
    Region:
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Age
    48
    Posts
    1,023
    Feedback
    73 (100%)

    Default

    A couple of the track repair areas look like there *might* be some bridges (Marked in red) or breaks (Marked in yellow). May be worth a second look.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PANA8434.jpg 
Views:	33 
Size:	194.9 KB 
ID:	140374
    Last edited by WonkeyDonkey; 12th October 2018 at 20:15.

  2. #12
    nolunchman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    CA
    Posts
    8
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WonkeyDonkey View Post
    A couple of the track repair areas look like there *might* be some bridges (Marked in red) or breaks (Marked in yellow).

    first off, thanks wonkey for taking the time to scrutinize the pics. it is much appreciated. i've gone over the traces with a multimeter more than a dozen times because i saw the same things you did. won't hurt to do it one more time just to be safe.

    just a thought:
    the repaired traces are all going to the FPU, but if i disable the FPU (or even remove it altogether), could the amiga still be affected?

  3. #13
    Amibayer! WonkeyDonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Country
    U.K
    Region:
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Age
    48
    Posts
    1,023
    Feedback
    73 (100%)

    Default

    I couldn't say with any certainty. I don't own a 3000, I've just been watchng a lot of youtube stuff regarding track and pad repairs recently. I wouldn't have thought disabling or removing an FPU would stop a machine working as they are often optional, but in the case of an A3000 they are soldered to the mainboard so are probably mandatory.

  4. #14
    vibros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Country
    Italy
    Region:
    Emilia-Romagna
    Posts
    1,664
    Feedback
    101 (100%)

    Default

    Hello,

    look under the two ROM sockets, but you need to detaches it.

    Regards
    Stefano

  5. #15
    nolunchman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    CA
    Posts
    8
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    replaced IC

    Last edited by nolunchman; Yesterday at 10:55.

  6. #16
    vibros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Country
    Italy
    Region:
    Emilia-Romagna
    Posts
    1,664
    Feedback
    101 (100%)

    Default

    Hello,

    just a bit more infos.
    Take care about the jumpers on the A3000T, because they are more complex of the A3000D; you can learn about it on some documents like 'The Zorro III bus specification' and 'The A3000 local bus expansion slot specification' both found here...

    http://www.thule.no/haynie/

    A wrong jumper configuration on your A3000T can lead a damage of the motherboard.

    About what wrong on a not working A3000 motherboard, the answer can be: Agnus (few probability) or the socket (more probability), FatGary (very few probability) or his socket (same as Agnus's socket, and same as all the PLCC sockets on the board); one of the CIA (can be, especially on the A1200 and A4000) or, in your scenario, all the area between FPU and ROM. The question is: how react a not working FPU? Can be disabled on motherboard like a working one? I do not know!
    If this motherboard was mine i detach the FPU, the two sockets of the ROM, i repair what is needed to attention, put a socket for the fpu (or solder it directly on motherboard, it depend on the skill of the technician) and then hope that all is fine! About the damaged track, i replace it with fine copper drawn like the original traces, to avoid this fat wires.
    I have spoken about A3000T, without CPU and FPU, sold with an A3640: that is true but i do not know the jumper configuration! Take care about it!
    I have repaired some A3000T that came from Poland and i know what i say about FPU and ROM socket!
    The chek of the linearity of the pins on the PLCC socket, with IC inside, is good and i suggest you to look at this thing.

    Regards
    Stefano
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails rework_third_board_2.jpg   rework_third_board_3.jpg   DCP_7154.jpg   DCP_6830.jpg   DCP_6871.jpg  

    DCP_6883.jpg  
    Last edited by vibros; 18th October 2018 at 16:19.

  7. #17
    nolunchman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    CA
    Posts
    8
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    thank you for your help vibros
    i removed the rom socket closest to the battery to check for more damage

    https://1drv.ms/u/s!AnzbjMU9nUZpixGLa3NRPhy01y-9


    Last edited by nolunchman; Yesterday at 11:11.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Restoration Project
    By 1NOM155 in forum Photo Booth
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 27th December 2015, 15:45
  2. My A4000 Restoration
    By Clarkey in forum Photo Booth
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 23rd January 2015, 22:57
  3. A500+ restoration
    By dwayneh in forum AmiOracle
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 21st July 2011, 11:04
  4. Centipede restoration
    By rkauer in forum Photo Booth
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th February 2011, 17:53

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •