Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: CD32 and kickstart 40.56, this one has scsi.device

  1. #1
    Finger lickin' good Amibayer! matt020's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Country
    Western Australia
    Region:
    Western Australia
    Posts
    357
    Feedback
    4 (100%)

    Default CD32 and kickstart 40.56, this one has scsi.device

    Hi All,

    I recently picked up a CD32, and Ive been looking into the TF328. Ive read that the CD32 must have kickstart 40.60 because the earlier 40.56 didn't have scsi.device and therefor couldnt use the IDE port on the TF328.

    Well, this one I have has kickstart 40.56 and when I type "version scsi.device" at CLI, I get "scsi.device 40.4", so it has scsi.device in the ROM....

    Before I spend my hard earned, will this version of kickstart be able to read from the IDE port on a TF328?
    Amiga 500 - TF530 030/25 - 1mb chip - 2mb fast - 2GB CF
    Amiga 2000 - 68k - 1mb chip - 4mb fast - 500mb HDD - work in progress (black screen)
    Amiga 1200 - DKB Cobra 030/40 - 2mb chip - 32mb fast - 4GB CF
    CD32 - TF328 - 2mb chip - 8mb fast - 8GB CF


  2. #2
    supaduper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Country
    England
    Region:
    west midlands
    Posts
    1,986
    Feedback
    236 (100%)

    Default

    If you have SCSI device then your good to go , it seems that some very rare 40.56 roms shipped without scsi.device for whatever reason.

  3. #3
    Spbmlb10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Country
    Australia
    Region:
    Victoria
    Posts
    4
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    Could someone please tell me the easiest way to get to CLI from the CD32 so i can check my kickstart version..

    Thank you



    Quote Originally Posted by matt020 View Post
    Hi All,

    I recently picked up a CD32, and Ive been looking into the TF328. Ive read that the CD32 must have kickstart 40.60 because the earlier 40.56 didn't have scsi.device and therefor couldnt use the IDE port on the TF328.

    Well, this one I have has kickstart 40.56 and when I type "version scsi.device" at CLI, I get "scsi.device 40.4", so it has scsi.device in the ROM....

    Before I spend my hard earned, will this version of kickstart be able to read from the IDE port on a TF328?

  4. #4
    supaduper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Country
    England
    Region:
    west midlands
    Posts
    1,986
    Feedback
    236 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Spbmlb10 View Post
    Could someone please tell me the easiest way to get to CLI from the CD32 so i can check my kickstart version..

    Thank you





    Quote Originally Posted by matt020 View Post
    Hi All,

    I recently picked up a CD32, and Ive been looking into the TF328. Ive read that the CD32 must have kickstart 40.60 because the earlier 40.56 didn't have scsi.device and therefor couldnt use the IDE port on the TF328.

    Well, this one I have has kickstart 40.56 and when I type "version scsi.device" at CLI, I get "scsi.device 40.4", so it has scsi.device in the ROM....

    Before I spend my hard earned, will this version of kickstart be able to read from the IDE port on a TF328?
    To be honest I have found that even most ver 40.56 roms have the scsi.device it was just a handful that did not, but I will mail you a solution

  5. #5
    Finger lickin' good Amibayer! matt020's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Country
    Western Australia
    Region:
    Western Australia
    Posts
    357
    Feedback
    4 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Spbmlb10 View Post
    Could someone please tell me the easiest way to get to CLI from the CD32 so i can check my kickstart version..
    I googled for a Workbench on CDROM, and found an ISO that I could burn to CD. I put the burnt CD into the CD32 and Workbench 3.1 loaded up, and with a mouse in the joystick port, and an A2000 keyboard in the AUX port, I had a fully functioning Workbench with keyboard and mouse. Note: I had to purchase an "AT to PS/2" adapter from my local electronics store to have the keyboard fit. The adapter was $3.95 AUD.


    Just an update to my original post: I went ahead and purchased a TF328 with riser, and it works, it boots, with kickstart 40.56
    Last edited by matt020; 10th February 2019 at 02:03.
    Amiga 500 - TF530 030/25 - 1mb chip - 2mb fast - 2GB CF
    Amiga 2000 - 68k - 1mb chip - 4mb fast - 500mb HDD - work in progress (black screen)
    Amiga 1200 - DKB Cobra 030/40 - 2mb chip - 32mb fast - 4GB CF
    CD32 - TF328 - 2mb chip - 8mb fast - 8GB CF


Similar Threads

  1. For Sale Amiga CD32 ProModule expansion device
    By Astral in forum Amiga
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 14th June 2018, 02:00
  2. Sold Amiga CD32 ProModule expansion device
    By Astral in forum Amiga
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 5th May 2016, 07:20
  3. Wanted The scsi.device add-on for CSMK1
    By Abelientje in forum Amiga
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th May 2013, 10:21
  4. Sold IO-Data SCSI-IDE Device
    By fitzsteve in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 16th June 2011, 23:31
  5. Sold Squirrel SCSI Device
    By fitzsteve in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 23rd August 2010, 14:04

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •