Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: TurboMMU040+ released!

  1. #11
    VIP
    Amibayer!
    SpeedGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Country
    USA
    Region:
    Wisconsin
    Age
    56
    Posts
    946
    Feedback
    22 (100%)

    Default

    ** 7TH NEWS UPDATE **

    TurboMMU040+ 1.5 released.

    v1.5 - Added code to keep direct remapping of $FFFF8000 space for libraries which don't use indirect. Lha_68K gets a psuedo Enforcer hit for relying on MMU remapping here

    EDIT:
    TurboMMUtools 1.3 released.

    -1.3 RemapZero 1.1 released
    Last edited by SpeedGeek; 29th December 2018 at 15:56.

  2. #12
    VIP
    Amibayer!
    SpeedGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Country
    USA
    Region:
    Wisconsin
    Age
    56
    Posts
    946
    Feedback
    22 (100%)

    Default

    ** COMMENT UPDATE **

    Now here is the real Enforcer hit:

    New Shell process 3
    3.System3.9:> version c:lha
    LhA 2.15 68040+ Jan 3 2011

    BYTE-READ from FFFFFFFF PC: 07184298
    USP: 07116668 SR: 0004 SW: 0121 (U0)(-)(-) TCB: 07159660
    Data: 00000000 00000000 00000001 07100000 00000000 00000005 0711669C 00030057
    Addr: 00000001 071166F3 00000000 FFFFFFFF 07105D6C 0711689C 071069F8 --------
    Stck: 0003A046 072301A8 00000000 071168F0 00000002 0003A0D3 00000000 00000000
    Stck: 071882D3 00000001 00000000 00000000 00005702 57002D6C 68642D00 00000000
    Name: "Shell Process" CLI: "lha" Hunk 0000 Offset 000063C8

    As you can see, it's from the latest Lha 2.15 from Aminet. But this post is NOT made to complain about typical Software bugs. It's about the questionable policy of relying on the MMU to keep buggy Software working.

    If the bugs don't get reported to the developer the bugs can't be fixed. Eventually, most Software becomes "Abandonware" and the bugs never will be fixed! But what if you want to use the Software and you only have a stock A500 (68000), stock A1200 (68020) or an accelerator card with a EC030, EC040, EC060?

  3. #13
    Jack of Many Trades, Semi-Master of Some thebajaguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    368
    Feedback
    34 (100%)

    Default

    Feedback:

    Docs folder in the archive, TurboMMU040+.txt has a reference under 2MB ROM Usage: to 'See ConfigROMA8 (REQUIRED!) and included - but not included.

    Document is headlined "MapRom040+ 1.4"

    There are other notes of inclusions that are not in the archive (anymore?)

    Full boot, 68060.library 2.3 (Babel) with Kickstart remap enabled. OS is 3.1.4. TekMagic 060/A4000T (ultrasound). 64MB on card, 16MB on mobo.

    MuForce / MUGA enabled.

    MapConTM060 called (success)
    TurboMMU040 called (v1.5, 8K Page mode Enabled, warning that FastCache040+ not NOT Detected)
    TurboMMU040 called (assume unmap based on docs) - I get a MuGA hit on a memory cookie - I'll post it here shortly from the laptop I use as a terminal.

    Crap - And now input device spawns continuous hits after clicking and scrolled the hit off the buffer. Trying to reproduce, but not yet.

    After a fresh reboot, not getting the stomped cookie now, but...
    Calling the TurboMMU040 a second time to disable is not giving me a disable message. I get the same message (8K page mode enabled).

    Edit/Variation
    Added the FastCache040 after MapConTM060, TurboMMU040 recognized it, but still no disable message when it is run a second time. No enforcer/cookie hit, either.

    Note: TurboMMUBench values change between running of the TurboMMU Command - assuming it's just an output message logic error.

    TurboMMUBench:
    Elapsed time values between toggle of TurboMMU command (no MuForce/MuGA running):
    Base: 385565
    MapConTM060:386758
    FastCache040:394294
    TurboMMU040:172549

    Elapsed time values between toggle of TurboMMU command (MuForce/MuGA running):
    Base: 394086
    MapConTM060:392213
    FastCache040:396194
    TurboMMU040:168084

    Edit: After enabling MuForce/MuGA, and then turning on the above 3, the system is generating (after sitting idle about 15 minutes) repeated hits on the debug from just the DIR command being called. I am guessing the MMU tool warning in the documentation applies here? Further Edit: Saw the EAB post/reply for 1/1/2019. Noted. Disable message still applies.
    Last edited by thebajaguy; 3rd January 2019 at 05:42.
    A500(2x)/A1000/A1200/A2000(4x)/A3000D(2x)/A4000D(under repair)/A4000T (all loaded....Toys...Toys...Toys...)
    Former GVP Tech Support 1989-93 - The beatings will continue until morale improves...

  4. #14
    VIP
    Amibayer!
    SpeedGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Country
    USA
    Region:
    Wisconsin
    Age
    56
    Posts
    946
    Feedback
    22 (100%)

    Default

    The MapRom040+ files can be found in the MapRom040+ archive so they were not included (for reasons of redundancy) in the TurboMMUtools archive.

    MuForce is an almost certainly a 4K MMU tool which will cause problems with TurboMMU040+. Also, you need to install FastCache040+ BEFORE you install TurboMMU040+. See the TurboMMU040+ WARNINGS.

    The EAB thread now contains a detailed explanation of why the mmu.library is not supported by TurboMMU040+. I never understood how most* 68040 and 68060 libraries = mmu.library to some users...
    Last edited by SpeedGeek; 3rd January 2019 at 17:47.

  5. #15
    VIP
    Amibayer!
    SpeedGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Country
    USA
    Region:
    Wisconsin
    Age
    56
    Posts
    946
    Feedback
    22 (100%)

    Default

    ** 8TH NEWS UPDATE **

    TurboMMU040+ 1.6 released.

    v1.6 - Added code to disable the DTTx registers. This is a quick fix to support the very proprietary Apollo 68060.library. Apollo gets away with the default DTTx enable only because the SCSI controller doesn't use DMA.

  6. #16
    VIP
    Amibayer!
    SpeedGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Country
    USA
    Region:
    Wisconsin
    Age
    56
    Posts
    946
    Feedback
    22 (100%)

    Default

    ** 9TH NEWS UPDATE **

    TurboMMU040+ 1.7 released.

    v1.7 - Fixed typo bug for ITTx options. Now shows 4GB size.

  7. #17
    Jack of Many Trades, Semi-Master of Some thebajaguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    368
    Feedback
    34 (100%)

    Default

    I owed you a test.




    TurboMMUbench 1.1 ©SpeedGeek 2018
    ---------------------------------
    512KB Public memory reads.: 5000
    Elapsed time Microseconds.: 320347

    TurboMMU040+ 1.7 ©SpeedGeek 2019
    8K page mode enabled!
    FastCache040+ detected!

    (Latest posted versions enabled)

    TurboMMUbench 1.1 ©SpeedGeek 2018
    ---------------------------------
    512KB Public memory reads.: 5000
    Elapsed time Microseconds.: 157880

    And for a performance reference on the system's 32-bit memory:

    Babel 68060.library 2.3, FastROM Remap, TekMagic 2060 68060/66 32MB RAM, burst memory setting enabled, copyback, Rev 6 CPU

    BusSpeedTest 0.19 (mlelstv) Buffer: 262144 Bytes, Alignment: 32768
    ========================================================================
    memtype addr op cycle calib bandwidth
    fast $040F8000 readw 43.6 ns normal 45.9 * 10^6 byte/s
    fast $040F8000 readl 72.6 ns normal 55.1 * 10^6 byte/s
    fast $040F8000 readm 73.6 ns normal 54.3 * 10^6 byte/s
    fast $040F8000 writew 44.3 ns normal 45.2 * 10^6 byte/s
    fast $040F8000 writel 87.5 ns normal 45.7 * 10^6 byte/s
    fast $040F8000 writem 87.8 ns normal 45.6 * 10^6 byte/s
    A500(2x)/A1000/A1200/A2000(4x)/A3000D(2x)/A4000D(under repair)/A4000T (all loaded....Toys...Toys...Toys...)
    Former GVP Tech Support 1989-93 - The beatings will continue until morale improves...

  8. #18
    VIP
    Amibayer!
    SpeedGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Country
    USA
    Region:
    Wisconsin
    Age
    56
    Posts
    946
    Feedback
    22 (100%)

    Default

    ** 10TH NEWS UPDATE **

    - TurboMMUtools 1.4 released!
    - TurboMMU040+ FAQ 1.0 released!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. FastRomWP released!
    By SpeedGeek in forum Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29th October 2018, 15:42

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •