Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 46

Thread: [Pre-Orders] Kipper2K Dual-Rom / Quad-Rom - hold reset to switch Kickstart rom boards

  1. #1
    SolidCore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Country
    united kingdom
    Region:
    west midlands
    Posts
    42
    Feedback
    2 (100%)

    Default [Pre-Orders] Kipper2K Dual-Rom / Quad-Rom - hold reset CTRL-A-A Kickstart rom boards

    Hi Guys,

    I am taking pre-orders for 16bit and 32bit Dual-Rom (2 in 1) OR Quad-Rom (4 in 1) kickstart boards.

    What is it?

    This dual or quad rom board allows you to swap roms without the need for case modding or jumper swapping, simply hold your CTRL-A-A keys on your amiga keyboard for long than 2 seconds and your amiga will reboot into another kickstart!

    Stocks are being replenished constantly, however to avoid disappointment order now as each order will be fulfilled on a first in first out (FIFO) basis.


    * KEY Features *


    - Simply hold RESET (CTRL-A-A) for a small period of time to switch kick roms. A quick reset will not switch roms. No more case modding switches, no more jumper swapping!


    - Remembers last ROM selected even after power down.


    * Important please read me *


    It goes without saying you are required to provide legal and valid rom images via e-mail once purchased. Unfortunately this romboard cannot be reprogrammed without desoldering the rom chip(s) from the pcb. If you want to test/dev a rom prior to your order being fulfilled you are welcome to do so with your kit and re-programmable ROMs.


    This item is intended for convenient switching of legally owned roms on your Amiga without removing the case to alter jumpers or cutting a case and installing a switch.


    * Options *


    - Quad-Rom (4 in 1) as 16bit or 32bit @ 32.99 excludes P&P
    - Dual-Rom (2 in 1) as 16bit or 32bit @ 23.99 excludes P&P


    *Dimensions*
    32bit (two chip configuration) romboard
    58mm*36mm dimension


    16bit (single chip configuration) romboard
    58mm*18mm dimension


    Supported Systems:
    - A500 /A500+
    - A1500
    - A600 /A600HD
    - A1200 /A1200HD
    - A2000
    - A4000 /A4000T
    - Other (PM)


    Obviously your legally obtained ROM must be specific to the hardware in the above list, it is not possible to use an A1200 ROM in an A4000 or vise versa.


    * How to pre-order *


    All interested parties must declare their interest and are required to PM me, all paid orders are on a first come first serve basis. Production will begin in the next few weeks and will be dispatched immediately in batches.




    * Credits *
    Hardware design by Kipper2K
    Programming by Mike Stirling
    Production by SolidCore
    And a big thanks to the other team members Indigolemon and Freemilk


    * Kipper2k's original announcement *
    http://www.kipper2k.com/romboard/16bitrom.html




    * preorders *

    Pre-Order For Username Paid Posted
    2x Dual-Rom A500+, A500+ mmj_uk Y N
    1x Quad-Rom A1200 amigat Y N
    2x Quad-Rom A4000, A1200 PRS Y N
    2x Quad-Rom go0se Y N
    6x Quad-Rom 2x A500, A600, 2xA1200, 1xA4000D Bobymiller Y N
    2x Quad-Rom 2x A1200 jd64 Y N


    Waiting for...


    3x Dual-Rom A500, A600, A1200 Rakeim132 N N
    *UPDATE 15/02/2019*


    PCB's are 100% and are now shipping. ETA 1-2 weeks.

    Waiting on parts to arrive.

    * Update 17/02/2019 *
    First bath of Quad chips arrived.
    PCB's are on their way.
    Ordered more parts to keep up with the overwhelming demand. Thank you guys.

    Warning: Ensure proper insulation on top of the rom board / metal plate of keyboard , as keyboard back plate may short on your rom board pins. Other custom options such as a mediator etc may have to be insulated also.
    Last edited by SolidCore; 17th February 2019 at 22:02. Reason: Clearing a few important things!

  2. #2
    mmj_uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    34
    Feedback
    3 (100%)

    Default

    I'm interested in 2 x Dual-Rom boards for Amiga 500+.

    PM'ed.
    Last edited by mmj_uk; 10th February 2019 at 23:14.

  3. #3
    SolidCore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Country
    united kingdom
    Region:
    west midlands
    Posts
    42
    Feedback
    2 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mmj_uk View Post
    I'm interested in 2 x Dual-Rom boards for Amiga 500+.
    No problem send me a PM.

  4. #4
    mmj_uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    34
    Feedback
    3 (100%)

    Default

    Payment and roms sent.

  5. #5
    Amiga 1200T Cool amigat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Region:
    Barry,Wales
    Age
    32
    Posts
    506
    Feedback
    63 (100%)

    Default

    can you switch between kick starts via switch? rather then hold down rest,
    also can amiga 500 kickstart rom image work on amiga 1200?
    I did see a video of someone having a500 kickstart on a1200
    Last edited by amigat; 11th February 2019 at 09:04.

  6. #6
    ethan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Country
    Germany
    Region:
    Schleswig-Holstein
    Posts
    40
    Feedback
    2 (100%)

    Default

    Hi
    Do you have pics of the board? Dimensions?

    Thanks

    Regards
    G.

  7. #7
    SolidCore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Country
    united kingdom
    Region:
    west midlands
    Posts
    42
    Feedback
    2 (100%)

    Default

    I can upload pcb images of the boards and their dimensions if that will help . I’m currently out right now but I’ll update the original thread post when I get home .

    if you look at the url in the original post you can see the size of the dual/quad rom board for 16bit Amigas , the a1200 board is basically same but dual-socket size .

    *update*
    Options:
    - Quad-Rom (4 in 1) @ 32.99 excludes P&P - 58mm*18mm dimension
    - Dual-Rom (2 in 1) @ 23.99 excludes P&P - 58mm*36mm dimension
    Last edited by SolidCore; 11th February 2019 at 11:50.

  8. #8
    madk71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Region:
    Essex
    Age
    47
    Posts
    29
    Feedback
    1 (100%)

    Default

    Hi, declaring interest in 1 quad-rom for A2000.
    Can you explain better how it works,please? Kipper's web site is not very clear and there is just 1 picture that don't explain how is the quad and dual rom.
    Thanks

  9. #9
    SolidCore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Country
    united kingdom
    Region:
    west midlands
    Posts
    42
    Feedback
    2 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by madk71 View Post
    Hi, declaring interest in 1 quad-rom for A2000.
    Can you explain better how it works,please? Kipper's web site is not very clear and there is just 1 picture that don't explain how is the quad and dual rom.
    Thanks
    Hi no problem, so in the case of the A2000 (16-bit), it will be a quad-rom (4-in-1) on board the pcb whereby holding RESET for a few seconds will signal the chip to cycle through each rom. a quick hit of the reset button will not swap the rom at boot up as desired , power off will remember the last set rom on power up.

    The dual-rom contains 2 images, so if you had Kickstart 3.1 and Diagrom for example you would simply hold reset to toggle between the roms, KS3.1 , then to Diagrom and the 3rd reset would go back to the beginning KS3.1.

    Hope that explains , I will reply to your PM also acknowledging interest.

  10. #10
    madk71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Region:
    Essex
    Age
    47
    Posts
    29
    Feedback
    1 (100%)

    Default

    Hi, after PM I have to withdraw my interest because the switch is not suitable for me.
    Good luck

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Closed Kickstart dual switch + Kickstart 1.3 and 3.1 A2000
    By ALPHABiT in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd March 2018, 19:13
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th December 2016, 14:34
  3. Wanted reset switch for spectrum 128+2/A/B
    By roy_bates in forum Sinclair
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 21st March 2014, 18:31
  4. Closed [ITALY] YDL Powerstation dual 2.5GHz 970MP (quad G5)
    By ppc.addon in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th October 2012, 15:05
  5. Sold C64 UserPort reset switch
    By SunDown79 in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd December 2011, 21:56

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •