Page 1 of 16 1234511 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 153

Thread: [Pre-Orders] Kipper2K Dual-Rom / Quad-Rom - hold reset to switch Kickstart rom boards

  1. #1
    SolidCore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Country
    united kingdom
    Region:
    west midlands
    Posts
    134
    Feedback
    12 (100%)

    Default [Pre-Orders] Kipper2K Dual-Rom / Quad-Rom - hold reset CTRL-A-A Kickstart rom boards

    Orders open .

    Sold many units to many satisfied amibay users, read posts to see user videos .



    Hi Guys,

    I am taking pre-orders for 16bit and 32bit Dual-Rom (2 in 1) OR Quad-Rom (4 in 1) kickstart boards.

    What is it?

    This dual or quad rom board allows you to swap roms without the need for case modding or jumper swapping, simply hold your CTRL-A-A keys on your amiga keyboard for long than 2 seconds and your amiga will reboot into another kickstart!

    VIDEO: CTRL-A-A Reset Toggles the kickstart (Manually shorting kb Reset to gnd here but same thing)
    -> https://streamable.com/pblrr


    KEY Features- Simply hold RESET (CTRL-A-A) for a small period of time to switch kick roms. A quick reset will not switch roms.
    - No more case modding switches, no more jumper swapping!
    - Remembers last ROM selected even after power down.


    Important please read me (LEGAL NOTICE)

    It goes without saying you are required to provide legal and valid rom images via e-mail before purchase. Unfortunately this romboard cannot be reprogrammed without desoldering the rom chip(s) from the pcb.

    This item is intended for convenient switching of legally owned roms on your Amiga(s)!

    Price Menu

    - Quad-Rom (4 in 1) as 16bit or 32bit @ 32.99 excludes P&P*
    - Dual-Rom (2 in 1) as 16bit or 32bit @ 23.99 excludes P&P*

    * P&P (UK 7~ GBP, other areas TBD at point of sale)

    Dimensions

    32bit rom (two chip configuration) romboard
    58mm*36mm dimension

    16bit rom (single chip configuration) romboard
    58mm*18mm dimension

    Supported Systems

    16bit:
    - A500 /A500+
    - A1500
    - A600 /A600HD
    - A2000

    32bit:
    - A1200 /A1200HD
    - A4000 /A4000T * dropping support for this right now, all orders will be honoured thus far. PM me for more info if required.
    - Other (PM)


    Obviously your legally obtained ROM must be specific to the hardware in the above list, it is not possible to use an A1200 ROM in an A4000 or vise versa without adverse issues or failure to boot. It is possible to use A500/A600/A2000 interchangably but it is not recommended to pull the rom board in/out between Amiga, make several purchases.

    How to order

    All interested parties must declare their interest and are required to PM me, all paid orders are on a first come first serve basis. Production HAS began and I’m getting through the list. To avoid delay order today .

    Credits

    Hardware design by Kipper2K
    Programming by Mike Stirling
    Production by SolidCore
    And a big thanks to the other team members Indigolemon and Freemilk

    Kipper2k's original announcement
    http://www.kipper2k.com/romboard/16bitrom.html


    A firm and proper warning:

    Ensure proper insulation on top of the rom board / metal plate of keyboard , as keyboard back plate may short on your rom board pins. Other custom options such as a mediator etc may have to be insulated also. INSERTION or REMOVAL of kickstart romboards at your own risk. IF you are not sure, ask the forum or this thread!!! don't insert the rom board incorrectly. make sure you read before inserting anything into your amiga... the wrong position or
    orientation can cause black smoke! TO remove romboard safely, put the back of tweezer handle and turn clock-wise or counter-clock-wise in the gap under PCB to push the pcb up out of the socket a tiny bit , moving between each corner or side slowly. Pulling tools/screw driver or hands is not recommended . I am not responsible for damage caused by you or hardware installation in your Amiga and you agree to not hold me liable for said damages. All 3rd party hardware to Be used in your vintage machine should be used at your own risk
    Last edited by SolidCore; 5th June 2019 at 15:11. Reason: updated status

  2. #2
    mmj_uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    41
    Feedback
    5 (100%)

    Default

    I'm interested in 2 x Dual-Rom boards for Amiga 500+.

    PM'ed.
    Last edited by mmj_uk; 10th February 2019 at 22:14.

  3. #3
    SolidCore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Country
    united kingdom
    Region:
    west midlands
    Posts
    134
    Feedback
    12 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mmj_uk View Post
    I'm interested in 2 x Dual-Rom boards for Amiga 500+.
    No problem send me a PM.

  4. #4
    mmj_uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    41
    Feedback
    5 (100%)

    Default

    Payment and roms sent.

  5. #5
    Amiga 1200T Cool amigat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Region:
    Barry,Wales
    Age
    33
    Posts
    518
    Feedback
    66 (100%)

    Default

    can you switch between kick starts via switch? rather then hold down rest,
    also can amiga 500 kickstart rom image work on amiga 1200?
    I did see a video of someone having a500 kickstart on a1200
    Last edited by amigat; 11th February 2019 at 08:04.

  6. #6
    ethan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Country
    Germany
    Region:
    Schleswig-Holstein
    Posts
    82
    Feedback
    7 (100%)

    Default

    Hi
    Do you have pics of the board? Dimensions?

    Thanks

    Regards
    G.

  7. #7
    SolidCore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Country
    united kingdom
    Region:
    west midlands
    Posts
    134
    Feedback
    12 (100%)

    Default

    I can upload pcb images of the boards and their dimensions if that will help . I’m currently out right now but I’ll update the original thread post when I get home .

    if you look at the url in the original post you can see the size of the dual/quad rom board for 16bit Amigas , the a1200 board is basically same but dual-socket size .

    *See main thread*
    Last edited by SolidCore; 16th March 2019 at 23:18.

  8. #8
    madk71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Region:
    Essex
    Age
    47
    Posts
    47
    Feedback
    4 (100%)

    Default

    Hi, declaring interest in 1 quad-rom for A2000.
    Can you explain better how it works,please? Kipper's web site is not very clear and there is just 1 picture that don't explain how is the quad and dual rom.
    Thanks

  9. #9
    SolidCore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Country
    united kingdom
    Region:
    west midlands
    Posts
    134
    Feedback
    12 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by madk71 View Post
    Hi, declaring interest in 1 quad-rom for A2000.
    Can you explain better how it works,please? Kipper's web site is not very clear and there is just 1 picture that don't explain how is the quad and dual rom.
    Thanks
    Hi no problem, so in the case of the A2000 (16-bit), it will be a quad-rom (4-in-1) on board the pcb whereby holding RESET for a few seconds will signal the chip to cycle through each rom. a quick hit of the reset button will not swap the rom at boot up as desired , power off will remember the last set rom on power up.

    The dual-rom contains 2 images, so if you had Kickstart 3.1 and Diagrom for example you would simply hold reset to toggle between the roms, KS3.1 , then to Diagrom and the 3rd reset would go back to the beginning KS3.1.

    Hope that explains , I will reply to your PM also acknowledging interest.

  10. #10
    madk71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Region:
    Essex
    Age
    47
    Posts
    47
    Feedback
    4 (100%)

    Default

    Hi, after PM I have to withdraw my interest because the switch is not suitable for me.
    Good luck

Page 1 of 16 1234511 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Closed Kickstart dual switch + Kickstart 1.3 and 3.1 A2000
    By ALPHABiT in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd March 2018, 18:13
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th December 2016, 13:34
  3. Wanted reset switch for spectrum 128+2/A/B
    By roy_bates in forum Sinclair
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 21st March 2014, 17:31
  4. Closed [ITALY] YDL Powerstation dual 2.5GHz 970MP (quad G5)
    By ppc.addon in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th October 2012, 14:05
  5. Sold C64 UserPort reset switch
    By SunDown79 in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd December 2011, 20:56

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •