Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: GuruROM 6.16 for 2019 Support Thread

  1. #1
    Jack of Many Trades, Semi-Master of Some thebajaguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    368
    Feedback
    34 (100%)

    Default GuruROM 6.16 for 2019 Support Thread

    This will be the Support anchor post for the GuruROM v6.16 + Adapter ROM pieces I have started to ship as of mid-March 2019.

    The sale interest thread is here: http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php...mniscsi-device

    I'd prefer it if the sales thread is not clouded with questions and tech issues that might come up, so please come here.

    I realize there is lots of documentation written in the main thread, and I have a manual almost ready. A good amount of it should at least be reviewed as it applies to your SCSI controller board. Below is a quick set of things to cover, as several were topics that came up even back in 1993 during GVP Tech Support days.


    As I have had a chance to test lots of combinations and come to understand where plenty of bottlenecks in systems occur, I will reiterate: Not all combinations of hardware will see performance improvements. If you are at the speed limit of your SCSI drive's media-head transfer rate (or it's interface design), it won't go faster. If you have one of the boards where you can't clock the 33C93A to 14MHz, you will hit another speed limiter. C= controllers which have DMA copy-up to >16MB RAM on a 32-bit accelerator situation may improve over the classic C= ROMs, but both them and GVP FastROM (with HD8/HC8/HC Series II) environments are then limited by the CPU copy-up process, which leaves you somewhere around 1/2 of the Zorro II bus speed as a limiter, and then whatever CPU/32-bit memory combination you have to figure in that mix. What you do get is a more versatile tool set (GVPSCSICtrl, OmniSCSICtrl, etc) for unique environments, better multi-tasking of the SCSI bus (DC/RC is stable even at 7MHz SCSI clock for C= controllers), and no need to track down an updated -08 33C93A SCSI chip if you have an older one on a C= controller (any 'A' variant should be good, with -04 seen on many). In some optimal situations, the speed limit is raised a good amount into the 2MB-3MB/sec environments.


    A refresher on SCSI Termination:

    TD---D---D---DT

    T=Terminator, D=Device, --- is cable/bus. Two terminators, one at each distant end.

    Pitfalls: Most GVP cards, and C= cards, except the GVP 68040/33, have soldered in terminator packs. By using the internal 50 and external 25, you are breaking SCSI termination spec if you use both interface connectors. You might get away with just a 1"-2" cable inside on a hard card (w/drive that has no terminators) and something actively terminated external, but Sync speeds could be a problem where Async previously was not. Technically, the SCSI controller card is a Device, and it shouldn't have terminators if it's in the middle. I can't fix the shortsightedness/cost control efforts of C=/GVP from back then. I just know the issues it can cause.


    When experimenting with Sync transfers on a device, use the "OmniSCSICtrl <ID#> Synchronous" command. HDToolBox defaults to not setting the Synchronous flag, and it is not an option to set on the 3.1.4 release HDToolBox. I am trying to get the next update to OS 3.1.4 to gain that flag somewhere, but no info is available if it will make it. Using the software tool method to enable Sync is the safe way, and is recommended.

    Note the jumpers/dip switch settings on C= controllers. GuruROM 6.16 expects them to be in a default unmodified (7MHz) clock setting unless the correct jumper is added after physical clock modifications are done. Just know that 7MHz clocking and Sync operation is iffy with the 33C93A (on either maker's board), and it really needs 14MHz in order to do it within SCSI Sync spec. GVP boards, where settable, are expected to be in 14MHz mode if they have the option, and later products had 14MHz as the default.


    Legacy C= HDToolBox controller setup may have needed Disconnect/Reconnect turned off in the boot block(s) to address bus hangs. Use OmniSCSICtrl <ID#> Disconnect to override (enable) a boot block DC/RC disable setting for testing. This is also the recommended method.


    Use the tools to test settings before going to the effort of updating boot blocks with permanent settings. In most cases, the command early in S:Startup-Sequence to turn on the improved function is sufficient.


    DMAMask and MaxTransfer values are unfortunate kludges that have been propagated by support tools making up for past driver limitations. When they are wielded by those that don't understand what they do, performance suffers.

    The omniscsi.device is aware of every environment possible in the last 30+ years of Amiga 680x0 classic hardware. It expects any RAM <16MB (24-bit address space) to be DMA-accessible (a C= spec). It knows about any GVP hardware that can DMA into it's own >16MB 32-bit RAM (and any problem hardware within that lot). It knows about possible bus bugs in A3000/A4000 24-bit DMA to ChipRAM environments (and has an override if your system is stable doing DMA to that memory/wish to test). It knows how to handle Copy-Up to >16MB RAM ranges where the 24-bit addressing DMA processors can't get to for all other situations. It also handles device MaxTransfer values internally at device-optimal values. Therefore: FileSystem DMAMask should be 0XFFFFFFFE, and MaxTransfer should be 0x7FFFFFFF, for any media that will remain on a GuruROM-driven SCSI controller, or a GVP FastROM-driven interface. If the media will end up on other controllers at some point, you may have to make adjustments to those values for their needs, and accept the performance hit if it impacts your configuration. Note: A Mask of 0xFFFFFFFF will not adversely affect communications with GuruROM/omniscsi.device, as odd-boundary transfers are supported.

    GVPCPUCtrl v2.6

    - v2.6 is the latest version, and has an error code now displayed (for the next bullet point, if encountered), but v2.3 otherwise works fine. No system performance changes apply.

    - Mixing the previous v2.3 GVPCPUCtrl tool with the older FastROM 4.x gvpscsi.device present may function (for a FastROM remap), but will produce a return code (20) that differs from the standard success (0), breaking scripts with low/default FailAt values. Use the proper tool from the GVP/GVP-M disks if you are on a configuration using the older FastROM driver for some reason. Use the version with the GuruROM Support tools with omniscsi.device active in the system.

    - The GVP version of the tool, vs Ralph's GuruROM version of the tool, has a slightly different communications structure with the boards & OS. The latest versions of the GuruROM tool also avoids an obscure glitch in the FastROM activation. It was discovered years later that writing a 16-bit word to the enabling register - something that should have been legal, could cause a lockup. Writing a 32-bit longword to the register addresses the issue.

    - The tool's 'MoveSSP' option will work with any 32-bit CPU accelerator board with FastRAM, moving the system table from ChipRAM to first available FastRAM. Very minor CPU benchmark improvements are seen, but it's benefit comes more into play while the system is under multitasking and I/O load (the System Stack resides in faster memory after this is run). This kind of tool is recommended for any accelerator configuration where the 32-bit FastRAM is software-added (non-AutoConfig) by a driver or a manual AddMem. Other packages, like MuTools, may perform this function (with an MMU) in one of it's tool options, and may avoid warnings from AV packages - just noting it here so that duplication of the function by two different tools is not done.

    (I'll add more to this section as additional wisdom bubbles up)

    I still owe everyone my docs and the latest tools. The sale thread has plenty of detail, and HDToolBox will get the basics done for new installations.
    Last edited by thebajaguy; 20th July 2019 at 20:47.
    A500(2x)/A1000/A1200/A2000(4x)/A3000D(2x)/A4000D(under repair)/A4000T (all loaded....Toys...Toys...Toys...)
    Former GVP Tech Support 1989-93 - The beatings will continue until morale improves...

  2. #2
    MumPitz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Country
    Germany
    Region:
    RLP
    Age
    46
    Posts
    21
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    Is a G-Force 030 (Impact A2000-030 Combo Series II) also supported?

  3. #3
    Dancing with bridgeboards Amibayer! BlindGerMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Country
    Germany
    Region:
    Bavaria
    Age
    46
    Posts
    3,433
    Feedback
    317 (100%)

    Default

    Yes, tested and working!
    A2000 2/128/-MB-OS3.9-DKB Wildfire-Picasso IV+Concierto+PabloII+Paloma-Deneb-A2386@TI486SLC2/66-ATI Mach64-Tekram DC600T
    A2500/30 2/112/6MB-OS3.1-A2630+BigRAM2630-A2091-A2410-A2065-A2286-A2320
    A1200 2/256/-MB-OS3.9-Blizzard 1230IV/SCSI-IDEfix Express-Indi AGA MkIIcr


  4. #4
    Morphfrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Country
    Sweden
    Region:
    Sweden
    Posts
    4
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    Hi
    I got the chip and its installed and working fine, I just looking for where I can obtain the OmniSCSI utils?

    thanks in advance
    /mats

  5. #5
    Finger lickin' good Amibayer! matt020's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Country
    Western Australia
    Region:
    Western Australia
    Posts
    508
    Feedback
    7 (100%)

    Default

    I have an A2091 with 6.6 ROM's. I have a single CDROM drive on the chain. It takes 2 minutes, 45 seconds for the A2091 to scan the SCSI bus for devices, and in that time, the A2000 just waits and waits. The card has standard terminators onboard, and the CDROM has termination activated.

    Once the SCSI bus is scanned and the CDROM drive found, everything resumes and continues to load Workbench. CD0 is mounted and it all works great!!

    Will the GURU ROM correct this rather large delay time while the SCSI bus is scanned for devices?
    Amiga 500 / 2000 / 1200 / CD32

  6. #6
    Jack of Many Trades, Semi-Master of Some thebajaguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    368
    Feedback
    34 (100%)

    Default

    Morphfrog - I'll have a link for you in 1:1 for the 3 basic tools (OmniSCSICtrl, GVPSCSICtrl and GVPCPUCtrl). I don't have the 'full' archive image put together and posted anywhere.

    Matt020 - The scan timeout is about 20 seconds for GuruROM with no devices present (from power on), so it should be faster than the classic ROM default. Note that one of the A2091 JP5 jumpers, when shorted, actually increases boot time. Make sure they are all 'open'.
    A500(2x)/A1000/A1200/A2000(4x)/A3000D(2x)/A4000D(under repair)/A4000T (all loaded....Toys...Toys...Toys...)
    Former GVP Tech Support 1989-93 - The beatings will continue until morale improves...

  7. #7
    Morphfrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Country
    Sweden
    Region:
    Sweden
    Posts
    4
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    thebajaguy: I got it thanks.

  8. #8
    marco920's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Country
    ITALIA
    Region:
    ROMA
    Age
    44
    Posts
    44
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    Good morning everyone, I joined after years of reading because I have a BIG problem and I suggested to ask you.

    Years ago I bought a GVP IMPACT II HD + (http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/impact500mk2) with the original eprom (I think 3.14) and the original 40mb HD SCSI II that continued.


    My configuration
    A500 / +
    512 KB of RAM
    Swith kickrom 2.4 / 1.3
    GVP with 2x4mb.
    GURUROM with gvpscsi.device Not omiscsi.device . It's error?

    I first turn on the GVP on "GAME SWITCH", then turn on the Amiga 500 / + and wait for the kickrom image to appear and then move the button in "GVP autoboot", reset the amiga500 / + and insert the floppy "GVP UTILITY" (which leads to the blue screen that asks me Y / N) and start reading the floppy.
    With the original EPROM / HD, I do NOT encounter any problems, it identifies the HD to me, "prepares" it, "partitions" and "formats" and copies the floppies of WB 1.3.2, when requested, and on reboot it boots me and loads it correctly; but since I'm going to use the WHDLOAD, I have bought 2 HD SCSI II of 4.56Gb and a "GURUROM 6.14", so without adapter, (I have no installation floppy or other), but they started problems.
    The GVP and Amiga500 / + start-up procedure gives problems; when I move the button to "Autoboot" e restart the Amiga 500 / +, the green / red LED flashes (I have an old Amiga 500 model I have put the 1.3 kickrom instead of the 1.2), and manifests several errors (GURUMEDITATION or OTHER), while if not restart, it loads correctly the "GVP UTILITY" floppy, but the 4.56gb HD is recognized as if it were only 261mb (in the top right corner there is the word "HD SIZE").
    Sometimes, partitions the HD into 3 and if the digits are maximum, they correspond to the total size of the HD, but when "I prepare", "partition" and "format", every now and then gives me an error in setting the cylinders and when this error does not occur, when the Amiga restarts, it does not do the BOOT (AUTOBOOT), but the green / red LED flashes, and if I use the WB 1.3 or "GVP INSTALL" floppy disk containing a minimum of WB 1.3, to me it displays the partitions with the copy of WB1.3 or other, but does not boot (but does it with the old eprom and with 40mb HD)
    I hope I was clear; can you tell me which procedure I forget or don't know or what am I wrong?
    Last edited by marco920; 8th November 2019 at 11:11.

  9. #9
    Jack of Many Trades, Semi-Master of Some thebajaguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    368
    Feedback
    34 (100%)

    Default

    In the reply further down, I'll respond to Marco920, but I was contacted recently with regard to the A590, and much of the jumper setting detail is sketchy (I don't own one to confirm). Here is a clarification (hopefully) based on compiled info and talking to SpeedGeek and Ralph Babel at times in the past:

    1 - An early reply to this thread http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php...4-Mhz-SCSI-Mod - on Pg1 - someone made a comment about the GVP HC8 or HD8 33C93A clocking - J2 is your 7/14Mhz 33C93A selector. If memory serves, any GVP driver after v3.12 assumes the 14Mhz 33C93A setting is set by default (pins 2/3). G-Force 030/040/A530 also default to 14Mhz with a different jumper, and no need to use 7Mhz. The GuruROM v6 also assumes 14Mhz clocking on all GVP boards that come with that capability. Some Series II boards have ID jumpers, and one of them flags for the opposite clock setting (non-default) of the ROM's default.

    2 - The GuruROM v6 code that adds support for the A2091/A590 (IIRC that's v6.11 or v6.12 and above) and expects the 33C93A controller to be in 7Mhz clock mode on these boards >unless< there is indication (a jumper) present that flags the driver that a clock mod to 14Mhz has been done.

    3 - The SDTR suppression jumper/DIP switch is for situations where boot time SDTR commands hang a device (they are technically failing SCSI spec by their behavior and not responding to it). The GuruROM v6 will query the device unless the flag (jumper/DIP) tells it not to (on boards with jumper options). It's best to set any boot blocks to Async, and let the provided tool set Sync operation per device during startup.

    Jumpers/DIP Settings (GuruROM):

    A2091 JP5-2 open 7MHz (default)
    A2091 JP5-2 closed 14MHz
    A2091 JP5-4 open - SDTR boot time polling (default)
    A2091 JP5-4 closed - SDTR polling supressed at boot

    A590 DIP 1-3 open 7MHz (default)
    A590 DIP 1-3 closed 14MHz
    A590 DIP 1-4 open - SDTR boot time polling (default)
    A590 DIP 1-4 closed - SDTR polling suppressed at boot

    The C= ROM jumper settings for extended poll and LUN poll/ignore do not apply to GuruROM.

    GVP Series II HC/HC8/HD8 (if equipped with ID jumpers) and All drivers
    J10/J11 - Open (default) - Driver Default Clocking expected (GuruROM v6 and v3.14+ FastROM expect 14Mhz)

    J10/J11 - Closed - Opposite of Driver Default Clocking (i.e. 7Mhz must be set by J2 in 1/2 position for above noted versions)
    J12 - Open -
    SDTR command at boot time polling (default)
    J12 - Closed - SDTR command polling suppressed at boot

    Note:Boards without ID jumpers can't invert the driver default or disable the SDTR polling.

    These jumper options apply only to the board they are set on. A GuruROM on one board can drive all of these GVP and C= controllers in a system.


    - - - Updated - - -

    Okay, for Marco920:

    The Kickstart 1.2 and the hard disk with >4GB capacity are the two main red flags to address, but there are other things to consider. I'll try to cover them and the misunderstandings:

    1) Original GVP SCSI drivers of v3.x and v4.x are (marketing) FastROM drivers. gvpscsi.device is the driver name in all cases. The GuruROM v6 is a 3rd party offering (never sold new on GVP gear) and it always has a driver name of omniscsi.device, with v6.x or v1.x reported depending on the way it's obtained or observed. It's a dual-layer driver to support the different hardware (lower) and common Amiga (higher) driver interfaces, so different versions appear, although the latter revision value is always the same.

    2) The 'Game Switch' merely makes the controller ROM appear or disappear from the controller's memory space, and nothing more. It seems the behavior you describe with boot up is a result of all devices not becoming 'ready' with the power on of the A500. Turn on all devices except the A500 first, then the A500's power, and the need to flip the switch and Ctrl-A-A will cease on cold boot. There is also a hack (increase a capacitor value within the A500 motherbaord) that can delay the A500's reset delay on power on sometimes enough to allow it to work all powered at once. I have documented it in other forums, but that is out of scope for this topic.

    3) Both FastROM and GuruROM support native 32-bit FFS. Amiga OS 3.1 and earlier, and the matching FFS that came with it, are limited to <4GB media (drives) and <2GB FFS partitions. Going past these limits on these FFS versions will eventually cause address-wrap on the disk media, and corrupt the partition(s) at the beginning of the partition/drive at some point. OS 3.5/3.9 have patch solutions to get around this, but it's not simple to understand, and I'm not the one to cover it.

    4) OS 3.1.4 (Release in 2018 ) supports >4GB media and >4GB partitions by testing for TD_64 API and HD_SCSI_CMD/SCSI_Direct compatibility. GuruROM supports both, and FastROM supports HD_SCSI_CMD/SCSI_Direct. Use the included (new) HDToolBox with 3.1.4 for partitioning the disks with either .device driver (modify icon ToolType, or add driver to the HDToolBox command line as a parameter). DO NOT use the legacy GVP FastPrep/ExpertPrep v1.x/v2.x in the case of OS 3.1.4. GVP FastPrep is only 32-bit aware, and not 64-bit aware. Support for 64-bit is needed for disk sizes >4GB, partitions >2GB.

    5) The GuruROM v6 always requires the matching adapter module, and the ROM only can not replace a v3/v4 FastROM. The v6 omniscsi.device driver is too big for the ROM code space provided by the boards (Both C= and GVP).

    6) Kickstart 1.2 ROM does not support standard Autoboot ROMs on any controller, and it results in a guru-crash. It is an OS bug, and Kickstart 1.3 (or newer) is needed.

    As you don't seem to have anything newer than OS 1.3 in your problem description, boot from the GVP floppy, use the ExpertPrep tool/mode. Erase all partitions (Erase RDB). Then re-read the media, and give yourself 4 partitions of sizes 768MB, 1024MB, 1024MB, and 1024MB. This will use about 3.75GB of the disk space, and keep the partition/disk limitations at bay.

    I'd suggest using one of the later versions of FastPrep or ExpertPrep if you have means to transfer a DMS to physical Amiga media or other image format (like ADF). The v2.51 of the disk (DMS) file, or ExpertPrep tool is on the gvp-m.com website is available if you can transfer files and convert over.

    In either case, use manual mode, and punch in the size values in the column that provide the matching MB/partition, and let it pick the cylinder start and stop values (hit enter until it wraps to the new partition line). Write the settings, format the partitions, and let the copy files function transfer 1) the GVP disk, 2) The Workbench Disk, and 3) Extras disks (in that order) to the first (DH0: ) partition. Later, in a shell, copy the DH0: partition to one of the others (i.e - copy DH0: DH3: all clone) as a backup if you mess up something and need an original install to start over with.

    I hope this helps.

    Robert



    Quote Originally Posted by marco920 View Post
    Good morning everyone, I joined after years of reading because I have a BIG problem and I suggested to ask you.

    Years ago I bought a GVP IMPACT II HD + (http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/impact500mk2) with the original eprom (I think 3.14) and the original 40mb HD SCSI II that continued.


    My configuration
    A500 / +
    512 KB of RAM
    Swith kickrom 2.4 / 1.3
    GVP with 2x4mb.
    GURUROM with gvpscsi.device Not omiscsi.device . It's error?

    I first turn on the GVP on "GAME SWITCH", then turn on the Amiga 500 / + and wait for the kickrom image to appear and then move the button in "GVP autoboot", reset the amiga500 / + and insert the floppy "GVP UTILITY" (which leads to the blue screen that asks me Y / N) and start reading the floppy.
    With the original EPROM / HD, I do NOT encounter any problems, it identifies the HD to me, "prepares" it, "partitions" and "formats" and copies the floppies of WB 1.3.2, when requested, and on reboot it boots me and loads it correctly; but since I'm going to use the WHDLOAD, I have bought 2 HD SCSI II of 4.56Gb and a "GURUROM 6.14", so without adapter, (I have no installation floppy or other), but they started problems.
    The GVP and Amiga500 / + start-up procedure gives problems; when I move the button to "Autoboot" e restart the Amiga 500 / +, the green / red LED flashes (I have an old Amiga 500 model I have put the 1.3 kickrom instead of the 1.2), and manifests several errors (GURUMEDITATION or OTHER), while if not restart, it loads correctly the "GVP UTILITY" floppy, but the 4.56gb HD is recognized as if it were only 261mb (in the top right corner there is the word "HD SIZE").
    Sometimes, partitions the HD into 3 and if the digits are maximum, they correspond to the total size of the HD, but when "I prepare", "partition" and "format", every now and then gives me an error in setting the cylinders and when this error does not occur, when the Amiga restarts, it does not do the BOOT (AUTOBOOT), but the green / red LED flashes, and if I use the WB 1.3 or "GVP INSTALL" floppy disk containing a minimum of WB 1.3, to me it displays the partitions with the copy of WB1.3 or other, but does not boot (but does it with the old eprom and with 40mb HD)
    I hope I was clear; can you tell me which procedure I forget or don't know or what am I wrong?
    Last edited by thebajaguy; 22nd November 2019 at 02:15.
    A500(2x)/A1000/A1200/A2000(4x)/A3000D(2x)/A4000D(under repair)/A4000T (all loaded....Toys...Toys...Toys...)
    Former GVP Tech Support 1989-93 - The beatings will continue until morale improves...

  10. #10
    Starvak-Sp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Country
    Spain
    Region:
    Huelva
    Posts
    48
    Feedback
    1 (100%)

    Default Gururom 6.16 software utils update.

    Hi. I bought the gururom6.16 a long time ago. I would also like to have the software updated. Any download link?
    Regards.




    Quote Originally Posted by thebajaguy View Post
    Morphfrog - I'll have a link for you in 1:1 for the 3 basic tools (OmniSCSICtrl, GVPSCSICtrl and GVPCPUCtrl). I don't have the 'full' archive image put together and posted anywhere.

    Matt020 - The scan timeout is about 20 seconds for GuruROM with no devices present (from power on), so it should be faster than the classic ROM default. Note that one of the A2091 JP5 jumpers, when shorted, actually increases boot time. Make sure they are all 'open'.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Retr0bright Support Thread
    By gazcbm in forum AmiOracle
    Replies: 1048
    Last Post: 24th September 2018, 12:49
  2. Replies: 20
    Last Post: 5th July 2018, 21:29
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th June 2017, 22:13
  4. Closed A1200 Floppy disk support, HD support and Metallic shield.
    By Marmes in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th July 2012, 00:03

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •