Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Need help with Amiga CD32

  1. #1
    ori1a's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Country
    Poland
    Region:
    Pomorskie
    Posts
    118
    Feedback
    14 (100%)

    Default Need help with Amiga CD32

    Dear Amiga Experts,
    I need help identifying and solving following Amiga CD32 problem.
    My Amiga CD32 encounters some video "glitches" and sometimes hangs.
    Running "Amiga analyzer" memory test always ends with hang.
    Video "Glitches" are encountered mostly with TF330 installed. Sometimes CD32 hangs even while starting "CD32 logo" screen, and video signal is lost.
    See below images and videos from running WB and Amiga analyzer on my CD32 with TF330.
    (Btw. Amiga has new capacitors.)
    https://photos.app.goo.gl/UB4aKgXqY2AzcN6y8


  2. #2
    Amiga1260 awmosoft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Country
    Gennep, The Netherlands
    Region:
    Limburg
    Posts
    346
    Feedback
    36 (100%)

    Default

    What kind of PSU do you use?
    Last edited by awmosoft; 24th June 2019 at 14:09.

  3. #3
    ori1a's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Country
    Poland
    Region:
    Pomorskie
    Posts
    118
    Feedback
    14 (100%)

    Default

    300W ATX - Seasonic SS300TFX with adapter


    Wysłane z mojego ASUS_Z00AD przy użyciu Tapatalka

  4. #4
    supaduper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Country
    England
    Region:
    west midlands
    Posts
    2,038
    Feedback
    296 (100%)

    Default

    Looks like the Video circuit has a problem, is this using the Composite video ? and I take it you have tried the RGB on the TF330 riser
    Last edited by supaduper; 24th June 2019 at 15:23.

  5. #5
    ori1a's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Country
    Poland
    Region:
    Pomorskie
    Posts
    118
    Feedback
    14 (100%)

    Default

    All recordings are from RGB output on riser.
    Last edited by ori1a; 24th June 2019 at 15:33.

  6. #6
    supaduper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Country
    England
    Region:
    west midlands
    Posts
    2,038
    Feedback
    296 (100%)

    Default

    Is it the same on Composite ?

  7. #7
    ori1a's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Country
    Poland
    Region:
    Pomorskie
    Posts
    118
    Feedback
    14 (100%)

    Default

    Almost the same. Composite is not so sharp.
    Last edited by ori1a; 24th June 2019 at 16:11.

  8. #8
    supaduper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Country
    England
    Region:
    west midlands
    Posts
    2,038
    Feedback
    296 (100%)

    Default

    Then I will guess its either the Video DAC or Video encoder chip that is failing

  9. #9
    ori1a's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Country
    Poland
    Region:
    Pomorskie
    Posts
    118
    Feedback
    14 (100%)

    Default

    I will try to freeze Lisa chip to check possible micro damage.
    Last edited by ori1a; 24th June 2019 at 18:14.

  10. #10
    ori1a's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Country
    Poland
    Region:
    Pomorskie
    Posts
    118
    Feedback
    14 (100%)

    Default

    I solved the issue.
    It was probably U2 cold solder.
    I was suggested to freeze U4 but freezing U2 was significant. Then I hotaired U2 and problem has gone.
    Thanks.

    Wysłane z mojego ASUS_Z00AD przy użyciu Tapatalka

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th October 2017, 02:55
  2. For Sale Amiga CD32 with boxed competition pro CD32 gamepad.
    By Marmes in forum Amiga
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10th January 2017, 06:53
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th September 2016, 19:38
  4. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 16th December 2015, 13:29
  5. Sold Amiga Cd32 With 2 cd32 pads +svideo flicker fixer
    By uigiflip in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 28th June 2011, 16:22

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •