Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: A600 Vampire 2, boot from micro sd ?

  1. #1
    Mr.Bits45's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Country
    Australia
    Region:
    Victoria
    Age
    46
    Posts
    55
    Feedback
    0

    Default A600 Vampire 2, boot from micro sd ?

    Hi,

    I have purchased a Vampire 2 rev.2.2 with core 2.11 and a micro sd card with coffin r0.54 and lots of goodies.
    I just want to know if the system actually boots from this card or do I need to do some things with the CF DH0: on the amiga's IDE ?
    Is it as simple as just inserting the micro SD card and booting from it.
    Please let me know .

    Thanks
    Last edited by Mr.Bits45; 27th June 2019 at 04:31.

  2. #2
    Mr.Bits45's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Country
    Australia
    Region:
    Victoria
    Age
    46
    Posts
    55
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    I just need to know if the Vampire 2 can boot from its Micro SD slot.

    Thanks

  3. #3
    Amibayer! demolition's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Country
    Denmark
    Region:
    Copenhagen
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,329
    Feedback
    67 (100%)

    Default

    It cannot boot from SD since the kickstart does not have a driver for it so you need to boot from the A600 IDE connector. If you want, then you can load the SD driver continue booting from the SD but I suggest you just use the IDE port for the entire system and then use the SD slot for bulk storage / backup (it could be FAT formatted to make it easier to transfer to PC).
    A1200 (NOS) : 030 33MHz 128MB fast RAM (ACA1232) : Indivision AGA MkII : 8GB CF : RR USB : Ethernet
    A600 #1 : 080 V2 : 128MB fast : 2MB chip : Indivision ECS : 32GB CF : RR USB
    : Ethernet | A600 #2 : 010 : 2MB chip
    A500 : 68000 42MHz : 1MB chip : 8MB fast : 4GB CF | A500+ : 080 V2+ : 128MB fast : 2MB chip : 32GB CF

  4. #4
    Mr.Bits45's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Country
    Australia
    Region:
    Victoria
    Age
    46
    Posts
    55
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    Thanks,

    So what about the Micro SD cards with coffin on them on ebay, aren't they bootable ?
    I emailed the seller and he said it boots from their sd card.

  5. #5
    Amibayer! demolition's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Country
    Denmark
    Region:
    Copenhagen
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,329
    Feedback
    67 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr.Bits45 View Post
    Thanks,

    So what about the Micro SD cards with coffin on them on ebay, aren't they bootable ?
    I emailed the seller and he said it boots from their sd card.
    I don't know about those ebay SD cards, but it is probably just the standard coffin image written to an SD card. Yes, they are bootable but only if you use an IDE-SD adapter on the A600 IDE connector, not if you put it on the Vampire SD card slot.

    Just get one of those:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	kebidu-SD-to-IDE-2-5-44-Pin-Adapter-SDHC-SDXC-MMC-to-IDE-2-5.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	111.8 KB 
ID:	147826
    Last edited by demolition; 28th June 2019 at 04:38.
    A1200 (NOS) : 030 33MHz 128MB fast RAM (ACA1232) : Indivision AGA MkII : 8GB CF : RR USB : Ethernet
    A600 #1 : 080 V2 : 128MB fast : 2MB chip : Indivision ECS : 32GB CF : RR USB
    : Ethernet | A600 #2 : 010 : 2MB chip
    A500 : 68000 42MHz : 1MB chip : 8MB fast : 4GB CF | A500+ : 080 V2+ : 128MB fast : 2MB chip : 32GB CF

  6. #6
    Mr.Bits45's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Country
    Australia
    Region:
    Victoria
    Age
    46
    Posts
    55
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    Thanks.

    But the A600's IDE is so slow, does it speed up much with the vampire card ?

  7. #7
    Amibayer! demolition's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Country
    Denmark
    Region:
    Copenhagen
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,329
    Feedback
    67 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr.Bits45 View Post
    Thanks.

    But the A600's IDE is so slow, does it speed up much with the vampire card ?
    Unfortunately not. I have a Vampire in both my A600 and A500 and the IDE speed is why I prefer the A500 version since the IDE controller on the V500 is about 3x faster than the A600 IDE.
    A1200 (NOS) : 030 33MHz 128MB fast RAM (ACA1232) : Indivision AGA MkII : 8GB CF : RR USB : Ethernet
    A600 #1 : 080 V2 : 128MB fast : 2MB chip : Indivision ECS : 32GB CF : RR USB
    : Ethernet | A600 #2 : 010 : 2MB chip
    A500 : 68000 42MHz : 1MB chip : 8MB fast : 4GB CF | A500+ : 080 V2+ : 128MB fast : 2MB chip : 32GB CF

  8. #8
    Mr.Bits45's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Country
    Australia
    Region:
    Victoria
    Age
    46
    Posts
    55
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    Thanks

    I also want to try installing OS 3.9 and was wondering if there is a driver for High color through a Indivision ECS v1 or am I stuck with the 32 colors ?
    Or, can I use the HDMI with OS 3.9 ?

  9. #9
    Mr.Bits45's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Country
    Australia
    Region:
    Victoria
    Age
    46
    Posts
    55
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    Nevermind, found the driver I need.

    Back to the booting, I need to prepare a CF card for the IDE to boot from with the SD drivers.
    Im hoping I can boot from that and redirect to the on board SD slot and continue loading coffin.

    Ill do some homework


    Thanks

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 4th March 2018, 14:55
  2. Closed Vampire V2 A600
    By Kunglao in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th December 2017, 13:29
  3. Wanted Vampire A600 V2
    By ondrej in forum Amiga
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28th March 2017, 17:47
  4. Sold Vampire 2 + A600
    By Pghulme in forum Amiga
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 20th July 2016, 14:54
  5. Sold Vampire Mk1 for A600
    By z3spacial in forum Amiga
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 28th February 2016, 21:31

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •