Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: C16 64k S-RAM internal expansion (no motherboard modify!)

  1. #1
    MCes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Country
    Italy
    Region:
    Rome
    Posts
    373
    Feedback
    30 (97%)

    Default C16 64k S-RAM internal expansion (no motherboard modify!) + ROMset option

    It will expand the memory of your C16 to 64K as a PLUS/4... and an option for replacing ROMset to enable
    "3+1" FUNCTION software saving supply current (lowering internal temperature...)

    It's very simple to instal:
    open your C16, pull out the TED chip, place the "64KxC16" on the TED socket (*), plug the TED on "64KxC16", close your C16...

    Not cutting traces, not desoldering anything!
    (All the 64k RAM expansion cartridges require that some motherboard traces has to be cutted for removing the old ram bank and avoiding a bus conflict, and it imply that C16 can't work without plugging the ram cartridge)

    There is a switch for chosing 16K or 64K system, and a 2 pin plug for the remoting of the switch.

    Power absorbed by this expansion is equivalent to the energy saved by stopping the access at the original memory bank, it's possible only because it was chosen a Static RAM that use much less power of a Dynamic RAM (original one is D-RAM): not more power, not more dissipation, not more heat...

    NOTE: it will be mechanically not compatible whith C16 rare models that use a metal schield inside for covering the motherboard, the standard shield type is a metallized paper, and this is mechanically compatible

    5pieces available (also sold elsewhere)
    1xRam expansion: 25€ +shipment +PPfees
    Multiple buy of this expansion: the first one 25€, from the second 20€/pc
    Ram expansion + full romset option: 30€ +shipment +PPfees (declare NTSC or PAL system)
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	number0.jpg 
Views:	92 
Size:	188.9 KB 
ID:	147786Click image for larger version. 

Name:	front1.jpg 
Views:	102 
Size:	197.2 KB 
ID:	147787Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rear.jpg 
Views:	85 
Size:	197.0 KB 
ID:	147788Click image for larger version. 

Name:	plus4 demo.jpg 
Views:	84 
Size:	180.9 KB 
ID:	147785

    (*)The components under the new board have to not touch it, so them has to be gently bended about 45.


    The ROMset option:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	FullRomset3.JPG 
Views:	23 
Size:	106.2 KB 
ID:	151108Click image for larger version. 

Name:	FullRomset1.JPG 
Views:	27 
Size:	105.4 KB 
ID:	151109
    Last edited by MCes; 8th December 2019 at 17:21.

  2. #2
    BobbinThreadbare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Region:
    Berkshire
    Age
    43
    Posts
    100
    Feedback
    14 (100%)

    Default

    How much would shipping be to the UK?

  3. #3
    MCes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Country
    Italy
    Region:
    Rome
    Posts
    373
    Feedback
    30 (97%)

    Default

    sending to UK will cost 10€ (tracked)

  4. #4
    BobbinThreadbare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Region:
    Berkshire
    Age
    43
    Posts
    100
    Feedback
    14 (100%)

    Default

    Thanks. I've just been looking at your posts around CPU replacement. My C16 already has the 6510 replacement as detailed here:

    http://hackjunk.com/2017/06/23/commo...pu-conversion/

    Judging by the pictures they will both mechanically fit together though I may need to use a socket / strip of pin header to increase the height of one board or another.

    I know the other board is not your work but would you have any reason to suspect an issue between the CPU replacement and your RAM replacement / expansion? (I am not asking for a guarantee, just an opinion on risk).


    Edit: also sent via PM

    - - - Updated - - -

    Payment sent - happy to assume risk on compatibility.
    Last edited by BobbinThreadbare; 28th June 2019 at 15:22.

  5. #5
    MCes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Country
    Italy
    Region:
    Rome
    Posts
    373
    Feedback
    30 (97%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BobbinThreadbare View Post
    Thanks. I've just been looking at your posts around CPU replacement. My C16 already has the 6510 replacement as detailed here:

    http://hackjunk.com/2017/06/23/commo...pu-conversion/

    Judging by the pictures they will both mechanically fit together though I may need to use a socket / strip of pin header to increase the height of one board or another.

    I know the other board is not your work but would you have any reason to suspect an issue between the CPU replacement and your RAM replacement / expansion? (I am not asking for a guarantee, just an opinion on risk).
    I know that solution,
    6510 as 8501 has a lot of problem, one is the instability of R/W that Commodore engineers resolved with "MUX" signal on "GATE" in (that 6510 hasn't), it's important for the dynamic ram but irrilevant for my SRAM expansion:
    I immagine that you will having less problem with my SRAM than with original RAM!

  6. #6
    Mohican's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Country
    Hungary
    Region:
    Budapest
    Age
    45
    Posts
    1,193
    Feedback
    236 (100%)

    Default

    Interested. Pm soon.

  7. #7
    MCes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Country
    Italy
    Region:
    Rome
    Posts
    373
    Feedback
    30 (97%)

    Default

    BobbinThreadbare:
    payment is ok
    Last edited by MCes; 1st July 2019 at 12:46.

  8. #8
    plx2014's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Country
    Germany
    Region:
    NRW
    Posts
    49
    Feedback
    5 (100%)

    Default

    Interested in one. PM on the way...

  9. #9
    MCes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Country
    Italy
    Region:
    Rome
    Posts
    373
    Feedback
    30 (97%)

    Default

    64KxC16 shipped to
    BobbinThreadbare

  10. #10
    MCes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Country
    Italy
    Region:
    Rome
    Posts
    373
    Feedback
    30 (97%)

    Default

    Payment received by
    Mohican

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Internal 3-35kB memory expansion for Vic-20
    By miisalo in forum Photo Booth
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 28th September 2016, 21:38
  2. Wanted Amiga 1000 ram expansion (internal or sidecar)
    By Tuxon86 in forum Amiga
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th April 2015, 20:12
  3. How to Modify ATX PSU to be always on
    By fitzsteve in forum AmiOracle
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 16th February 2013, 14:21
  4. Closed Internal memory expansion for Amiga 1000
    By adb76 in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd January 2012, 09:26

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •