Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 104

Thread: What do I need to towerize my a1200

  1. #11
    Amibayer!
    Staff Moderator
    johnim's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Country
    England
    Region:
    birmingham
    Age
    43
    Posts
    11,846
    Feedback
    150 (100%)

    Default

    Hi bud what case did you get, my main Amiga is towered with mediator voodoo 3/radeon 9250, sb128, network card, usb card, 1260/scsikit, scsi cd rom and drives and fast ata for ide stuff.
    lol all in my sig
    Last edited by johnim; 17th July 2019 at 19:13.
    A1200T 1d4:blizzard 1260/50/64mb:fastata-iv:amiga to ps2 mouse:80gb hd:zip100 ide:a4000 keyboard
    A1200D 1d4:blizzard1230mk4/50/64mb:indy mk ii:fastata mk ii:40gb*A1200 rev 2b*2 x A1200 1d4*A1200 1b*A600 2mb 4gb*A500
    PC:8700k@4.8ghz, Msi sli plus mobo, Corsair 32gb ddr4 3000mhz, Evga 1080ti ftw hybrid, Evo 970 m2 500gb.

    sfs cf guide http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=19953 cwb3.9 guide http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=20315 mediator drivers http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=11993 p96 newres guide(radeon install) http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php...905#post325905

  2. #12
    Damn these amiga bills keep adding up Amibayer! CrazyC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Kent
    Age
    44
    Posts
    1,227
    Feedback
    32 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default

    Sorry will post pics and details when I can. Parents ill health means that is taking priority right now.
    Am posting and viewing via tapatalk so not seeing signatures...
    That setup looks very much like what I am aiming for though!

    Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
    A1200 (1D4) (Recapped by Bad_Ad84 in Nov 2012) -3.1 Roms,CWB 3.9, Blizzard 1260 (60mhz - Rev6 Latest Mask),SCSI Kit (SCSI-IDE Bridge + 8Gb CF), 256mb, Mediator + soundcard, USB, NIC, Voodoo 3. A1200 (1A) 3.0 Roms (recapped and modded by TheCorfiot in December 2015) Indy Mk 2, ACA1221 (Round the World), Best WB 1.3 8Gb CF. My Amibay Blog is here.

  3. #13
    Damn these amiga bills keep adding up Amibayer! CrazyC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Kent
    Age
    44
    Posts
    1,227
    Feedback
    32 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Retroheaven87 View Post
    I'm about to sell a towered Amiga 1200, will take some pics of the internals for you so you know what you need to get it running as a basic 1200 in a tower
    Cool, can you post or link in this thread so I dont miss it?
    Cheers

    Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
    A1200 (1D4) (Recapped by Bad_Ad84 in Nov 2012) -3.1 Roms,CWB 3.9, Blizzard 1260 (60mhz - Rev6 Latest Mask),SCSI Kit (SCSI-IDE Bridge + 8Gb CF), 256mb, Mediator + soundcard, USB, NIC, Voodoo 3. A1200 (1A) 3.0 Roms (recapped and modded by TheCorfiot in December 2015) Indy Mk 2, ACA1221 (Round the World), Best WB 1.3 8Gb CF. My Amibay Blog is here.

  4. #14
    Damn these amiga bills keep adding up Amibayer! CrazyC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Kent
    Age
    44
    Posts
    1,227
    Feedback
    32 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default

    So, reading around a bit, which Graphics card should I be looking for? People seem to have either Voodoo 3 or Radeon 9250. I read somewhere that to use Warp3D (still not sure what that is) I would need a Voodoo card. The Radeon however will allow memory its memory to be used?. If I am using both my Blizzard and SCSI Kit I am not expecting RAM to be in short supply on this system. If I am going to go to all the effort of getting this stuff together I would like to enjoy some of the old FPS games like the Quake ones etc and I saw that they make use of Warp3D?
    A1200 (1D4) (Recapped by Bad_Ad84 in Nov 2012) -3.1 Roms,CWB 3.9, Blizzard 1260 (60mhz - Rev6 Latest Mask),SCSI Kit (SCSI-IDE Bridge + 8Gb CF), 256mb, Mediator + soundcard, USB, NIC, Voodoo 3. A1200 (1A) 3.0 Roms (recapped and modded by TheCorfiot in December 2015) Indy Mk 2, ACA1221 (Round the World), Best WB 1.3 8Gb CF. My Amibay Blog is here.

  5. #15
    Damn these amiga bills keep adding up Amibayer! CrazyC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Kent
    Age
    44
    Posts
    1,227
    Feedback
    32 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default

    Here is what I have got! I can see the keyboard adapter, not sure what the blue wire is? Or quite what else is there?

    Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
    A1200 (1D4) (Recapped by Bad_Ad84 in Nov 2012) -3.1 Roms,CWB 3.9, Blizzard 1260 (60mhz - Rev6 Latest Mask),SCSI Kit (SCSI-IDE Bridge + 8Gb CF), 256mb, Mediator + soundcard, USB, NIC, Voodoo 3. A1200 (1A) 3.0 Roms (recapped and modded by TheCorfiot in December 2015) Indy Mk 2, ACA1221 (Round the World), Best WB 1.3 8Gb CF. My Amibay Blog is here.

  6. #16
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    40
    Posts
    21,442
    Feedback
    1014 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Does the blue wire have a single pin? If so it's used to power the center of the motherboard power input and then further motherboard power is taken from the floppy port, here's the link to the cable:

    http://www.amigakit.co.uk/support/atx-a1200.php

    This is what Amigakit sold to go with the EZ Tower. You don't need this if you use a Mediator as the power is delivered by the ATX power connector.

    By the way, your tower is in lovely shape. Nice find.
    My Website has moved to: https://fitzstevesamigaworld.000webhostapp.com/ It's now on Free Hosting to preserve the content.
    My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/fitzsteve

  7. #17
    Damn these amiga bills keep adding up Amibayer! CrazyC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Kent
    Age
    44
    Posts
    1,227
    Feedback
    32 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default

    That's great Steve, that link answers a number of questions for me.

    Yeah apart from a couple of tiny marks here and there it's basically new and for pretty much the cost of driving to Crawley and back to get it!

    Although the mediator will set me back a pretty penny I am sure.



    Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
    A1200 (1D4) (Recapped by Bad_Ad84 in Nov 2012) -3.1 Roms,CWB 3.9, Blizzard 1260 (60mhz - Rev6 Latest Mask),SCSI Kit (SCSI-IDE Bridge + 8Gb CF), 256mb, Mediator + soundcard, USB, NIC, Voodoo 3. A1200 (1A) 3.0 Roms (recapped and modded by TheCorfiot in December 2015) Indy Mk 2, ACA1221 (Round the World), Best WB 1.3 8Gb CF. My Amibay Blog is here.

  8. #18
    Damn these amiga bills keep adding up Amibayer! CrazyC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Kent
    Age
    44
    Posts
    1,227
    Feedback
    32 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default

    So, next step I think for the weekend is to order the mediator and a network card from Amigakit. I will look at the CD drive and see if I need a longer cable as well, and also if it is SCSI or IDE.
    Also, does anyone know where I can get either a CF back panel or suitable front panel for my CF hard drive to be accessible?

    After that and if I can get that all re-established then I guess it will be graphics and sound cards and possibly USB
    A1200 (1D4) (Recapped by Bad_Ad84 in Nov 2012) -3.1 Roms,CWB 3.9, Blizzard 1260 (60mhz - Rev6 Latest Mask),SCSI Kit (SCSI-IDE Bridge + 8Gb CF), 256mb, Mediator + soundcard, USB, NIC, Voodoo 3. A1200 (1A) 3.0 Roms (recapped and modded by TheCorfiot in December 2015) Indy Mk 2, ACA1221 (Round the World), Best WB 1.3 8Gb CF. My Amibay Blog is here.

  9. #19
    johnnybarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Country
    Scotland
    Region:
    Sutherland
    Age
    37
    Posts
    28
    Feedback
    5 (100%)

    Default

    Hello,

    I fitted my a1200 in one of these cases about 6 months ago. They are great cases and very sturdy. I think they were designed primarily for ZIV zorro bus board by winner/elbox. The ZIV board allowed Zorro II boards to be fitted along with proprietary ZIV boards. They also had 4 clockports and could fit on a special ZIV mediator PCI board. It would possibly be worth asking around for one of looking on ebay as they do come up from time to time. The ATX power also fits on the ZIV board. The ZIV board works really well- I have used a cybervision 64 a buddha and a prelude in mine with no problems.

    NB I meant p8/p9 power connector, not ATX.
    Last edited by johnnybarker; 19th July 2019 at 19:00. Reason: incorrect

  10. #20
    johnnybarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Country
    Scotland
    Region:
    Sutherland
    Age
    37
    Posts
    28
    Feedback
    5 (100%)

    Default

    Compact flash back panel available from AmigaKit

    http://amigakit.amiga.store/product_...roducts_id=494

Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 23
    Last Post: 7th November 2019, 00:39
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 26th September 2016, 16:12
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 15th July 2015, 11:02
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th May 2015, 04:05
  5. Replies: 28
    Last Post: 11th April 2015, 15:21

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •