Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: My CD32 setup.

  1. #1
    Forza GVP NoPyroNoParty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Country
    Finland
    Region:
    Helsinki
    Posts
    903
    Feedback
    115 (100%)

    Default My CD32 setup.

    I've more or less decided that my main machine will be the CD32. I first tried it with SX32Pro some years ago but I had issues setting up a big hard drive then so I had to push that aside-
    Now with the Terriblefire accelerators I've started building up my setup again and will continue to develop it for a while. I'll try and post about random bits and bobs in my setup.

    I have a few CD32s but the one that's my show off model is a boxed NOS machine I got this spring.
    It's visually perfect. But there's the catch; it's an NTSC model.

    So I sent it to Hese.

    Starting from the internals here's what the motherboard looks like at the moment:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cd32mobo.jpg 
Views:	36 
Size:	187.6 KB 
ID:	149295

    The first thing you probably notice is the color scheme in the caps which gives away it's recapped with polymer caps.
    The RF-modulator has been removed and the console has been converted to PAL.
    Looking at the Sony video encoder chip you might notice there's something going on there.
    The encoder has been changed to a higher quality one that produces a sharper composite image.
    Finally, there's two kickstart roms so that the access is 32bit instead of 16bits with addressable space of 4mb.

    So, that's the current state inside the console which will receive another upgrade in a few weeks.

    Here are links about the video and ROM mods:
    Highpuff's CXA2075m mod
    Cosmos CD32 double ROM mod

    Last edited by NoPyroNoParty; 18th August 2019 at 09:39. Reason: add links to mods

  2. #2
    Rakeim132's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Country
    Australia
    Region:
    Gold Coast
    Age
    48
    Posts
    1,554
    Feedback
    77 (100%)

    Default

    With the TF accelerator cards, the CD32 became a very desirable Amiga, full of potential, despite the lack of floppy disk.
    Great thread!
    Looking forward to reading and seeing more of it!
    A600HD, A1200 in "home made" tower, A4000T in progress...

  3. #3
    mr_nme xubidoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Country
    united kingdom
    Region:
    Blackburn,Lancashire
    Posts
    40
    Feedback
    1 (100%)

    Default

    when i was looking for an Amiga last year,i was after an A1200 ,but due to the prices of them and accelerators i decided to buy a CD32 , and now ive had a chance to test it for for the last few months,im very happy with it,with the various upgrades
    its an extremely capable Amiga, and has the benefit of having a built in cd-rom drive

    Its been an amazing last few months playing all the old classics.


    As for your NTSC CD32 ,it looks in fantastic condition, should make a great system once youve got it all setup how you want,i look forward to seeing how it goes.
    Last edited by xubidoo; 17th August 2019 at 22:31.
    Amiga CD32,(Recapped 2019) + TF330 68030/64mb ,16gb CF Card.
    RGB to Scart on 28" Sony Trinitron CRT.
    PC PS2 Keyboard.

  4. #4
    Amibayer! timtheloon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Country
    United Kingdom, England
    Region:
    Hampshire
    Posts
    2,140
    Feedback
    130 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NoPyroNoParty View Post
    I first tried it with SX32Pro some years ago but I had issues setting up a big hard drive then so I had to push that aside-
    I find this bit of kit very good on mine apart from it being power hungry, But the Goliath PSU keeps it happy. Only Issue I have is if I use Workbench 3.9 (ClassicWB) I got the Large HDD support but lost the CDrom, But the System will still boot Load the CD games.

    Do you still have yours?

    Its a shame the SX32Pro backplate is not compatible with the TF330 because then you would have a nice floppy interface too

    Quote Originally Posted by NoPyroNoParty View Post
    Finally, there's two kickstart roms so that the access is 32bit instead of 16bits with addressable space of 4mb.
    What does this do for the system? Increase speed? I'm intrigued

    Is there any info online about this mod?
    Last edited by timtheloon; 18th August 2019 at 08:45.
    I'm sailing the Ocean Waves, so my responses will be slow
    I'll get back to you ASAP, Internet is horribly slow at Sea!!

  5. #5
    Forza GVP NoPyroNoParty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Country
    Finland
    Region:
    Helsinki
    Posts
    903
    Feedback
    115 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by timtheloon View Post
    I find this bit of kit very good on mine apart from it being power hungry, But the Goliath PSU keeps it happy. Only Issue I have is if I use Workbench 3.9 (ClassicWB) I got the Large HDD support but lost the CDrom, But the System will still boot Load the CD games.

    Do you still have yours?

    Its a shame the SX32Pro backplate is not compatible with the TF330 because then you would have a nice floppy interface too
    It's a nice piece of kit. I am actually trying to get another one. I still don't know what the actual issue is but for some reason I don't know how to setup harddrives so that the CD32 likes them. I thought I did everything by the book. It was probably a file system problem but couldn't pinpoint it.
    The disks worked perfect on my A1200 but not on my CD32 and the same thing happened with the TF too. Anyway solved this by using prefab images and not going to do anything about this ever again spent tens of hours of my life with the issue.


    Quote Originally Posted by timtheloon View Post
    What does this do for the system? Increase speed? I'm intrigued

    Is there any info online about this mod?
    Access speed is faster and you have space to customize the rom. I'll try and install patched OS3.9 roms when I get new blank M27C160s hopefully next week.
    I added links to the few mods to the OP if you want to read about them.

  6. #6
    Amibayer! timtheloon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Country
    United Kingdom, England
    Region:
    Hampshire
    Posts
    2,140
    Feedback
    130 (100%)

    Default

    Very Interesting indeed will have to look into this mod when I finally get back home (Another Month to go) Cheers for the Links
    I'm sailing the Ocean Waves, so my responses will be slow
    I'll get back to you ASAP, Internet is horribly slow at Sea!!

Similar Threads

  1. Closed CD32 basic setup
    By fitzsteve in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10th June 2018, 22:39
  2. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 7th December 2016, 17:58
  3. Closed CD32 SVideo Out mini-DIN with 8 pins - French CD32 RGB Cable
    By wmsteele in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th November 2015, 23:57
  4. Closed CD32 setup for CDTV setup
    By Astral in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th November 2010, 06:38

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •