Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 44

Thread: Help with Modified Golden Gate 486 SLC

  1. #21
    GurúMeditating trixster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    756
    Feedback
    45 (100%)

    Default

    @matt3k the cache and clock-doubling software you need is at the bottom of post #7 of this thread, called makeit486.zip

    http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php...-swap-question
    A1200 B1260 80Mhz Indi AGA2 Ide-fix Express | A3000 WarpEngine060 CV64 Deneb 486SXLC2 | A500
    A4000 CSMk2 G3 PPC 950Mhz Voodoo3 Indi AGA Deneb | Saturn | PS1&2 | C64 | SNES | Neo Geo | 3DO | Enterprise 128
    A3020 | A3000 | BBC B | Master | Atom | CPC6128 | Jaguar | G5 MOS | Atari Falcon | 2600 | X68000 | PC Engine | CD32

  2. #22
    A4000Bear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Country
    Australia
    Region:
    Victoria
    Posts
    56
    Feedback
    2 (100%)

    Default

    After digging around in my documentation, the modification I mentioned previously was described in the 'enhancements' section of this document The added chip was a 74F00, and it improved cache flushing specifically for the TI486SXLC2. While the document was specifically for the Commodore 386 bridgeboard, I can see no reason why it can't be applied to other hardware such as the Golden Gate. Check to see if the added chip is a 74F00 (or similar) and that it is wired into the GG in the manner described in the article, if it is, you will have your answer!

  3. #23
    GurúMeditating trixster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    756
    Feedback
    45 (100%)

    Default

    Interesting. Improved cache flushing. Does that result in faster cache performance?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Ah, p15 of this:

    http://aminet.net/package/misc/emu/BBCpuUpgrde1.0

    This document is fascinating. I would love to have this cache upgrade on my GG, a near 20% improvement in performance would be most welcome.

    I would also love to see the A2386SX he mentions with the 99mhz evergreen upgrade.

    Is it possible to solder on a IBM486SLC3 to an A2386SX or GG? They are pin and voltage compatible? Or it would require a daughterboard? Ah, I see it is the Rev To 486 SX3+ upgrade.
    Last edited by trixster; 12th September 2019 at 14:40.
    A1200 B1260 80Mhz Indi AGA2 Ide-fix Express | A3000 WarpEngine060 CV64 Deneb 486SXLC2 | A500
    A4000 CSMk2 G3 PPC 950Mhz Voodoo3 Indi AGA Deneb | Saturn | PS1&2 | C64 | SNES | Neo Geo | 3DO | Enterprise 128
    A3020 | A3000 | BBC B | Master | Atom | CPC6128 | Jaguar | G5 MOS | Atari Falcon | 2600 | X68000 | PC Engine | CD32

  4. #24
    Dancing with bridgeboards Amibayer! BlindGerMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Country
    Germany
    Region:
    Bavaria
    Age
    45
    Posts
    3,418
    Feedback
    316 (100%)

    Default

    The slc3 should be 3,3 V
    A2000 2/128/-MB-OS3.9-DKB Wildfire-Picasso IV+Concierto+PabloII+Paloma-Deneb-A2386@TI486SLC2/66-ATI Mach64-Tekram DC600T
    A2500/30 2/112/6MB-OS3.1-A2630+BigRAM2630-A2091-A2410-A2065-A2286-A2320
    A1200 2/256/-MB-OS3.9-Blizzard 1230IV/SCSI-IDEfix Express-Indi AGA MkIIcr


  5. #25
    matt3k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    NY
    Posts
    898
    Feedback
    27 (100%)

    Default

    Ok, had to manually install the software. According to snoopdos it has everything.

    The card just beeps with a half to quarter chirp every few seconds and nothing.

    Tried booting with no SS, turned off the cache...

    At this point any ideas? Could this be an issue with 3.1.4?

    I had to manually configure the .cfg file in the devs: as well.

  6. #26
    Dancing with bridgeboards Amibayer! BlindGerMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Country
    Germany
    Region:
    Bavaria
    Age
    45
    Posts
    3,418
    Feedback
    316 (100%)

    Default

    Why manual install?
    A2000 2/128/-MB-OS3.9-DKB Wildfire-Picasso IV+Concierto+PabloII+Paloma-Deneb-A2386@TI486SLC2/66-ATI Mach64-Tekram DC600T
    A2500/30 2/112/6MB-OS3.1-A2630+BigRAM2630-A2091-A2410-A2065-A2286-A2320
    A1200 2/256/-MB-OS3.9-Blizzard 1230IV/SCSI-IDEfix Express-Indi AGA MkIIcr


  7. #27
    GurúMeditating trixster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    756
    Feedback
    45 (100%)

    Default

    The install program on disk one should work fine, all it does is move a few files onto your system partition and set up the goldengate directory.

    with cpu caches disable can you enter the Goldengate configuration program?

    what buster does your machine have?
    Last edited by trixster; 13th September 2019 at 08:37.
    A1200 B1260 80Mhz Indi AGA2 Ide-fix Express | A3000 WarpEngine060 CV64 Deneb 486SXLC2 | A500
    A4000 CSMk2 G3 PPC 950Mhz Voodoo3 Indi AGA Deneb | Saturn | PS1&2 | C64 | SNES | Neo Geo | 3DO | Enterprise 128
    A3020 | A3000 | BBC B | Master | Atom | CPC6128 | Jaguar | G5 MOS | Atari Falcon | 2600 | X68000 | PC Engine | CD32

  8. #28
    matt3k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    NY
    Posts
    898
    Feedback
    27 (100%)

    Default

    Was able to get it to install, I kept adding : to the drive .

    Yes it has a buster 11.

    The green LED on the card is lit.

    Still doesn't work. I tried running golden gate setup and it give the minor chirps about 10 times then DIGGER gives an 8700000E error.

    Booted with no SS and ran Digger with the setup parameters with the same error.

    I noticed the 486slc2 cpu is not hot. Will the cpu get warm if it isn't activated and running?

    My gut tells me it's the card itself, although the owner said it worked just fine. It did sit for a very long period of time,so who know.

    I can try another box with 3.1 roms and and 3.9 BB4.
    Last edited by matt3k; 13th September 2019 at 14:05.

  9. #29
    GurúMeditating trixster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    756
    Feedback
    45 (100%)

    Default

    I think the cpu should probably get hot even if the bridgeboard is not in use, but i can't check for sure at the moment

    in cli, navigate to the goldengate directory and type:

    GG INFO

    what does it return?

    Mine shows:

    Machine-type : A3000/A3000T
    Current version: 1.31
    GLIB version: 3.02
    SCAT-SX version: 1.03
    Pylons birthday: 02/03/94 09:11:19W

    Frame-base: 200000H
    Frame-size: 1024kB
    Local-Ram: 16128kB
    Ram-expansion disabled

    if you have created glib.cnf in DEVS: try removing it - i don't have this set in my A3000
    Last edited by trixster; 13th September 2019 at 15:38.
    A1200 B1260 80Mhz Indi AGA2 Ide-fix Express | A3000 WarpEngine060 CV64 Deneb 486SXLC2 | A500
    A4000 CSMk2 G3 PPC 950Mhz Voodoo3 Indi AGA Deneb | Saturn | PS1&2 | C64 | SNES | Neo Geo | 3DO | Enterprise 128
    A3020 | A3000 | BBC B | Master | Atom | CPC6128 | Jaguar | G5 MOS | Atari Falcon | 2600 | X68000 | PC Engine | CD32

  10. #30
    matt3k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    NY
    Posts
    898
    Feedback
    27 (100%)

    Default

    Thanks for the help...

    I tried GGInfo and removing the .cnf file. Same issue still exists.

    I will try moving to my other box and confirm it isn't 3.1.4...

    Quote Originally Posted by trixster View Post
    I think the cpu should probably get hot even if the bridgeboard is not in use, but i can't check for sure at the moment

    in cli, navigate to the goldengate directory and type:

    GG INFO

    what does it return?

    Mine shows:

    Machine-type : A3000/A3000T
    Current version: 1.31
    GLIB version: 3.02
    SCAT-SX version: 1.03
    Pylons birthday: 02/03/94 09:11:19W

    Frame-base: 200000H
    Frame-size: 1024kB
    Local-Ram: 16128kB
    Ram-expansion disabled

    if you have created glib.cnf in DEVS: try removing it - i don't have this set in my A3000

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Wanted Golden Gate 486
    By Niezgodka in forum Amiga
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23rd February 2019, 02:18
  2. Wanted Vortex-Golden-Gate-486-SLC-II-50-MHz
    By bitwinter in forum Amiga
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29th September 2018, 02:06
  3. Sold Golden Gate 486SLC
    By trixster in forum Amiga
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 30th July 2018, 15:47
  4. Sold Vortex Golden Gate 486 SLC II 50 MHz
    By alpehut in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 8th February 2015, 19:34
  5. Sold Golden Gate 2+
    By Skyrunner in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 14th February 2014, 21:28

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •