Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 45

Thread: Help with Modified Golden Gate 486 SLC

  1. #11
    matt3k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    NY
    Posts
    913
    Feedback
    27 (100%)

    Default

    He couldn't remember, it was made just after he bought the card new in the 90's. He said IT added a chip and made it faster...

    I would love to figure out what they did exactly to see if there is something more than over clocking.

    I put it in a system and the board seems to be ok according to the Amiga ROMs anyways....
    Last edited by matt3k; 10th September 2019 at 18:59.

  2. #12
    GurúMeditating trixster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    779
    Feedback
    46 (100%)

    Default

    The two disks are on this website:

    http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/goldengate

    id love to see if it works when you’ve installed everything!

    - - - Updated - - -

    This provides a good package to benchmark your card:

    https://www.philscomputerlab.com/dos...mark-pack.html
    Last edited by trixster; 10th September 2019 at 18:57.
    A1200 B1260 80Mhz Indi AGA2 Ide-fix Express | A3000 WarpEngine060 CV64 Deneb 486SXLC2 | A500
    A4000 CSMk2 G3 PPC 950Mhz Voodoo3 Indi AGA Deneb | Saturn | PS1&2 | C64 | SNES | Neo Geo | 3DO | Enterprise 128
    A3020 | A3000 | BBC B | Master | Atom | CPC6128 | Jaguar | G5 MOS | Atari Falcon | 2600 | X68000 | PC Engine | CD32

  3. #13
    matt3k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    NY
    Posts
    913
    Feedback
    27 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by trixster View Post
    The two disks are on this website:

    http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/goldengate

    id love to see if it works when you’ve installed everything!
    I will try it out when I get sometime this weekend and let you know!

    Are the latest software versions on Amiga Resource?

    I contacted the seller to see if he kept contact with the tech still. We will see.

    What performance tests do you all run on the pc side?

  4. #14
    GurúMeditating trixster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    779
    Feedback
    46 (100%)

    Default

    See my post above

    using demo3 from the ultimate doom wad with -nosound flag and two levels of green border, my GG gives 3863 gametics in 13632 realtics = 9.918 fps
    Last edited by trixster; 10th September 2019 at 19:06.
    A1200 B1260 80Mhz Indi AGA2 Ide-fix Express | A3000 WarpEngine060 CV64 Deneb 486SXLC2 | A500
    A4000 CSMk2 G3 PPC 950Mhz Voodoo3 Indi AGA Deneb | Saturn | PS1&2 | C64 | SNES | Neo Geo | 3DO | Enterprise 128
    A3020 | A3000 | BBC B | Master | Atom | CPC6128 | Jaguar | G5 MOS | Atari Falcon | 2600 | X68000 | PC Engine | CD32

  5. #15
    matt3k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    NY
    Posts
    913
    Feedback
    27 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by trixster View Post
    See my post above
    Will download and test. Have to find an MS-Dos disk. LOL, think I have 6.22 around here, be luck if it still boots. .

    What OS do you use?

    What is the sequence to get just see if it works?

  6. #16
    GurúMeditating trixster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    779
    Feedback
    46 (100%)

    Default

    On the Amiga side it’s os3.9 with bb1 and 2. On the pc side it’s dos 6.22.

    once you’ve installed the GG software you can test the board by running the digger program (once cpu caches are disabled), that should output using an Amiga emulated screenmode and will show the GG bios. You can use the setup program to configure your hard disk (or hardfile if you want to use one (slow!)) and your vga card.

    to hardware reset the GG when it’s running you press LAmiga RAmiga s. a normal ctrl alt delete will soft reset the GG. To quite GG back to workbench it’s LAmiga RAmiga q. To toggle back from GG to workbench but keep the GG running on the back screen, it’s LAmiga q
    Last edited by trixster; 10th September 2019 at 19:14.
    A1200 B1260 80Mhz Indi AGA2 Ide-fix Express | A3000 WarpEngine060 CV64 Deneb 486SXLC2 | A500
    A4000 CSMk2 G3 PPC 950Mhz Voodoo3 Indi AGA Deneb | Saturn | PS1&2 | C64 | SNES | Neo Geo | 3DO | Enterprise 128
    A3020 | A3000 | BBC B | Master | Atom | CPC6128 | Jaguar | G5 MOS | Atari Falcon | 2600 | X68000 | PC Engine | CD32

  7. #17
    matt3k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    NY
    Posts
    913
    Feedback
    27 (100%)

    Default

    What is the fastest ISA card for DOS games that works in a GG:


    From my searches these seem fast?
    1. ET4000W32i
    2. ATI Mach 64
    3. Diamond Speedstar 64
    4. S3 variants.
    5. ATI Ultra

    Any thoughts?
    Last edited by matt3k; 10th September 2019 at 19:26.

  8. #18
    GurúMeditating trixster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    779
    Feedback
    46 (100%)

    Default

    Unsure tbh. It is likely the GG is more cpu throttled than vga card throttled for stuff like doom, so you might see little variance between cards. But I don’t have anything other than an ATI Mach64 to check
    A1200 B1260 80Mhz Indi AGA2 Ide-fix Express | A3000 WarpEngine060 CV64 Deneb 486SXLC2 | A500
    A4000 CSMk2 G3 PPC 950Mhz Voodoo3 Indi AGA Deneb | Saturn | PS1&2 | C64 | SNES | Neo Geo | 3DO | Enterprise 128
    A3020 | A3000 | BBC B | Master | Atom | CPC6128 | Jaguar | G5 MOS | Atari Falcon | 2600 | X68000 | PC Engine | CD32

  9. #19
    matt3k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    NY
    Posts
    913
    Feedback
    27 (100%)

    Default

    I found an old hard file with DOS 6.22 that was used for PCTask.

    Will that work with the GG?

  10. #20
    A4000Bear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Country
    Australia
    Region:
    Victoria
    Posts
    56
    Feedback
    2 (100%)

    Default

    I did a similar hack to a Commodore A2386 bridgeboard many, many years ago using the TI version of this chip. From my very vague memory, the added TTL logic chip was used to inhibit caching of certain problematic memory locations, which would otherwise have to be done by software during booting.

    I also used to have a Golden Gate 486 card like yours. The fan was attached directly to the top of the CPU....no heatsink.
    Last edited by A4000Bear; 11th September 2019 at 14:57.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Wanted Golden Gate 486
    By Niezgodka in forum Amiga
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23rd February 2019, 02:18
  2. Wanted Vortex-Golden-Gate-486-SLC-II-50-MHz
    By bitwinter in forum Amiga
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29th September 2018, 02:06
  3. Sold Golden Gate 486SLC
    By trixster in forum Amiga
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 30th July 2018, 15:47
  4. Sold Vortex Golden Gate 486 SLC II 50 MHz
    By alpehut in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 8th February 2015, 19:34
  5. Sold Golden Gate 2+
    By Skyrunner in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 14th February 2014, 21:28

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •