Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Did my PPC604e die?

  1. #1
    McA4000T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Country
    Netherlands
    Region:
    Noord-Holland
    Posts
    32
    Feedback
    1 (100%)

    Default Did my PPC604e die?

    I have a CSPPC in my A4000T, but I am afraid that the PPC is no longer working.
    I do have the ppc.library (v46.37) and ppcdiss.library, but when I run PPCInstall it says "no ppc.library available".
    SysSpeed doesn't mention a PPC either.

    Are there any other tests I can run or anything I can check?

    Help and tips are very much appreciated.

  2. #2
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    40
    Posts
    21,800
    Feedback
    1026 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    What does sysspeed/whichamiga say?

    Or you could try installing warpos and running an PPC application like ADoomPPC

    Finally you could try to reflash the firmware

    Beyond that I would send it to an expert like Stachu
    Last edited by fitzsteve; 10th September 2019 at 17:17.
    My YouTube Channel:
    https://www.youtube.com/user/fitzsteve

    CD32 + TF330, A500+ Vampire V2, A1200T Black Box + Mediator B1260 + Killer K1 PPC

  3. #3
    Amibayer! drbrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Country
    Sweden
    Region:
    Helsingborg
    Age
    37
    Posts
    700
    Feedback
    57 (100%)

    Default

    You could try downloading the PPC Test Disk from here and boot from it. That way you can test the PPC without any OS interfering with the tests.

    http://powerup.amigaworld.de/index.php?lang=en&page=24
    A4000DT: CSPPC 604e@330, 060@60, Mediator PCI 4000D, R9200 256MB, CVPPC, IndiAGA MKII, Deneb, PCI NIC+Sound, 144MB, Intel 40GB SATA SSD, AmigaOS 3.9/4.0/4.1
    A1200D: Blizzard1220@28MHz, 8MB, IndiAGA MKII, AmigaOS 3.9 A4000D: 030@25, IndiAGA MKI, 8MB, AmigaOS 3.9 A3000D: 030@25, 16MB, AmigaOS 3.9

  4. #4
    McA4000T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Country
    Netherlands
    Region:
    Noord-Holland
    Posts
    32
    Feedback
    1 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
    What does sysspeed/whichamiga say?

    Or you could try installing warpos and running an PPC application like ADoomPPC

    Finally you could try to reflash the firmware

    Beyond that I would send it to an expert like Stachu
    SysSpeed does only recognise the 060, Scout says PPC n/a.
    Tried earlier WarpOS with no luck.
    I just reflashed the firmware with no luck either.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by drbrain View Post
    You could try downloading the PPC Test Disk from here and boot from it. That way you can test the PPC without any OS interfering with the tests.

    http://powerup.amigaworld.de/index.php?lang=en&page=24
    Tried that, it starts with PPCInstall, so this came with the same result: no ppc.library available and a "ppctest failed" error message.
    Also did the WarpOS test, it just says "Starting WarpOS test" and that's it, no results, nothing happens after that.

  5. #5
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    40
    Posts
    21,800
    Feedback
    1026 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Sorry to hear that, it definitely seems there's an issue with the hardware
    My YouTube Channel:
    https://www.youtube.com/user/fitzsteve

    CD32 + TF330, A500+ Vampire V2, A1200T Black Box + Mediator B1260 + Killer K1 PPC

  6. #6
    Amibayer! drbrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Country
    Sweden
    Region:
    Helsingborg
    Age
    37
    Posts
    700
    Feedback
    57 (100%)

    Default

    As fitzsteve said there seems to be a hardware problem if all tests fail.

    If you want to repair it, then talking to stachu100 is probably your best option.. http://www.amibay.com/member.php?1445-stachu100
    A4000DT: CSPPC 604e@330, 060@60, Mediator PCI 4000D, R9200 256MB, CVPPC, IndiAGA MKII, Deneb, PCI NIC+Sound, 144MB, Intel 40GB SATA SSD, AmigaOS 3.9/4.0/4.1
    A1200D: Blizzard1220@28MHz, 8MB, IndiAGA MKII, AmigaOS 3.9 A4000D: 030@25, IndiAGA MKI, 8MB, AmigaOS 3.9 A3000D: 030@25, 16MB, AmigaOS 3.9

  7. #7
    McA4000T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Country
    Netherlands
    Region:
    Noord-Holland
    Posts
    32
    Feedback
    1 (100%)

    Default

    Now I am confused ...

    I put some fresh solder on the oscillator of the PPC and the PPC was recognized in SysSpeed, scout and WhichAmiga.
    Then I did the ppctest and it failed.
    After the next reset the PPC was no longer found and it still isn't.

    Still I am convinced that the PPC is working and some other component is preventing it from functioning.

    Anybody any ideas what I can test or try next?

  8. #8
    k0x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Country
    Czech republic
    Region:
    Ostrava
    Posts
    777
    Feedback
    136 (100%)

    Default

    Better send it to some hw specialist - its to pricey

  9. #9
    matt3k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    NY
    Posts
    995
    Feedback
    32 (100%)

    Default

    Having owned one of these card, it probably is the socket. The sockets on this card are extremely fragile. If your handy enough replace the sockets for both cpus, if not find a specialist.

  10. #10
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    40
    Posts
    21,800
    Feedback
    1026 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Or maybe the PPC chip needs to be reflowed, send to Stachu or similar for a service, maybe even upgrade the chip whilst you're at it. Resist any urge to overclock the 060 as bus speed increase isn't good for the fragile CPLD. Good luck
    My YouTube Channel:
    https://www.youtube.com/user/fitzsteve

    CD32 + TF330, A500+ Vampire V2, A1200T Black Box + Mediator B1260 + Killer K1 PPC

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Closed PPC604e 233Mhz
    By BLTCON0 in forum Other
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9th February 2019, 19:22
  2. Closed PPC603e CPU for BPPC and PPC604e CPU for CSPPC
    By blizzard-pl in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2nd October 2012, 07:09
  3. Closed Phase 5 Cyberstorm PPC604e
    By Nash in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 4th May 2012, 22:52
  4. Sold CYBERSTORM PPC DCE 060@50MHz / PPC604e@233MHz
    By LTAC in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 17th March 2011, 14:37
  5. Found Cyberstorm 060/PPC604e
    By Detordiggei in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15th December 2010, 21:27

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •