Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Amigakit SCSI2SD question

  1. #1
    gp_guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Country
    USA
    Region:
    Oregon
    Posts
    26
    Feedback
    0

    Default Amigakit SCSI2SD question

    HiGroup,
    Iordered the Amigakit SCSI2SD card version 5.1 last month as asolution to inconsistent booting on the SCSI hard drive in myCMD HD-200 external hard drive to my Commodore 128. I have a questionabout the Molex connector on the AmigaKit board which connects to thepower out molex connector on the circuit board of the CMD Hard driveunit.
    Thequestion is this, the red power cable from the motherboard of myexternal drive connects to my SCSI drive on the side nearest to the50-pin data ribbon. When I look at the molex connector on theAmigakit board, it looks like the red lead will be connected to theoutside side of the connector. Is that right? I don't want to fry theboard. What I really need to know is what are the pinouts on that Amigakit power molex connector. Does anyone know? Also, does it matter? When I find out, I can grind down the molex cable end to fit either way...

    I tried multiple times contacting Amigakit tech support, without much help. They sent me multiple cables, but what I really need is how that power lead connects to their unit...

    Thanks in advance...

    Rob

    P.S. I am doing this as I have two CMD HD-200 drives and I am getting ready to sell one of them.

  2. #2
    8 Bit Dreams DjCook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Country
    Germany
    Region:
    Bavaria
    Age
    41
    Posts
    1,674
    Feedback
    163 (100%)

    Default

    Multimeter is Your best friend.
    Unlike 3" and 3.5" inch floppy drives where 12v and 5v was flipped around hard drives share same pinout as much i know, so no worries here..
    8 Bit Dreams - computer & hardware repair in Germany

  3. #3
    gp_guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Country
    USA
    Region:
    Oregon
    Posts
    26
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    Thanks DjCook! Yes, the power from the CMD board comes through a molex connector and via four wires, connects to four pins on the AmigaKit SCSI2SD board. The red wire is 5v and the yellow wire is 12v. The other two black wires are ground. On the SCSI drive that I am replacing, the 5v lead (red) is connected closest to the 50-pin data ribbon. The yellow wire (12v) is connected on the outside edge of the board, away from the data ribbon. So, do I reproduce this pattern? I don't have a pinout of the AmigaKit board and in spite of multiple requests, they are not sending me one. I don't want to send 12v power to a 5v connector, that would probably overload the diode on the board. Someone here probably has bought the same Amigakit board and I am wondering if they had any issues?
    Rob

  4. #4
    deladrevoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Hampshire
    Posts
    262
    Feedback
    26 (100%)

    Default

    Hi,

    this is taken from the technical specs table for the card found here:

    http://www.codesrc.com/mediawiki/index.php/SCSI2SD


    5V via floppy 4-pin drive connector, USB, or self-powered using the SCSI host termination power.
    2.35W maximum (500mA)
    DO NOT CONNECT 12V at all if you need to make your own power cable as it risks destroying the board if you accidentally swap the wires.

    Hope it helps!

Similar Threads

  1. Sold Scsi2sd v6
    By britlord in forum Amiga
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 18th August 2019, 20:07
  2. Using a SCSI2SD v6 on my GVP 030
    By britlord in forum AmiOracle
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd November 2018, 13:44
  3. Using a SCSI2SD V6 board...
    By britlord in forum AmiOracle
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 14th April 2017, 20:52

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •